Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Eastern Middle School 4

Posted June 23, 2015
- a parent
Staff is very friendly and teachers are very nice to kids, they try to help them when they have a chance, I think that it would be important for the school to have more character, and motivate kids to do more Community service.

Eastern Middle School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted June 23, 2015
- a parent
Eastern School is good but I think dealing with preteens and teenagers can be difficult sometimes I felt they could encourage Community service and more values


Eastern Middle School 5

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
We moved from Florida last year and I've done extensive research of the schools in Fairfield County. We chose to move to this specific area so my son could attend Eastern Middle School and I just couldn't be happier. The teachers are great and very supportive, always willing to help the kids before and after class. The staff was very helpful during enrollment and the principal is amazing. He knows every single child at school very well and keeps a close eye on them to make sure they're thriving. The kids are hardworking and kind, with very few exceptions. We made the right choice.

Eastern Middle School 5

Posted March 27, 2014
- a parent
Okay so I attended this school for 3 years in the 1980s when it was still 7th-9th grades. So maybe my views are out of date. At the time, it was one of the best public middle schools in the country and the top of the 3 middle schools in the area. Academically it was strong, bullying was not tolerated (I was bullied and boy it was handled). Sports were encouraged, computer science was at the cutting edge (and this was the 1980s remember). If we moved from CA to the East coast, this is where I'd be sending my own kids.

Eastern Middle School 1

Posted May 17, 2013
- a parent
Spoiled kids, entitled parents, mediocre teachers at best. Where else in the US does a public school plan a $1000 per student field trip every year????


Eastern Middle School 5

Posted January 31, 2009
- a student
I absolutely love eastern. The teachers are really smart and nice, the food is fantastic, the administration is amazing, the classrooms have lots of new technology, it's in a very convenient location, and the students are really really nice and friendly. I'm in 6th grade and my brother just graduated 8th grade, we both love it. If you are considering moving, move to greenwich! eastern is by far the best middle school in the state.

Eastern Middle School 5

Posted January 31, 2009
- a student
I ABSOLUTELY LOVE EASTERN. The teachers are really smart and nice, the food is fantastic, the administration is amazing, the classrooms have lots of new technology, it's in a very convenient location, and the students are really really nice and friendly. I'm in 6th grade and my brother just graduated 8th grade, we both LOVE it. If you are considering moving, MOVE TO GREENWICH! Eastern is by far the best middle school in the state.

Eastern Middle School 5

Posted December 03, 2008
- a student
I just moved from private school to EMS and I love it! At private school nobody got along, but at EMS everyones friends! No fights or anything! Even though the teachers usually teach from testbooks, many make it very interesting. It also has many classes that private schools do not. And Mr Mayo is AWESOME!


Eastern Middle School 5

Posted November 12, 2006
- a parent
I am a parent of 6th grade children new to EMS. I am very pleased with the staff and their attentiveness to the children and their needs. I feel EMS is the best school around, compared even to the private schools. Offer a lot, in both academics and outside interests.

Eastern Middle School 2

Posted January 03, 2006
- a student
I am a former EMS student who graduated three years ago. Reflecting on my experience, I feel that the school did me a disservice. The teaching methods applied were extremely outdated and the faculty members generally were very unhelpful in identifying learning disabilities in students. There seemed to be a negative attitude of 'Blame the student, because his parents will believe us more then they will believe him' whenever a conflict arose. Ultimately, Eastern Middle School is probably the weakest link among the greenwich public schools.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eastern Middle School
51 Hendrie Ave, Riverside, CT  06878
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (203) 637-1744
Last modified Eastern Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top