Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Veterans Park Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
A wonderful small school with a caring, respectful community of students, families and staff. A fun, happy place to learn!

Veterans Park Elementary School 5

Posted May 26, 2013
- a parent
We are so happy with our Veterans Park experience and feel very fortunate to have it as our neighborhood school. The staff is very supportive of our child's needs and we find the staff to be excellent. The new principal is a very talented educator


Veterans Park Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2011
- a parent
I have found this school, over the years to support students and parents. The staff has become more professional as the years go on. The current principal is a leader in the education community. The staff has an excellent reputation in their abilities and and the measures they will go to to help all students.

Veterans Park Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2011
- a parent
Veterans Park is, by all measures, an excellent school that promotes academic achievement and respect. The principal and teachers have been highly supportive and encouraging and I have always found them to be very accessible. It is truly a wonderful learning community. I have been delighted with my experience!

Veterans Park Elementary School 3

Posted January 15, 2011
- a parent
VP would receive 5 stars were it not for the principal. All the qualities that make a superlative elementary education were in place prior to her arrival. Teacher quality, while mostly great, has deteriorated due to the bullied turnover of experienced, results oriented staff for young, inexperienced, easily manipulated staff. CMT scores have deteriorated. Any metrics, hard or soft, used to measure student or parent satisfaction with this environment are abysmal. Any other choice within Ridgefield would be better.


Veterans Park Elementary School 3

Posted January 15, 2011
- a parent
Veterans Park has been a great neighborhood school until the hiring of the current principal. Test scores have deteriorated and the quality of teachers is slowly going down as well. Your child is expected to be "perfect" in every way and if your child is a child with an opinion and does not fly under the radar, rest assured he/she will be labeled a problem from the first day. Instead of building children up for future success, the principal enjoys humiliation and disgrace and this way of thinking is passed on to the teachers. Personal experience with the principal in particular has shown a propensity for deceitfulness.

Veterans Park Elementary School 2

Posted December 01, 2010
- a parent
The principle is a nightmare, she is more interested in limiting law suits and following the letter of the law than she is in educating children. She is difficult to communicate with and the teachers seem afraid of her. As for the teachers they seem, OK. My kids has liked them all, but they are limited in what they want to do and say. They rarely notice children having issues and work, what appears to be in fear, of the principle.

Veterans Park Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Veterans Park Elementary School 5

Posted December 01, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Veterans Park Elementary School
8 Governor St, Ridgefield, CT  06877
(203) 438-6571
Last modified Veterans Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Veterans Park Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top