Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ridgefield High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted July 12, 2016
- a community member
This school respects their students by developing classes that will help students in certain aspects of their education.

Ridgefield High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 12, 2016
- a community member
Ridgefield High school does provide empathy towards its students by supporting their students through their education.


Ridgefield High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 12, 2016
- a community member
Ridgefield High school does provide fairness and honesty within its students by treating their students all the same and striving to achieve better educational skill sets for their students.

Ridgefield High School 5

Posted July 12, 2016
- a community member
I graduated from Ridgefield High School around 7 years ago and the experience that had during my time there was wonderful. The faculty and staff members were such an important part of my experience there as they were so helpful and pushed me to become a better, smarter person.

Ridgefield High School 2

Posted February 20, 2015
- a parent
Over 12 years ago we moved to Ridgefield because of the reputation of the schools. Our three kids attended elementary, middle and some high school here. We moved recently to another part of the country and have discoverers that the education in ridgefield schools are lacking in every subject but especially math. The reputation at our kids' current schools is that CT students aren't as competitive and CT education is not rigorous. From first hand experience I would agree. Our kids have to work so much harder to catch up. Another problem with Ridgefield schools is the lack of after school clubs and teams, both academic and sports. At our current schools there are a lot of opportunity in the middle schools to compete in science Olympiad, math teams, debate teams, social clubs, or school sports teams. These opportunities foster better relationships between the students and the students and teachers. Ridgefield has a terrible social environment and I believe this is one of the reasons. If I had to move to this area I would put my kids in private schools or look at Westchester NY schools. CT schools in general aren't very good. Glad we moved!


Ridgefield High School 1

Posted January 01, 2015
- a community member
I am in 8th grade and my parents and I are planning to move in summer. It is an outstanding school with amazing test scores but the school troubles me. I am not gifted and have average grades. I have a's and b's and one c. I am worried that this school is going to be much difficult and i wouldn't get good grades in order to get into a good college

Ridgefield High School 3

Posted February 05, 2014
- a teacher
As a teacher, i have a unique insiders view of what this school is about. Yes, the test scores are amazing, and if your are a superstar, as many of our students are, you will do well here. If you are an average student, or a student with learning disabilities, then your experience is going to be completely different. Our faculty is encouraged to spend most of our time and curriculum to nurture the best and the brightest. You will not find this in any written policy, but it is the RHS school culture to nurture the gifted and let the other students sink or swim. I find this practice abhorrent, but we, as teachers, must play by the administrations rules. Students with LD are generally written off, and are most definaitely NOT encouraged by their counselors or other staff members. Again, if you are academically gifted, as most students here are, you are fine, but if you are not, be prepared to face some stiff competition will little to no support from the administration. There are some exceptions, of course, and there are some caring teachers who will go that extra mile, but believe me, that is the exception. So, great school for the gifted not so great for the average student

Ridgefield High School 5

Posted May 23, 2013
- a parent
The school is stunning, with immaculate test scores and professionalism. The students are all eager, intellectual, and sophisticated. Very impressed with the scores, grades, colleges attended by graduates, and staff. Outstanding.


Ridgefield High School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent

Ridgefield High School 5

Posted November 14, 2008
- a parent
THe school has exceeded my expectations. We are new to ridgefield and my son is transitioning very well from his previous private school in Virginia. The staff is always available and willing to help every child succeed.

Nearby schools

Ridgefield High School
700 North Salem Rd, Ridgefield, CT  06877
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (203) 438-3785
Last modified Ridgefield High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top