Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Ridgefield, CT
Students enrolled: 300
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ridgefield Academy 5

Posted December 04, 2014
- a parent
My daughter moved to RA as a 6th grader. Never an easy move but it was made easier because she LOVED RA. As parents, we liked the uniform, the setting (there are extraordinary views to be had) and the academic rigour. The class sizes are small--which has its pros and cons--but overall we're happy particularly as she'll only be there for three years.In general, we've found the students friendly and the parents welcoming.The faculty really gets to know your child and makes learning fun for them. That may sound trite but it's true! The school offers a great deal given its size-- music, drama, clubs and sport. The variety of sports is pretty good and my daughter's teams have been competitive but the focus is not really on winning but more about exposing the students to team play, exercise and participation. Many students pursue sports on a competitive level outside of school. The one thing that sometimes can be a challenge is that the school draws from all over, so that many students take the bus and your child's best friend may live 30minutes from you. Having said that, it also means there is some nice diversity in the student body and your child has friends from neigboring towns.

Ridgefield Academy 5

Posted December 02, 2014
- a parent
My son has been a student at RA since the Pre-K Three's Program. His RA teachers inspired a real love of learning in him early on. Now, he is a thriving Third Grader, enjoying science, math, PE, French and drama. The academics have always been top-notch and challenging. Just as importantly, RA is a nurturing place, where students across grades are genuinely supportive and caring of one another.


Ridgefield Academy 5

Posted October 05, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter has been attending Ridgefield Academy since her preschool days, and we could not be happier! She has thrived in the small classroom settings and under the expert guidance of her teachers. We are amazed at how comfortably she speaks publicly, how easily she tackles challenges, and how genuinely well-rounded she has become. The school does a wonderful job of preparing students academically for high school. But more importantly, the teachers and administrators help prepare children to think critically, work with others, and look out for those less fortunate. Our child has gone on numerous service learning trips from serving in food kitchens in NYC to spending a weekend at the Heifer Farm in Mass, to working on local trails, and much more. Our child is happy, confident, and eager to learn. We are so pleased that we made this investment at this important time early in her schooling! I would encourage any family to take a tour to see what this great school has to offer!

Ridgefield Academy 5

Posted August 17, 2013
- a parent
We moved our daughter from public school to Ridgefield Academy and could not be happier. The individual attention that they provide each student is wonderful. Her teachers quickly got her up to speed with the other students and her learning progressed at an amazing level. The focus on special subjects - foreign language, science, music, drama, etc. has been a favorite part of our daughter's experience at RA. We appreciate he fact that everyone eats in the cafeteria (no packed lunches allowed) and they focus on healthy choices, locally grown food and exposing children to a variety of international dishes. Plus, there is a staff member at each lunch table to facilitate conversation and remind them of good manners. These are just a few of the highlights...I encourage you to visit and see if RA is a good fit for your family. It certainly is for ours!

Ridgefield Academy 2

Posted April 03, 2013
- a community member
This school is an embarrassment. It's teachers lack discipline, respect, and trustworthiness. I have been going here since preschool, and after 4th grade the school becomes a joke. The teachers pick on kids, have favorites, and stack us with homework that we cannot keep up on. It's "cafeteria" is a disgrace. It is the most revolting place I have even stepped into. They don't even bother to wash anything, but just sprinkle water on top and call it clean. The schools bio says a bunch of fancy words and "cheap" prices. I highly recommend that you waist your hard earned money somewhere else.


Ridgefield Academy 5

Posted January 12, 2011
- a parent
Phenomenal school! Curriculum is challenging but not overwhelming. Students are encouraged to work hard - significant homework starting relatively early compared to public school. RA kids are well-prepared to move on to HS. Faculty is outstanding, particularly 7th/ 8th. Principals are excellent & beloved by the kids. My child has gone through the entire program from preschool to 8th grade, and we couldn't be happier -- our youngest is now in the lower school and absolutely loves it. There has been great improvement in the transitions between grades, and more focus on preparing students for the next step (whether in the school or moving on beyond RA.) The headmaster knows virtually every child by name, and is involved, effective, and caring. The kids love him, and the parents I know truly value his contribution to the school. We have had one or two "bad" teachers, but that's true anywhere. Arts programs are improving, but both the music and drama programs are really in their infancy. We've found the secondary school placement to be wonderful -- they really want to see your child wind up in the right high school. We have been thrilled with RA. Can't rave enough!!!

Ridgefield Academy 0
no rating

Posted January 16, 2010
- a parent
I wish I found Ridgefield Academy sooner! My youngest of 3 started in Kindergarten and we couldn't be happier. The education, nurturing and moral values instilled are the finest we have ever come across. We have 2 older children and there other schools didn't compare to Ridgefield Academy. We also travel 1/2 hour to school and love the school tremendously.

Ridgefield Academy 0
no rating

Posted September 15, 2009
- a student
i left the school to move to singapore 2 years ago now and i wish i was back


Ridgefield Academy 5

Posted May 14, 2009
- a student
I love Ridgefield Academy. The teachers and students are all nice. Every class is really fun too.

Ridgefield Academy 0
no rating

Posted March 13, 2009
- a student
As a student currently going to Ridgefield Academy, I love school! All of the teachers are nice and every class is fun

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ridgefield Academy
223 West Mountain Road, Ridgefield, CT  06877
(203) 894-1800
Last modified Ridgefield Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Ridgefield Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top