Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Stamford, CT
Students enrolled: 664

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


King Low Heywood Thomas School 5

Posted September 08, 2014
- a parent
this is our third year at King and i have not yet ceased to be impressed by the balance of academic acuity and the emphasis on personal individual development in each student. the revamped upper school is wonderful, a perfect mate to the middle school and performing arts center. the care with which my daughter's schedule and balance of course work has been exemplary, meeting her needs and providing support and encouragement. we appreciate the balance of athletics, the arts and academia, and are most impressed with the strong program in community outreach and education.

King Low Heywood Thomas School 1

Posted May 19, 2014
- a community member
I am a student at king and in my opinion King is way too easy. You never learn anything in most of your classes but still get by with good grades. I am yet to have to do any homework at home for any of my classes this year, but have a B average. Since you dont learn anything standardized testing becomes difficult, which leads to low SAT scored among most of the students. If you want a very easy school that will get you into a decent college, King is fine, but if you want more i would avoid this school.
1 person found this helpful


King Low Heywood Thomas School 3

Posted March 01, 2014
- a parent
King has an interesting environment because it's a mixture of kid's who never stop working, whose lives revolve purely around school work, and those that are regular kids still willing to work but also trying to grow up. This dynamic is common for many schools, yet at King the students whose lives are not dominated by stress are looked down upon. There is a certain doubt, amongst parents, faculty and students, in the idea that a kid can make it through high school without a rigorous schedule. There are several factors that bring down my overall impression of King. The first are the parents, many are overprotective, and overreactive, and it can quite frankly drive you insane. Everyone is expected to donate, everyone is expected to be involved at all times, yet half the kids are treated as if they are nonexistent. King's priorities are in academics, and if you are not benefitting their agenda then you are replaceable by another 20 applicants coming next year. If you want a good education, King is the place to go, but if you want personal growth, and exposure to reality, run as fast as you can in the opposite direction.
2 people found this helpful

King Low Heywood Thomas School 5

Posted November 11, 2013
- a parent
King is a school striving to be the best, the energy is evident in every aspect of the school, student and faculty enthusiasm. Yes there is a strong request to donate to the annual fund..AS THERE IS IN EVERY independent school. There is also an emphasis that you give within your reach, its about participation not amount. That embodies the philosophy of the school.

King Low Heywood Thomas School 4

Posted November 02, 2013
- a parent
The school is wonderful! We love it here but as another reviewer mentioned there is an intense pressure to give to the annual fund. It makes us very uncomfortable. As much as we love it here...this is the one drawback.


King Low Heywood Thomas School 5

Posted August 14, 2011
- a parent
We are about to start our 5th year at King, and we are very happy with the school. The teachers and administrators really know each child, and have brought out the best in both of my children. Academically, King excels at providing an individualized program for each child. There is abundant opportunity for art, music, foreign languages, sports, and science. King is classy, but not elitist - there is a very comfortable feeling on campus. Our only 2 complaints with King are: 1) The intense pressure to give to the Annual Fund. The school has fellow parents send notes, e-mails, and make phone calls until a donation is given. Several fund raising booklets are mailed each year, naming who gave money and how much (this is both a thinly-veiled attempt to embarrass people into giving AND an ego-builder for those who need to have everyone know they gave). The booklets are printed on heavy card stock with full color (read: EXPENSIVE) . . . if King needs money so much, the money could be better spent elsewhere. 2) The acceptance rate is much higher with the current economy. Some students would definitely be better served in a different environment.

King Low Heywood Thomas School 5

Posted April 26, 2011
- a parent
King has the small-town school community atmosphere without the private school attitude. Both of my children have very different learning style, and both are excelling due to the fantastic teachers. My children and I could not be happier here!

King Low Heywood Thomas School 0
no rating

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
The kids here are family to my child, but some kids are snobby, and some are troublemakers. Some of the teachers take forever to grade a simple quiz, while others give it back that same day. There are many cliques. They don't push them in school and my child's friend is getting B's in English because they don't push her.
1 person found this helpful


King Low Heywood Thomas School 5

Posted February 22, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

King Low Heywood Thomas School 0
no rating

Posted November 08, 2009
- a parent
Constant fundraising detracts from goal of education. Loads of political posturing. High percentage of teachers children in attendance. Teachers with certification, curriculum review and resources might improve the situation.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

King Low Heywood Thomas School
1450 Newfield Avenue, Stamford, CT  06905
(203) 322-3496
Last modified King Low Heywood Thomas School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
King Low Heywood Thomas School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top