Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Sandy Hook, CT
Students enrolled: 1,740

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Newtown High School 5

Posted May 16, 2011
- a parent
Both of my kids went to Newtown High. From a extra curricular activity point of view, there is a tremendous amount going on, and all your teen needs to do is join. From an academic point of view, the teachers are excellent, and if your child wants, they can get a lot out of it. It really depends on the child, and you as the parent. The school really does have it all.

Newtown High School 5

Posted August 12, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Newtown High School 5

Posted May 01, 2009
- a parent
Newtown High has so much to offer. Having transferred my daughter from another high school to Newtown, I can honestly say NHS is a cut above the rest.

Newtown High School 5

Posted April 26, 2009
- a parent
An Excellent School! I am very impressed with Newtown High School. I think that the most important factor of a good school is the staff. Having 1 child now in college and 1 about to graduate from NHS, I can say that the teachers are incredible and have prepared my children well. The teachers are motivating, encoraging, promote creativity, individuality, responsibility, and maturity. They respect their students and the students respect them in return. My children are polar opposites in personality (one quiet/the other outgoing; one into music/the other into sports; one a perfectionist/the other a great multi-tasker), yet they worked hard, are proud of their achievements, and enjoyed school. The class sizes are not large. The school and school board policies and procedures are reasonable and are adhered to. Although the staff turnover for Principal has been high in recent years, it has not negatively impacted the

Newtown High School 1

Posted April 20, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Newtown High School 4

Posted April 16, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Newtown High School 1

Posted January 15, 2009
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Newtown High School 5

Posted October 01, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Newtown High School 2

Posted August 23, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Newtown High School 5

Posted June 12, 2008
- a student
I love NHS.Teachers and all the staff and students are great.And the Custodial staff are very nice as well.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Newtown High School
12 Berkshire Rd, Sandy Hook, CT  06482
(203) 426-7646
Last modified Newtown High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Newtown High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top