Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pomperaug Regional High School 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
Region 15 educational system is not just one of the best in the State of Connecticut, it is also one of the best in the country. I can says this based on my college aged students SAT and ACT results and University 3.99 GPA in a competitive medical program. My current high school child is exceeding thier own goals and is set to surpass the older sibilings goals at the same point. The staff at each school is world class and caring. The grading rational is sometimes tough and is under valued. Grades are truely earned and the high school GPA may seem lower on paper than these other schools with everyone getting 4.0 GPAs but our students outperform all those kids in college. Only improvement would be that guidance department actively sell this lower GPA fact to colleges when comparing the true quality of students vs. all those 4.0 GPA schools (public and private) who get their students into the few Ivy slots available.

Pomperaug Regional High School 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
Excellent region that demonstrates world class practices and continually improved instruction, materials and teaching delivery methods. Students are engage in high levels of music, art, languages, clubs, state of the art technology applied to classic education and team athletics. The foundation laid builds strong character that is backed up by the best education in the state as well as the country as proven by data of college GPAs of graduated students.


Pomperaug Regional High School 5

Posted June 22, 2011
- a parent
My kids have been very happy at this school. Most important thing at any high school is to get involved, and there are plenty of areas where this can happen. They encourage the upper class men to help the lower class men out. The principal seems good so far. Vice principal is awesome as well!

Pomperaug Regional High School 3

Posted December 08, 2010
- a community member
There is a huge lack of diversity at this school. I'm an alum. In the four years that I was there, across all seven years of students I saw (my year, the ones who were 1,2,or3 years ahead of me, and the ones who were 1,2, o3 years behind me).... I think I saw less than 5 black people, less than 5 hispanic/latino people, and maybe 10-15 asian people. If you want your kids to be exposed to people of all backgrounds, Southbury/Middlebury is not the place to be. If you're more comfortable being surrounded with white & middle/upper class folks, then you'll have a really good experience here.

Pomperaug Regional High School 4

Posted August 25, 2010
- a teacher
This is a top noch high school in Connecticut. The education the students recieve is wonderful. They are well prepared to go off to college. The teachers are always willing to stay after for extra help and if your lucky you may be able to catch them during a free block or your lunch, depending if they dont have a class at that time. All the teachers have a desk located in a large room that is divided into different departments/subjects-this is located on the second floor of the building. Not only are these kids well educated, they are an awesome sports school; football being one of the most popular. The school went under a high end renovation/addition in 2005 which makes it pleasing to the eye and a nice place for learning. Lasty, the school is very clean. They have a great janitory team that keeps the place very clean.


Pomperaug Regional High School 3

Posted December 10, 2009
- a student
The school is currently a good one. It offers many classes and extracurriculars and the teachers are always there to help if you need it. However the school is quickly growing overcrowded due to a recent population boom and budget cuts are hurting the number and quality of the electives available.

Pomperaug Regional High School 5

Posted November 03, 2009
- a student
i love this schooool. sports rule, theater rocks music is awsume and clubs are fun. everyone in this school is a part of something. the teachers are always there to help if u ask.

Pomperaug Regional High School 0
no rating

Posted March 08, 2009
- a parent
This school was extremly disapointing for our child. If you fall behind, you are just left there. The teachers are not helpful, involved or even seem to care. Our child went here and was left to fall between the cracks. The teachers seem to be ready for retirement and show no interest. We are moving, I refuse to let our son struggle here as our other child has. Seriously consider this before you send your children here!!
2 people found this helpful


Pomperaug Regional High School 0
no rating

Posted February 24, 2009
- a parent
Overall this is a good school. The class sizes are reasonable 21-24 student per teacher. There are many opportunities for students. Our daughter loved the Family Consumer Science programs, especially the Culinary classes. She also loved her Forensics class. There are the typical +/- of a school system.

Pomperaug Regional High School 1

Posted February 07, 2009
- a student
this school blows. don't send your children to it. it's similar to a penitentiary.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pomperaug Regional High School
234 Judd Rd, Southbury, CT  06488
(203) 262-3200
Last modified Pomperaug Regional High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pomperaug Regional High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top