Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pomperaug Regional High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2014

Region 15 educational system is not just one of the best in the State of Connecticut, it is also one of the best in the country. I can says this based on my college aged students SAT and ACT results and University 3.99 GPA in a competitive medical program. My current high school child is exceeding thier own goals and is set to surpass the older sibilings goals at the same point. The staff at each school is world class and caring. The grading rational is sometimes tough and is under valued. Grades are truely earned and the high school GPA may seem lower on paper than these other schools with everyone getting 4.0 GPAs but our students outperform all those kids in college. Only improvement would be that guidance department actively sell this lower GPA fact to colleges when comparing the true quality of students vs. all those 4.0 GPA schools (public and private) who get their students into the few Ivy slots available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

Excellent region that demonstrates world class practices and continually improved instruction, materials and teaching delivery methods. Students are engage in high levels of music, art, languages, clubs, state of the art technology applied to classic education and team athletics. The foundation laid builds strong character that is backed up by the best education in the state as well as the country as proven by data of college GPAs of graduated students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2011

My kids have been very happy at this school. Most important thing at any high school is to get involved, and there are plenty of areas where this can happen. They encourage the upper class men to help the lower class men out. The principal seems good so far. Vice principal is awesome as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2010

There is a huge lack of diversity at this school. I'm an alum. In the four years that I was there, across all seven years of students I saw (my year, the ones who were 1,2,or3 years ahead of me, and the ones who were 1,2, o3 years behind me).... I think I saw less than 5 black people, less than 5 hispanic/latino people, and maybe 10-15 asian people. If you want your kids to be exposed to people of all backgrounds, Southbury/Middlebury is not the place to be. If you're more comfortable being surrounded with white & middle/upper class folks, then you'll have a really good experience here.


Posted August 25, 2010

This is a top noch high school in Connecticut. The education the students recieve is wonderful. They are well prepared to go off to college. The teachers are always willing to stay after for extra help and if your lucky you may be able to catch them during a free block or your lunch, depending if they dont have a class at that time. All the teachers have a desk located in a large room that is divided into different departments/subjects-this is located on the second floor of the building. Not only are these kids well educated, they are an awesome sports school; football being one of the most popular. The school went under a high end renovation/addition in 2005 which makes it pleasing to the eye and a nice place for learning. Lasty, the school is very clean. They have a great janitory team that keeps the place very clean.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 10, 2009

The school is currently a good one. It offers many classes and extracurriculars and the teachers are always there to help if you need it. However the school is quickly growing overcrowded due to a recent population boom and budget cuts are hurting the number and quality of the electives available.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2009

i love this schooool. sports rule, theater rocks music is awsume and clubs are fun. everyone in this school is a part of something. the teachers are always there to help if u ask.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 8, 2009

This school was extremly disapointing for our child. If you fall behind, you are just left there. The teachers are not helpful, involved or even seem to care. Our child went here and was left to fall between the cracks. The teachers seem to be ready for retirement and show no interest. We are moving, I refuse to let our son struggle here as our other child has. Seriously consider this before you send your children here!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

Overall this is a good school. The class sizes are reasonable 21-24 student per teacher. There are many opportunities for students. Our daughter loved the Family Consumer Science programs, especially the Culinary classes. She also loved her Forensics class. There are the typical +/- of a school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2009

this school blows. don't send your children to it. it's similar to a penitentiary.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

291 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

295 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 89% in 2013.

296 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students97%
Female97%
Male98%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities83%
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%

Reading

All Students97%
Female99%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
White96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities86%
Students without disabilities97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%

Science

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities88%
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%

Writing

All Students98%
Female99%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities85%
Students without disabilities99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 61%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Hispanic 4% 20%
Black 1% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

234 Judd Rd
Southbury, CT 06488
Phone: (203) 262-3200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Westover School
Middlebury, CT



Naugatuck High School
Naugatuck, CT





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT