Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Trinity Catholic Middle School

Private | 6-8 | 215 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Stamford

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $425,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 21, 2013

Great! Strong academics and well-behaved students. Great alternative to liberal, failing public schools. More extracurriculars would make it even better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2011

The teachers at this school truly connect with the students. Our son has found new interest in Math, Social Studies, English and Language Arts, and Science because of the attention and enthusiasm his teachers brought to their classroom. We're looking forward to our daughter following him in a few years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2009

Personally, as a student at TCMS all three years, I did not like it. While I did get a above average education there for the most part, I had multiple very bad teachers in Math and am now suffering for it in high school. Also, the extracurricular activities at TCMS were severely lacking if you didn't want too play the typical sports and wanted too branch out a little.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2008

Great school. my daughter goes there she is in 6th grade and she loves it there!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2008

The affordable tuition and the environment are incomparable. This school 'saved' my daughter, who was heading in the wrong direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2008

Trinity Middle is a very good school. The key to the success of Trinity Middle students is parental involvement and improved administration. When parents are involved with their children s education and activities, they will succeed. Mr. Terenzio has been a great addition to the school and has made many improvements. The academics are certainly on par if not better than the public schools. With TCMS grouping, students can be as challenged as they want to be. Safety and discipline also sets TCMS apart. There are no gangs, no drugs and no police presence! Poor behavior is not tolerated. Precious classroom time is not taken up managing ill-behaved children. If you re looking for a large school that wastes thousands of dollars on programs that don t work, TCMS is not for you. If you re looking for a school whose focus is on education, discipline and respect, than TCMS is a great choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2008

Going to TCMS definitely has prepared me for high school. At this school, I learned what types of things high school teachers expected and how to get high grades in honors classes. The skills I learned at TCMS were definitely needed for me to suceed in high school, and I see myself with a foot ahead of most people who went to other middle schools. The principal has also changed which I like because the first one very loose with the kids. I personally like Mr. Terenzio's way of doing things because he actually enforces the rules. He may not have the best relationship with the kids, but what kid in their right mind would like a principal anyway? I'm just saying, sure, middle school wasn't the best when I went there, but still, I felt I got really important life lessons out of this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2008

Surprisingly the new addition was built, but the school is still tight on room. I wouldn't recommend this school. The academics are not up to par, and some of the teachers don't know how to teach. For a school where i pay a tuition every year, it's definetly not worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2007

We need a great Catholic middle school in this area. TCMS has been an inadequate facility a long time..and I am sorry to say still is as they begin to use their new building. How discouraging! Locked on to this limited property there was no room to expand properly which would help add the needed enrichment the school needs and help attract more high quality teachers. I know the administration is doing the best they can under the circumstances. I am sure they all would like more. The limitations they have to struggle with makes me admire the principle and those good teachers who stay. Thanks and good luck as my last will graduate this year. I will pray for better things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

Addition finally built. Who designed this? Hallway too narrow to walk through. Overcrowding of lockers for students. A Gym/cafeteria in which the gym is too small and the cafeteria is still not being used every day. PA system not working every day. Bus rooms with no way of announcing buses in them. No school activities such as dances or other activities that the students need outside of education. Food is the same sub par lunches as before. A change of administration is greatly needed and soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2007

My son attends this school and the teachers are excellent, the principal is excellent, and the students are caring, responsible, and all-around nice to each other. I would never send my child any where but Trinity Catholic Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2007

I attend Trinity Catholic Middle School and I think most of the teachers are geat, but hard. The principal is fair but can appear scary. The new building that will be finished before school starts this year will really help the students. Before the new building the students had to walk back and forth from two different buildings every day. The backpacks were heavy and i had back aces. Now that the new building will be finished i think it will be a better school than ever.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2006

If the school expansion comes through, then it will be a plus for everyone. The teachers are better than adequate, it is a better option than public schools and a cheaper option than the ultra-private schools. As with all schools in the Diocese, the problem is with Diocese and the pastors in Stamford who don't have schools on their property.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2006

The previous principal was dedicated, and had a true connection with the students, Saint Gabriel Middle School, allowed my child to into a better private high school in Greenwich. Without Saint Gabriel's, my child might have not gotten the opportunity to apply. The new principal however, is caught up in other tasks, that he does not allow himself to have a true connection with the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2006

The previous principal who was 'dismissed' let the school get out of control, the new deputy principal and principal are well on their way to restoring the school to its previous status. Several excellent teachers and a challenging enviornment. Unfortunatly the diocese leaves the school with little or no financial assistance.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 30, 2004

Friendly, Small Environment, challenging school, good high school, and college career.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2004

Saint Gabriel Middle School does give your child spiritulal growth and a comfortable Catholic environment. However the ciriculum is lacking in the arts and SAT vocabulary prep. Although all of the staff is dedicated, some teachers respect for their students and the students' parents.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2003

St. Gabriel is the only Catholic middle school in the Diocese of Bridgeport. It is on a large campus that includes Trinity Catholic High School, St. John Fisher Seminary Residence and St. Gabriel Parish. The new bishop, William Lori, has committed himself to a major upgrade in the facility which houses the parish and middle school under one roof. Principal Bob Cavaliero brings stability to a school that suffered from several years of principals who stayed on for one or two years at a time.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 61%
Black 12% 13%
Hispanic 8% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (203) 322-4435

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Bridgeport
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

948 Newfield Avenue
Stamford, CT 06905
Website: Click here
Phone: (203) 322-7383

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Dolan School
Stamford, CT



St Thomas More School
Montville, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT