Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Southington High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 3, 2014

SHS has an excellent athletics program along with some really great classes. I do this the school is too big and that Southington could use a second one though. I find that the teachers are almost all willing to help when you're having trouble and they all push you to try your hardest. I also this that the principal leadership rating should be at least 4 stars. Our current principal is a great leader and has made an excellent addition to the school system. Our assistant principals have also impacted us greatly over the years and I don't believe any of them get the credit that they deserve.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2014

Excellent school. Excellent athletics. SHS is too large, need for 2nd high school. More emphasis on college prep.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2012

Now that I am finished with this high school I'm free to give an honest review. I honestly wouldn't question anything while your kid is still in school, or you and your kid will be black listed and will suffer. Teacher Quality: There are a few really great teachers in this school. One English teacher really worked my kid with grammar and homework. He complained but later said she was the best teacher. He learned so much and she would help him whenever he needed help. Then there's the English teacher that never actually corrected a single essay himself, they passed their papers to the kid next to them to correct for the entire year. Or the teacher that took entire tests from the internet and they all teach the same course! A few good ones who work really hard and care, and most of the rest just have such big egos and could care less. They have a new principal now. He now micromanages every aspect of the school and is not liked by the rest of the staff. It's such a shame. It's no longer an inviting place to go- the staff aren't helpful anymore.They have a drug problem, and the good kids suffer. Looking back,if I had the money, I would have sent my kids to private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2009

the band got new uniforms. the school sends the same amount of money to each varsity team and i do not believe that the band counts as one even though they work very hard. I was a member of the football, wrestling and lacrosse teams. most of the money that the teams receives is from fundraising. people know shs football so they donate. that is why it is a more funded program. it has nothing to do with the school system.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 6, 2008

as a former student i would like to thank all the teachers that go above and beyond. however sports(football) needs to take a smaller role in the politics and funding of the school. Where are the new uniforms for the band? or how about funding a trip or to for the art department? bullying was also a problem when I was there.


Posted August 21, 2007

Southington is one of the best schools in Ct and with great adidemics and atletes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2007

The southington school system does not budget mopney wisely. Shs is a great school, but it needs a lot of repairs. The education and extracurricular activities are second to none, but we need more security, even though nothing serious has happened.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 14, 2006

Southington High School is one of the best schools in CT. SHS has some of the most dedicated and hard working teachers that you will ever find. They work with students before, during, and after school. There are so many extracurricular activities at SHS as well. The principal, who I will not name, possesses great leadership skills and hopefully will be there for a long time because she makes SHS a better place. SHS is also a very safe school, with the added safety measures and police officers. I give Southington High School an A+!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2006

Southington High School is an excellent environment for the growing mind. Classes and curriculums here are well thought out and well executed. Teachers and parents tend to have an excellent relationship. Music programs are remarkable and the art department is exquisite. The sports in SHS are top-notch, with awesome coaches and wonderful team spirit. Overall, SHS is a great experience for any level of student with interests in almost anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2005

I feel that the people most inkcined to post their opinion are the ones upset with the system. One high school - so? It gives great sports teams but also gives a wide variety of classes no other school can offer. I think I would know too ;). Parent involvement gets a one cuz there are a few ppl who like above poster.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 8, 2005

I feel there are too many students in that one and only high school in this town. There are alot of elementary school, two middle schools and i find it kind of challenging to understand why it is like that?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

The Southington School system is filled for the most part with wonderful dedicated teachers. These teachers are all wonderful people who deserve more than working in one of the lowest paid teacher school systems. However, the Board of Education claims not to have the funds to even pay for white lined paper half way through the year which happened last school year. Yet they can afford to pay the town's school super attendent a raise.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

502 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

495 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

511 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 89% in 2013.

506 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities84%
Students without disabilities94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%

Reading

All Students93%
Female96%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities80%
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%

Science

All Students92%
Female92%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities68%
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%

Writing

All Students93%
Female97%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities69%
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 61%
Hispanic 5% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Black 2% 13%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

720 Pleasant St
Southington, CT 06489
Phone: (860) 628-3229

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Plainville High School
Plainville, CT



Raymond Hill School
New Britain, CT


New Britain High School
New Britain, CT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT