Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Redding, CT
Students enrolled: 1,007
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Joel Barlow High School 5

Posted April 02, 2015
- a student
In response to the parent on Feb. 6th 2015, I strongly disagree. We are taught from the moment we enter that education is the most important value in everything. We quickly become a part of the high school atmosphere in Freshman year. The administration do a great job as well, and there is actually a zero tolerance for bullying which is actually followed through. However, the security guards never seem to be at their desk to let people in the front door. Other than that it is a great school.

Joel Barlow High School 5

Posted February 07, 2015
- a parent
With the quality of the teachers and the small class size, I feel like my son is going to a private school. He loves going to school.


Joel Barlow High School 1

Posted February 06, 2015
- a parent
Agree with other 2014 review. This school is the worst because of the administration from the superintendent through the principal, special ed director, assistant principals, and all administrators in between. Money is only spent on AP students and not a cent on struggling students. In fact, the unwritten policy I'd to make life miserable for struggling students until they leave. Children learn in this school to give up on learning. Those with money don't sue, just leave. Those who can't afford that stay too long, not believing adults trusted with kids could behave so dishonestly and reprehensibly. By then it's too late. The police rarely called for thefts, drugs paraphanalia, bullying...As a result these things continue rampant. Kids are high and drunk in school regularly. Security gards follow kids around and search them constantly. The administration fails to get trouble kids a real federally mandated education that is appropriate. This is the kind of behavior and philosophy that ends in real life tragedy.

Joel Barlow High School 1

Posted October 13, 2014
- a parent
I agree with the former student. This school is a disgrace. The principal is completely out of touch with the student base, although he will tell you he's right on top of things. Don't even think of sending your child here unless they are AP level - they just don't care about the other kids; only their ratings and standings.

Joel Barlow High School 5

Posted June 11, 2014
- a parent
I am a parent of three JBHS students and we have a vibrant, engaged learning community, teachers and administrators who care and places where all students can achieve.


Joel Barlow High School 5

Posted April 16, 2010
- a student
Joel Barlow is a wonderful HS that has a spectrum of classes to offer. The kids are nice and come from mostly affluent backgrounds. Most students are college bound. There are several sports offered. Perhaps the biggest need would be more spirit in the school. The cheerleaders are good and getting much better with their competitive cheer programs. Barlow needs a marching band program to further boost morale at pep rallies and games. This HS prepares kids well for college.

Joel Barlow High School 1

Posted April 10, 2010
- a student
disgrace of a school. fallen off the charts in recent years.

Joel Barlow High School 4

Posted August 07, 2009
- a student
Joel Barlow hosts an advanced and broad curriculum that can really accommodate every student. Academics are relatively rigorous in comparison to nearby schools but not unmanageable. The sport program is a bit lacking due to low school spirit but still has great coaches and moderate competitive success. Less a few, kids are generally pretty nice. Disagreeing with former reviews, the teachers range from mediocre to superb and communication is easy so long as you are proactive.


Joel Barlow High School
no rating

Posted February 05, 2009
- a parent
An amazing school. Barlow prepared my children wonderfully for college in a safe and caring environment. The increase in AP courses in recent years hs beefed up academics considerably.

Joel Barlow High School 3

Posted December 14, 2008
- a student
wide variety of interesting classes, freedom to personalize schedule, impressive collection of advanced computers and teacher aids, lacking in technical classes (vast majority of the student body is college-bound) building is ugly and dangerous, not to mention the smell some wonderful teachers, some terrible ones, like any other school guidance department needs work great art program

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Joel Barlow High School
100 Black Rock Turnpike, Redding, CT  06896
(203) 938-2508
Last modified Joel Barlow High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Joel Barlow High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top