Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Southington, CT
Students enrolled: 2,028
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Southington High School 5

Posted September 03, 2014
- a student
SHS has an excellent athletics program along with some really great classes. I do this the school is too big and that Southington could use a second one though. I find that the teachers are almost all willing to help when you're having trouble and they all push you to try your hardest. I also this that the principal leadership rating should be at least 4 stars. Our current principal is a great leader and has made an excellent addition to the school system. Our assistant principals have also impacted us greatly over the years and I don't believe any of them get the credit that they deserve.

Southington High School 5

Posted March 30, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school. Excellent athletics. SHS is too large, need for 2nd high school. More emphasis on college prep.


Southington High School 3

Posted November 27, 2012
- a parent
Now that I am finished with this high school I'm free to give an honest review. I honestly wouldn't question anything while your kid is still in school, or you and your kid will be black listed and will suffer. Teacher Quality: There are a few really great teachers in this school. One English teacher really worked my kid with grammar and homework. He complained but later said she was the best teacher. He learned so much and she would help him whenever he needed help. Then there's the English teacher that never actually corrected a single essay himself, they passed their papers to the kid next to them to correct for the entire year. Or the teacher that took entire tests from the internet and they all teach the same course! A few good ones who work really hard and care, and most of the rest just have such big egos and could care less. They have a new principal now. He now micromanages every aspect of the school and is not liked by the rest of the staff. It's such a shame. It's no longer an inviting place to go- the staff aren't helpful anymore.They have a drug problem, and the good kids suffer. Looking back,if I had the money, I would have sent my kids to private school.

Southington High School
no rating

Posted February 20, 2009
- a student
the band got new uniforms. the school sends the same amount of money to each varsity team and i do not believe that the band counts as one even though they work very hard. I was a member of the football, wrestling and lacrosse teams. most of the money that the teams receives is from fundraising. people know shs football so they donate. that is why it is a more funded program. it has nothing to do with the school system.

Southington High School
no rating

Posted February 06, 2008
- a community member
as a former student i would like to thank all the teachers that go above and beyond. however sports(football) needs to take a smaller role in the politics and funding of the school. Where are the new uniforms for the band? or how about funding a trip or to for the art department? bullying was also a problem when I was there.


Southington High School 5

Posted August 21, 2007
- a student
Southington is one of the best schools in Ct and with great adidemics and atletes.

Southington High School
no rating

Posted April 27, 2007
- a student
The southington school system does not budget mopney wisely. Shs is a great school, but it needs a lot of repairs. The education and extracurricular activities are second to none, but we need more security, even though nothing serious has happened.

Southington High School 5

Posted December 14, 2006
- a student
Southington High School is one of the best schools in CT. SHS has some of the most dedicated and hard working teachers that you will ever find. They work with students before, during, and after school. There are so many extracurricular activities at SHS as well. The principal, who I will not name, possesses great leadership skills and hopefully will be there for a long time because she makes SHS a better place. SHS is also a very safe school, with the added safety measures and police officers. I give Southington High School an A+!


Southington High School 5

Posted August 20, 2006
- a parent
Southington High School is an excellent environment for the growing mind. Classes and curriculums here are well thought out and well executed. Teachers and parents tend to have an excellent relationship. Music programs are remarkable and the art department is exquisite. The sports in SHS are top-notch, with awesome coaches and wonderful team spirit. Overall, SHS is a great experience for any level of student with interests in almost anything.

Southington High School 4

Posted June 10, 2005
- a student
I feel that the people most inkcined to post their opinion are the ones upset with the system. One high school - so? It gives great sports teams but also gives a wide variety of classes no other school can offer. I think I would know too ;). Parent involvement gets a one cuz there are a few ppl who like above poster.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southington High School
720 Pleasant St, Southington, CT  06489
(860) 628-3229
Last modified Southington High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Southington High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top