Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Preston Veterans' Memorial School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 25, 2011

I am very happy with this school. My youngest son has learned so much in his first year here. Even his older brothers who went to a different Elementary school in a different school district can see the difference in what he has learned and is learning compared to what they were taught at his age. His teacher has been wonderful and really knows how to help young children learn, the principal is also great, and all the support staff. The parents and community has been very warm and welcoming also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2010

I am very very happy with the principal. My kids trust her and talk to her. She helps everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

The staff at this school are exceptional, caring andjust wobderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

My children have all been to this wonderful school! I know they all loved going to school,learned well and enjoyed their time there. I loved the teachers,they are the best! I am glad that my children grew up in Preston and was allowed to be a part of the school system
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

My experience with the elementary principal has been great! She is responsive, kind & very understanding. She knows her stuff about kids and I feel lucky that she has come to Preston. We've needed someone like her for a looooong time!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2008

I have two children in this school and have been very happy with it. The teachers have always communicated with me, letting me know how my kids are doing. My son had a problem with another student and the principal immediately helped resolve the problem. I would recommend this school to abyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

The teachers are wonderful as are the aides and parents, but administration does not truly accept input from any one below an admin position therefore the teachers/parents/aides/helpers have low moral and could do so much more if only their voices were heard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2008

this school is very low on the scale of quality education. There are no extra curricular activities to bring students together. They only just got a ful time librarian. And there music department is extremely limited (no musical instrument's). The over all vibe from the teachers is mostly negative and their methodology of teaching is unevolved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2008

Having had my children in this system and been a parent volunteer, I can honestly say that the over all moral of the teachers is very low and that negatively effects the quality of there teaching. They have not consistantly had the support of a good administration. Our impression of this town is one that does not value good education as a priority. Things are consistantly getting cut out of the budget. Basic things such as a librarian or musical instruments for middle school. It is very sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

New principal is good, very approachable. My kids thrive there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2006

Modern and clean, in a rural setting, I thought PVMS was a great school for my kids. The principal and staff really worked with my family when my sons struggled with ADHD and other issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 88% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students97%
Femalen/a
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%

Reading

All Students82%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%

Writing

All Students91%
Femalen/a
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female97%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%

Reading

All Students96%
Female97%
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%

Writing

All Students92%
Female97%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female77%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%

Reading

All Students76%
Female73%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%

Science

All Students89%
Female90%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%

Writing

All Students93%
Female93%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 61%
Hispanic 4% 20%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Black 1% 13%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

325 Shetucket Turnpike
Preston, CT 06365
Phone: (860) 887-3113

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Greeneville School
Norwich, CT


St. Joseph School
Norwich, CT



Wequonnoc School
Taftville, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT