Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


John Read Middle School 1

Posted March 31, 2014
- a parent
I've lived in Redding since my daughter was born, and remember hearing wonderful things about the public school system. sadly that was long ago. My daughter is now in the 6th grade at JRMS, and it has been a nightmare. she is bullied all the time, and teachers do not care. the academics are horrendous. she is miserable. I know of may families of students pulling them out and putting them in the neighboring town's catholic school or other private schools, and they are all thrilled. I NEVER thought I would say this (we are not catholic), and we are not a super rich family that can easily afford many of the other private school options, but my daughter may be next. I have heard excellent stories about how well children who have been pulled out are doing. I can not, in good conscience, send my child back to John Read next year.

John Read Middle School 1

Posted March 20, 2014
- a teacher
Good schools... JRMS is not one of them. I used to attended this middle school along with 3 of my best friends, now I still do not attend the but my 3 good friends do. Speaking for every single student in that school that I know of, John Read Is a terrible school (freedom of speech). The best part about this review is that if I were still attending John Read Middle school i'd be suspended most likely for even thinking of posting my option of this so called safe and fun learning place. Let me start with the teachers; JRMS has several wonderful teachers that will actually teach you something unlike a creepy science teacher that makes girls feel uncomfortable or a lazy History teacher that sits at his desk while the kids wait for him to teach something. The saddest part about the staff at John Read is that they make the students hate themselves and turn them into something their not. My entire grade change drastically from 6-7 grade and my feeling toward this is due to the lack of respect the teachers gave their students which made the students feel as if they shouldn't give themselves respect if an adult wouldn't bother to give them the right respect they deserve.


John Read Middle School 1

Posted October 22, 2012
- a community member
I'm an alumna of JRMS and it was the worst experience of my life. I was severely bullied on a regular basis. My parents notified school administrators and they did nothing to counsel me or stop the bullying. The academics were lackluster at best.

John Read Middle School 2

Posted August 01, 2011
- a parent
Because this school refuses to step 'outside the box', I filed with the Federal Government that my daughter''s Title VI Rights had been violated. Their Office of Civil Rights agreed and listed numerous areas where they had discriminated against my daughter. They were made to pay for summer school, and are required to submit a report monthly of what they are doing to identify children, testing them, the outcome of the tests and progress reports. This may last for several years. This is the third time I needed to challenge this school system for three different children. If your child doesn't fit 'in the box', don't have them go here.

John Read Middle School 1

Posted December 15, 2010
- a parent
this school was dreadful. the slightest bit out of the ordinary your child seems, the less the staff are willing to step in when things go awry with other students. until i witnessed my son being pushed to the ground by his peers and brought them all to the principal's office, nothing really got done as far as behavioral rectification, and even then i had to cajole the academic system quite a bit. i ended up sending my son elsewhere. this school is extremely poor as far as specialized needs go.


John Read Middle School 5

Posted January 05, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

John Read Middle School 5

Posted December 07, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

John Read Middle School 5

Posted October 22, 2009
- a student
this school is absolutely wonderful and welcoming!


John Read Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a community member
Great teachers; Great programs; and my grandson is in 7th Grade!

John Read Middle School 5

Posted February 22, 2009
- a parent
My child attended Read for four years. He is a hard working, independent learner, and the school helped him develop the skills and attitude he needs for high school and for life.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John Read Middle School
Route 53, Redding, CT  06896
(203) 938-2533
Last modified John Read Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John Read Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top