Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

John Trumbull Primary School

Public | PK-2 | 702 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 12, 2010

I love John Trumbull because the teachers and the staff are FANTASTIC. They are there for our kids, even when our budget fails time and time again. They give their time, effort and their own money to make the children's school experience rewarding and fun
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

John Trumbull is a warm, friendly, energetic place for children to learn. My son has done extremely well and is happy to go to school every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

John Trumbull is an AMAZING school! Everyone works to create a loving learning environment that teaches, cares for, and develops the young minds and hearts of our children! The teachers constantly go above and beyond!! My children LOVE school because of the wonderful people at John Trumbull!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

I love JTPS because the teachers are amazing, the school is very well run and my children are happy and learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2009

I used to go to this school Kindergarten through second i loved it there everything was perfect great teachers and speech teachers i just loved it there


Posted February 6, 2009

I am very pleased with JTPS. My daughter is in Kindergarten and I am amazed at how much she has learned already. She loves the specials too, especially art and music. It is a huge school but well organized so the kids don't feel overwhelmed. The principal and assistant principal have been great with us as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2008

My son is attending Kindergarten at JTPS. I am very happy with the education he is receiving. The staff has been very helpful. The PTO is very involved and provides excellent support to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2007

The jury is still for me on this school. My son's first grade teacher is great and very focused, great communication. I find that the teachers can make or break the school experience and we couldn't be happier with his current teacher. The adminstration is another matter. We have had problems with bullies. He only has one more year there and we are evaulating whether he should attend next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2006

I am very pleased with JTPS, My children attended 2 years of pre-k and are now in PT Kindergarten. We really like the teachers and appreciate how they will take the time to listen to any comments or suggestions we have. We are so happy to live in this great town and attend this wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2005

We are very pleased with John Trumbull School. We were concerned that the age and numbers of children would make us feel we were in an 'institution'. We have found a supportive and caring environment. The staff has been enthusiastic and focused since day one. I understand the new administrative team is a big improvement. They have always been professional and friendly in my dealings with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2004

JTPS get two thumbs up. My son is in the extended day kindergarten program and couldn't be happier. I have had a positive experience with both teachers and faculty as they have been very As a full time working mom, I encourage everyone to be involved, JTPS has a lot to offer. Being involved, whether it be in the classroom, the library or a PTO memeber can be the difference between an okay experience and an excellent one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2004

I think this school is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2004

My son went to this school. We had nothing but problems at this school. Had a teacher tell me how horrible my son behaved, I was mortified. At the end of the discussion I found out she had mistaken my son for another child. In March sent home an award for my son, right first name incorrect last name. (Very unprofessional teacher) Principal is just as bad. She does not get involved with the children. Only good teacher that we found in the school was Carrie DiProspero.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2004

I too have had nothing but problems. I am a foster parent and there is only 5 weeks left to school. Instead of pulling him out I am transporting him to and from school. The people in the office were very rude and not very helpful. The child needs summer school and this is a very big hassle to even let him go. He is already behind and I just want to get him all of the help that I can to prepare for next year. All they want to do is create problems, it not like Watertown pays for his education. I am very glad that he will be going to Bunkerhill School in Waterbury next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2004

I have been very pleased with how well JTPS has handeled my son's educational needs and stayed on top of them. I give them great credit all around and they kept [my son] feeling he was doing his best during all of the transitions. Thank you to Ms. Calo, and Mrs. DiProsprero for making a negative situation positive for him. I really see a big difference in his outlook to learning. You are truly the best Primary school in CT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2004

My children were students at this school. I had nothing but problems from the faculity when they were there. There were teachers there that did not know how to control their class and failed to take responsiblity for it. The school is a clique. It is all about who you know. I was excited when they first built the school, because I thought it would be a great for Watertown. I am now disappointed! There needs to be significant changes there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 61%
Hispanic 6% 20%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
Black 2% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

779 Buckingham St
Oakville, CT 06779
Phone: (860) 945-2776

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Polk School
Oakville, CT





Carrington School
Waterbury, CT


Waterbury SDA School
Waterbury, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT