Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Seymour High School 4

Posted October 14, 2012
- a parent
This school has some great teachers where your kids can really learn something! Both of my kids graduated and are now at major universities. The school offers honor and AP classes which challenged them. Sports are big and there is alot of school spirit. The administration does whats best for the kids to guide them to success.

Seymour High School 1

Posted September 03, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Seymour High School 3

Posted August 21, 2009
- a community member
I went to Seymour before the remodel and after, before the remodel it was wonderful! But after it seemed to go down hill. It was almost like they spent all their money on that instead of classes and books. Seymour also needed to stop hiring new teachers right out of college. They didn't always know how to get through to the student or just wanted to be their friends. However Mr. Giccone is amazing if you ever get him as a teacher he has never and will never change. He is one of the few perks of having to attend seymour

Seymour High School 0
no rating

Posted May 30, 2009
- a student
Seymour is the worst school. What happened to 'best school in the valley'? The school has the worst classes and people.

Seymour High School 4

Posted March 22, 2009
- a community member
Seymour High School is by far the best school in the area, and although may not have all the resources of schools with larger student populations, the caliber teacher and faculty that is there outshines many others. As a former student I can say that SHS definitely prepared me for college and beyond not only education wise but also fostered personal growth.


Seymour High School 2

Posted January 10, 2009
- a student
Seymour High School is where ambition goes to die. Very little encouragement of talent, sparse academic offerings, overemphasis (and spending) on athletics. There's a reason why many Seymour parents with the means to do so send their children to private high schools.

Seymour High School 1

Posted February 29, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Seymour High School 4

Posted May 15, 2007
- a former student
Seymour High School is, by far, the best public high school in the area. As a former student and college graduate, I feel I was well prepared to not only succeed, but excel at the collegiate level. The teachers were knowledgeable, caring, and helpful. The extracurricular activities are SHS's strongest asset. There's a wide array of clubs and sports teams to keep everyone satisfied, as long as the student takes the initiative to get involved. It is no secret how strong the athletic program at Seymour is. This only adds to the quality of the school and the community in general. How can you argue against something that stands for discipline, builds character, and develops leaders? I'd rather my child build self confidence and learn respect than a 3rd and 4th language. I had a wonderful experience at Seymour High School and would absolutely send my child there.


Seymour High School 2

Posted May 10, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Seymour High School 2

Posted August 29, 2005
- a former student
Seymour high school is not a good school a lot. There isn't too much to offer there: 2 basic foreign languages, most of the electives even have you pay money just to take them, and the only thing the school actually cares about is it's football team. Nice school indeed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Seymour High School
2 Botsford Rd, Seymour, CT  06483
(203) 888-2561
Last modified Seymour High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Seymour High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top