Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
300 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (8 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (6 responses)
characters left.
There are 77 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ridgefield Academy 5

Posted June 17, 2016
- a parent
Our two children both went to Pre-school at Landmark Academy, we had very good experience there, but we then stopped due to the commuting distance to RA campus at Ridgefield. Now RA has the school bus from our town to Ridgefield. Last year, our son complained that he could not learn much from public school, so we transferred him to RA in 6th grade. Now he is having fun learning at RA every day. He constantly tells us that everybody at RA is so nice and he likes all the teachers there. The big smile on his face tells us that it’s the right choice to attend RA. Our son told us that RA is like a family, that everyone is nice to each other. If we have another child, we would definitely send s/he to RA from Pre-school all the way through middle school. We just can’t say enough THANK YOU to RA, because it is truly transforming experience to our son, and brings much happiness to our family.

Ridgefield Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 26, 2016
- a community member
There is some really terrific teaching happening at this school! The teachers create engaging lesson plans and the school utilizes an integrated curriculum which really helps children understand the course material from different angles.


Ridgefield Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 26, 2016
- a community member
There is a very strong work ethic at this school. Students are required to participate in athletics, the classroom plays, play an instrument, etc. The teachers reinforce that it is important to do your best work - whatever the outcome.

Ridgefield Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted February 26, 2016
- a community member
Our children frequently are complimented for the way in which they not only related to adults, but are respectful to all.

Ridgefield Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 26, 2016
- a community member
The service learning program is top-notch and helps develop empathy for others. The kids routinely go out into the community to make or serve meals, donate clothing, clean up parks, etc. to put what they learn in the classroom into action!


Ridgefield Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 26, 2016
- a community member
The school community is fostered on caring for every individual. With small class sizes, the faculty and administration has the ability to deal with any issues that may come up and provide direction in regards to honesty and integrity. It's a wonderfully warm and nurturing environment.

Ridgefield Academy 5

Posted February 26, 2016
- a community member
All of my children went through Landmark Preschool and Ridgefield Academy through graduation, and I can say they had an amazing experience. They looked forward to going to school each day and were nurtured and inspired by caring and talented teachers. The administration is approachable and friendly and partner with the parents to make sure their child's experience is the best it can be. Our children graduated as confident, civic-minded, caring individuals who were eager and ready to learn. Great, great experience!

Ridgefield Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
K-2 teachers are good and things go downhill rapidly from there. At one point they fired and tenured math teacher and replaced her with the gym teacher.


Ridgefield Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
Weaker children are routinely physically and mentally bullied and picked on. The school turnover is incredibly high and it seems that the bullies are the ones who remain.

Ridgefield Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
At the Ridgefield Academy school fundraiser you can purchase (to the tune of $15,000-20,000) the right to have a parking spot in the front of the school with your name on it or for another large donation at the auction, have your child be honorary principal for a day. The Headmaster Jim Heus and the school preaches equality and fairness. How can you say that when every day the kids arrive at school and ask you why the "Smith or Jones family gets to have a parking spot with their name on it" or "why do Bobby or Jane get to be principal for the day and I don't?" Well just tell your kids, sorry we just aren't rich enough or important enough to get that - but hey, we are all created equally!!"

Nearby schools

Ridgefield Academy
223 West Mountain Road, Ridgefield, CT  06877
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 77 reviews. (203) 894-1800
Last modified Ridgefield Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top