Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

King Low Heywood Thomas School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Stamford

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $425,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 19, 2014

I am a student at king and in my opinion King is way too easy. You never learn anything in most of your classes but still get by with good grades. I am yet to have to do any homework at home for any of my classes this year, but have a B average. Since you dont learn anything standardized testing becomes difficult, which leads to low SAT scored among most of the students. If you want a very easy school that will get you into a decent college, King is fine, but if you want more i would avoid this school.


Posted March 1, 2014

King has an interesting environment because it's a mixture of kid's who never stop working, whose lives revolve purely around school work, and those that are regular kids still willing to work but also trying to grow up. This dynamic is common for many schools, yet at King the students whose lives are not dominated by stress are looked down upon. There is a certain doubt, amongst parents, faculty and students, in the idea that a kid can make it through high school without a rigorous schedule. There are several factors that bring down my overall impression of King. The first are the parents, many are overprotective, and overreactive, and it can quite frankly drive you insane. Everyone is expected to donate, everyone is expected to be involved at all times, yet half the kids are treated as if they are nonexistent. King's priorities are in academics, and if you are not benefitting their agenda then you are replaceable by another 20 applicants coming next year. If you want a good education, King is the place to go, but if you want personal growth, and exposure to reality, run as fast as you can in the opposite direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2013

King is a school striving to be the best, the energy is evident in every aspect of the school, student and faculty enthusiasm. Yes there is a strong request to donate to the annual fund..AS THERE IS IN EVERY independent school. There is also an emphasis that you give within your reach, its about participation not amount. That embodies the philosophy of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2013

The school is wonderful! We love it here but as another reviewer mentioned there is an intense pressure to give to the annual fund. It makes us very uncomfortable. As much as we love it here...this is the one drawback.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2013

Our daughters came to King in the seventh grade, a difficult transition year in a awkward age group. With the personal academic approach and hands on advising both have excelled. They have been encouraged to reach high academically, athletically and creatively and have done so with great success. The team cohesiveness of the grades is impressive, the leadership of Tom Main and Bobby Walker creates a uniquely intimate and well structured institution. When looking at schools to complete our pre college education there really was only one great choice, King.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2011

We are about to start our 5th year at King, and we are very happy with the school. The teachers and administrators really know each child, and have brought out the best in both of my children. Academically, King excels at providing an individualized program for each child. There is abundant opportunity for art, music, foreign languages, sports, and science. King is classy, but not elitist - there is a very comfortable feeling on campus. Our only 2 complaints with King are: 1) The intense pressure to give to the Annual Fund. The school has fellow parents send notes, e-mails, and make phone calls until a donation is given. Several fund raising booklets are mailed each year, naming who gave money and how much (this is both a thinly-veiled attempt to embarrass people into giving AND an ego-builder for those who need to have everyone know they gave). The booklets are printed on heavy card stock with full color (read: EXPENSIVE) . . . if King needs money so much, the money could be better spent elsewhere. 2) The acceptance rate is much higher with the current economy. Some students would definitely be better served in a different environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2011

King has the small-town school community atmosphere without the private school attitude. Both of my children have very different learning style, and both are excelling due to the fantastic teachers. My children and I could not be happier here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

The kids here are family to my child, but some kids are snobby, and some are troublemakers. Some of the teachers take forever to grade a simple quiz, while others give it back that same day. There are many cliques. They don't push them in school and my child's friend is getting B's in English because they don't push her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2009

Constant fundraising detracts from goal of education. Loads of political posturing. High percentage of teachers children in attendance. Teachers with certification, curriculum review and resources might improve the situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

Tom Main, Head of School and Marnie Sadlowsky, Head of Upper School are terrific administrators, as is Karin Wagner who is the scheduling wiz (Asst. Head of School). These people do a terrific job creating a nurturing environment for the students and provding a personalized education for all types of learners. Our daughter came here as a freshman from public school and we are extremely impressed with the attention and care our daughter has received from the facultyc sports coaches and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2008

The climate of the lower school is outstanding.Teachers,staff & students seem happy & that is very important in a learning enviroment. Morale is high.


Posted December 1, 2007

This school provides your child with everything. Great teachers, polite discipline students, and where your child will learn to succeed
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 62%
Black 6% 15%
Hispanic 4% 18%
Two or more races 4% N/A
Asian 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Tom Main
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1450 Newfield Avenue
Stamford, CT 06905
Website: Click here
Phone: (203) 322-3496

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Springdale School
Stamford, CT




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT