Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-3|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Penny's Playground of Learning 1

Posted September 02, 2015
- a teacher
I am a former teacher and this "school" is terrible to say the least. I have worked at NAEYC accredited facilities before and I was looking forward to being back in the classroom. Much to my dismay Miss Penny is nothing but a bully who merely yells at the children and staff at her leisure (even the parents at times). It was nonstop gossip and a hostile work environment. Furthermore, they have little regard for the children. I was reprimanded on more than one occasion for "holding an infant too much" too much coddling. When I wasn't in the room the baby could be heard crying for a good portion of the day. Their "playground" in cracked asphalt that they let 1 and 2 year olds run around on that are just gaining control of their limbs. Let alone being able to roam safely on asphalt. To add insult to injury I checked all the first aid kits in the building - all were depleted of resources and when I brought it up it was shrugged off and never made into an important issue. So we have Miss Penny screaming, an infant screaming, 1 year olds running on asphalt, and no first aid kits to administer in case the unthinkable were to happen. Caveat emptor!!!!

Penny's Playground of Learning 5

Posted February 21, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has been going to Penny's since she was an infant and has flourished! The teachers are wonderful and caring. The days are packed with art projects and different themed activities for the different age groupos. I would highly recommend Penny's for child care.


Penny's Playground of Learning 5

Posted June 27, 2013
- a teacher
Penny's Playground has earned accreditation from the National Association fot the Education of Young Children, the nation's leading organization of early childhood professionals. We're proud to have earned the mark of quality from NAEYC and to be recognized for our commitment to reaching the highest professional standards. More than 7,000 programs are currently accredited by NAEYC - approximately 8 percent of all preschools and other early childhood programs, Penny's Playground is a leader in a national effort in high-quality early education. To earn NAEYC Acreditation, a progrm must meet each of the ten NAEYC Early Childood Program Standards.

Penny's Playground of Learning 1

Posted June 05, 2013
- a teacher
I am a former employee of Penny's Playground and have worked at 2 other daycares since then. Please do not send your children to this daycare. They have an after-school program for children and if these children misbehave they are placed in baby cribs as a timeout. I would not want my 5 or 6 year old being placed in a crib for a timeout as this does not teach them anything. Children were labeled as being bad and the director clearly had her favorites. Numerous employees have left because of the director and her treatment of the teachers. The director would yell at staff in front of children and parents. This is highly unprofessional in any setting, let alone a daycare. If this kind of behavior is going on in front of the parents, imagine what is going on when the parents are not present.

Penny's Playground of Learning 4

Posted June 07, 2011
- a parent
My sons attend Penny's Playground and have for the last three years. The only reason that we are leaving is because my children are school-age and we live in a different town. Its hard to find a place to care for the things that means the most to you - your children. The teachers are always cleaning and my kids come home with a TON of work that they have created. The teachers are caring and have individual relationships with the kids. Penny is strict, with both the kids and staff, but it provides structure and creates expectations. As a teacher, I want the people who are teaching my kids to have high expectations! My kids love Ms. Penny, Ms. S, and Mr. S - I wouldn't trust just anyone with my precious cargo.


Penny's Playground of Learning 1

Posted August 29, 2010
- a parent
My son was at this place and I would not recommend it to anyone. He was injured several times with no explanations. He was labeled and called a BAD Boy. The director was never happy. Teachers were told not to even hug the children!

Penny's Playground of Learning 1

Posted July 12, 2010
- a community member
AWFUL: I previously worked in this facility...i would not recommend this place for children the owner yells at the staff/teachers in front of the children. i feel that some of the expectations from the owner are unsafe for the children. and because there arent enough staff i feel that the children's safety is in jeopardy. thats why i left!

Penny's Playground of Learning 5

Posted May 14, 2009
- a parent
My daughter has been going here for 3 months now and I am very happy with the people that work here. The clean all their toys twice a week and food is also in the fee of their watching. I get a note of what has she done through out the day. I rely on this to plan my evening, to keep on a schedule, which is very important to a child.


Penny's Playground of Learning
no rating

Posted May 22, 2008
- a parent
This is the worst possible place on earth to send your child. It is a dark and unwelcoming place. the teachers are unfriendly and so are the owners. I wouldn't let penny's playground care for my pet, let alone my child. my child hated this place and cried everyday she had to go there!

Penny's Playground of Learning 1

Posted August 26, 2006
- a parent
I spent a few hours in this school and was not impressed at all with the teachers or the facility. It is dark and musty smelling and the 'teachers' were less than friendly, to say the least! I would never send my child to this school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Penny's Playground of Learning
19 Pine Street, Plainville, CT  06062
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews.
Last modified Penny's Playground of Learning is a Private school that serves grades PK-3
Top