Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Edward School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Stafford

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $164,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 12, 2010

St. Edward School is a small private school with an amazing staff of caring teachers and religious who offer the very best education a small school in a poor town can do. I am proud to say that I am a part of the parish that helps to support this fine school. A first rate education is hard to come by these days but, St. Edward School does manage to offer such a wonderful education for each and every one of its school children. Most of its graduates goes onto [after high school] to graduate from college and add immeasurably to our community. We are blessed to have St. Edward School in our town.


Posted July 6, 2010

Not pleased with this academic year. My children all had teachers who didn't really help them when they needed it. No extra-curricular activities at the school, except for chess club. Sports are not good...we stopped playing school sports last year because of this. The academics are OK, used to be a lot better. The classrooms and teachers are very disorganized, the teachers are always planning projects they never follow through on. The school is very small because they expect way too much out of new students and then the new students leave. School favors many kids, and targets many kids...other kids are somewhat ignored. Also, the school is constantly looking for money and volunteers. All in all, SES is NOT recommended. We are not returning next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2010

St Edward School is a wonderful educational environment with a challenging academic structure well blended with a supportive, loving staff. We are thrilled with the academic progress of both of our children, and feel that they have developed work habits that will help them the rest of their lives. Students routinely excel in regional and state competitions, including the state History Fair, Science and Math competitions. We are very satisified with the educational experience or children have had!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2009

I am a student here at St. Edward and I have definetly made life-long friends. The education is great. SES has Science Fairs, Writers Fair, and History Day. Also, you don't just sit around in a classroom, you do hands-on projects. The staff and teachers are freat too. They always have a smile on their faces and are always willing to help.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2006

St. Edward School has been a terrific school for my daughter and is a great place for children to get a high-quality elementary education. The faculty and staff genuinely care about the children, and challenge them academically well beyond state mandated minimum requirements. More than just academics, St. Edward's teaches discipline and respect not only for one's self, but for others as well. The children of St. Edward's are academic top performers when they graduate and this is evidenced by the overwhelming success they have enjoyed at the high school and collegiate levels. SES has had several valedictorians and salutatorians at the local high school, representing a disproportionately high number, which is no coincidence. They learn how to study, how to learn, and how to be responsible and respectable contributing members of society. I highly recommend SES for anyone seeking a high-value alternative to 'run-of-the-mill' public education. It's worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2006

As a past parent of three students I feel qualified to rate SES. Please, DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD TO SES if YOU do not want them to BE CHALLENGED, not only academically but also challenged to be a good person. SES does not have HIGHTECH computer labs or STATE OF THE ART nonsense. It does have a demanding curriculum that does not rely on the 'SPELL CHECK' button, but actually teaches students to spell. SES makes them STUDY AND LEARN, AND MOST IMPORTANTLY, 'RETAIN' WHAT THEY'VE LEARNED. Also, if as a parent YOU do not want to get involved, or help guide YOUR child through THIS DEMANDING COURSE OF STUDY, PLEASE DON'T SEND THEM. If baseball and other sports are the extra-curricular activities that are MORE important to your child's educational foundation, SES is NOT FOR YOU. SES graduates are the type of people we all want to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2006

St. Edward School is a fantastic school providing a learning environment in which the quality of education is superb and students excel academically and socially. We are very pleased with the progress our children have made. Focus is placed on developing reading, math and writing skills and inclusion of music, art, & physical education etc. with the help of enthusiastic faculty and staff. The
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2006

Fabulous School: If you are looking for an environment, which offers a high quality education, reinforces values and morals, and prides itself on its dedication to its students ?St. Edward is the place to be. As a graduate of the school and as a former teacher of St. Edward (now a teacher in the public school system at the high school level), I clearly see the difference between public and private education. These highly qualified and certified teachers are completely dedicated to each and every child. Their students ARE prepared for high school and can handle the workload that high school demands of them. This family style school gives students the skills necessary to succeed in life. The students learn how to strive for goals, and the students achieve them with their teachers coaching them. This school is truly a great place for any child.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 25, 2006

Think twice before sending your child to this school. I thought I was making the best decision I could for my childs education and safety. For numerous reasons I decided to transfer my child to the public school and discovered she was over a year behind in reading. The quality of education is extremely poor and you do not realize it until they are taken out of this environment and tested properly. The school lacks professionalism and the teachers are not even certified. Luckily I was an active parent who realized my child was in the wrong place. My child does not have a disability she just needed a different approach to learning which this school had no resources to work with. I had nowhere to turn to except the best place she could possibly be and that is the public school system. Don't make the same mistake I did!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2006

My children have been in St. Ed's since kindergarten and I cannot tell you how great it has been in just 150 words. St. Ed is a very demanding but peaceful school, full of wonderful kids. You don't have to be Catholic to go there, just be the moms and dads that want the best for their kids. We parents are involved and it shows. We also have a dedicated staff of teachers and administrators-a very stable crew-many with over 15 years of dedicated service to St. Ed's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2006

I would like to applaud St. Edward School in Stafford Springs,CT. Accredited by the New England Association of Schools & Colleges, it is a wonderful 131 year old institution in which all ethnic and religious denominations are welcomed in its close knit, 'family' atmosphere. Students prosper, daily, evident in grades preschool (Ct Assoc. of Schools choice- Best Preschool Program ) through eight. TLC is the rule of thumb which goes hand in hand with S.E.S's mission of teaching students to respect & to treat others as they want to be treated for peace & justice in the world. Underscoring this year s Catholic schools theme based on building character, values & compassion in every child, is a 'faith in every student' policy adopted by the administrators, teachers & staff. As a result, students exemplify eagerness to learn, achieve and succeed with the support and helpfulness of caring faculty, staff and parents.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 61%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Black 4% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 20%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Norwich
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

25 Church Street
Stafford, CT 06076
Phone: (860) 684-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Stafford Middle School
Stafford Springs, CT


Stafford Elementary School
Stafford Springs, CT


West Stafford School
Stafford Springs, CT


Alden Brook School
Stafford Springs, CT


Staffordville School
Staffordville, CT


Crystal Lake School
Ellington, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT