Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Southington, CT
Students enrolled: 387
 

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

14 reviews of this school


Urbin T. Kelley School
no rating

Posted April 14, 2010
- a parent
Urbin T. Kelley is an awesome school because of it's parent and faculty connection. The faculty truly cares about our children.

Urbin T. Kelley School
no rating

Posted April 14, 2010
- a parent
Kelley School faculty truly cares and provide a fantastic environment for my children to learn.


Urbin T. Kelley School
no rating

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
We are family.....we all work together as a team to make the school a great place for our children. Many parents get involved in the functions to keep our keeps busy, happy and out of trouble. The kids enjoy their school also. We have a bunch of great teachers at Kelley!

Urbin T. Kelley School
no rating

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
Kelley school puts kids first. The parent interaction is amazing. The teachers are great. Kelley is a 'FAMILY'

Urbin T. Kelley School 5

Posted January 23, 2009
- a parent
Great school has gone above and beyond helping us with special needs


Urbin T. Kelley School 5

Posted November 24, 2008
- a parent
Kelley school is a great place for learning and fun!

Urbin T. Kelley School 2

Posted June 24, 2008
- a parent
Both my children attend Kelley. I would have a possitive oppion of the school also if it was not for my 2nd child. My 1st is very good at disipline and is a nose to the grindstone type. My 2nd is a free spirt and this school has no room for that sort. As long as you agree with everything the principal says and does she is great. If you or your child has a problem then she is cold and calous. This is the reason why you see the hot and cold responces to Kelley and will continue until this Principal shapes up or ships out.

Urbin T. Kelley School 5

Posted February 04, 2008
- a parent
My family and I recently moved from the Plantsville school system into the Southington school system. The entire school staff have far exceeded our expectations of a wonderful school. The faculty and the other parents have welcomed us with open arms and have made this an easy transition for my entire family, especially for my first grade daughter. We are extremely happy with our decision to relocate to this school district. I am completely impressed by the amazing staff at Kelley school.


Urbin T. Kelley School 4

Posted December 15, 2006
- a parent
It seems speed is the name of the game when it comes to work. It is true worksheets rule. The programs in math and reading/writing keep changing. It is hard for some students to change with these formats. There does not seem to be any accommodation if that happens. Overall though, my daughter had a good experience at Kelley School.

Urbin T. Kelley School 1

Posted March 06, 2006
- a parent
From the office staff to the principal, this school is extememly unwelcoming. Classroom techniques are outdated and lack creativity. Teachers use an excessive amount of worksheets rather than creative lesson planning. Kindergarteners do not have a recess time, nor do they have movement, creative expression, block building, relaxed reading , open ended actvities, fine motor or gross motor activities. Coloring and completing worksheets seems to be the curriculum . Older students follow the same path, as worksheets are the name of the game. If you are looking for a school that cares about the education of students, the concerns of the parents and the joy of being a child then Kelly School is not for you.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Urbin T. Kelley School
501 Ridgewood Rd, Southington, CT  06489
(860) 628-3310
Last modified Urbin T. Kelley School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Urbin T. Kelley School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top