Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Flanders School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 08, 2016
- a parent
I want to say big thanks to Rachel Carvalho, a teacher. Rachel - you are special. You were my children's first teacher (grade K) and you made school fun, exciting and interesting to them. You made them confident in themselves and their abilities. You helped them learn to read and write, you made learning fun. you showed them so much love and care that they still speak of you 2 years later. You are amazing at what you do. You kept us, their parents, involved in their learning it was almost as if I was one of your students (it's a good complement). They love that you share your snack with kids that forget to bring theirs. That's selfless love. So thank you for being there for my kids.

Flanders School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted May 08, 2016
- a parent
The teachers I have dealt with so far are all of these - compassionate, caring and empathetic.


Flanders School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted May 08, 2016
- a parent
Honesty, yes. Integrity, yes. Fairness, this one is very subjective so I'll leave this to other parents. In all Flanders is a great school.

Flanders School 5

Posted May 08, 2016
- a parent
My children started their educational life at Flanders Elementary and it has been the best so far. The teachers are dedicated to helping the kids learn. There's discipline at the school. The kids are well behaved. My biggest joy is the learning. Both of my kids learned to read in grade K. They learned to do simple math in grade K. They learned to spell words in grade K. And to speak of the pto; they are super involved in all school activities. They are very dedicated to making sure that the classrooms and library are fully equipped and ready for our children each year. They organize a lot of fun activities for families as well. No kid is left behind at Flanders Elementary. They're all challenged to aspire for greatness in their learning and in life. Thank you principal, Mrs Mazzarella for keeping the school the way you do and for enforcing discipline amongst the children and teachers. Thanks to the teachers that have impacted my children so far (Miss Rachel Carvalho, Miss Marlene Moutela, and Mrs Jamie Englehard). You ladies are amazing. Thanks to the secretary, Mrs Rossignol for all you do. And to all the teachers at Flanders Elementary, God bless you all.

Flanders School 5

Posted March 19, 2015
- a parent
Fantastic school with caring teachers and staff. Teachers keep the parents apprised of what is going on and are very open to any concerns. The PTO is quite active and does a great job of organizing activities for the students and also keeps the parents/school admin engaged.


Flanders School 5

Posted July 07, 2014
- a parent
Flanders is a great school community. Being a teacher myself, I truly believe my daughter is getting a great education from a great staff. Parents are highly involved in school activities, and it is a wonderful place to feel welcome. I have not had any issues with the principal. In fact, she has shown deep concern with safety issues surrounding my child. The secretary is a bit abrupt, but once you get to know her she is very pleasant. My daughter has excelled to a gifted student here and I know when she walks through the doors of the Flanders, she is highly taken care of physically, emotionally, and academically. I would not judge this school or any school from one situation. Teachers and principals are not robots, and they too may have a bad day now and then. Overall the school and staff are great.

Flanders School 1

Posted August 06, 2012
- a parent
I am very disappointed with Flanders School principle and one of the teacher from 4th grade. The principle is very unpleasent, doesn't care about parents opinion. She is getting very upset if you disagree with her in making decision in what is best for your child. One time, I had meeting with her and she kept me waiting for about 45 minutes pretending that she was talking to the kids that were passing by and just completely ignored me. She was probably hoping that I would just give up and go home. I showed her that I was stronger than her. She is very unprofessional and untruthful.

Flanders School 5

Posted June 08, 2011
- a parent
Flanders Elementary is a fabulous school!! They have very caring teachers and staff and constantly keep the parents apprised of what is going on. The PTO does a great job of providing many extra-curricular programs and cultural arts programs to the students. I noticed the complaints about leadership in the emails below -- that may have been a problem in the past, but that is definitely not the case now.


Flanders School 5

Posted February 16, 2010
- a parent
I'm very much pleased with Flanders. I find the principal very welcoming and the teachers are great. My child loves school and her academic scores are fantastic. The PTO does a fabulous job and there is always a friendly smiling face when I walk into the school. I give this school 5 stars!

Flanders School 4

Posted October 01, 2008
- a parent
I am reasonably pleased with this school--most of the teachers are great and the gifted program is excellent. The principal is not very friendly and is hard to get in touch with. My children scored very high on the CMTs, higher than the school and district average, but I guess the school itself didn't do great.

Nearby schools

Flanders School
100 Victoria Dr, Southington, CT  06489
(860) 628-3372
Last modified Flanders School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top