Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-2|Private
146 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Children's School 5

Posted May 09, 2016
- a community member
What an experience! Grand parents day at the Children school. Each and every teacher made us feel so welcome. My grand son showed me around, the inside space is wide, bright, colorful. Imagination has no bound for all the hands on activities. They have made learning a wonderful experience. The outdoors has been all the fun a child imagination can experience, sand areas, path ways, big huge rocks, meticulously kept. I would have loved to have such a great school when my son was toddler. I loved it.

The Children's School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
The teachers at The Children's School are very carefully selected through a long process, and are mentored directly by the Head. They are the very heart of the school and are truly amazing at what they do.


The Children's School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
From the personal greeting of every individual, to the language used in the classroom, to learning about respecting our environment, students absolutely develop respect in the most robust aspect of the word.

The Children's School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
Language is used very carefully and thoughtfully at The Children's School. When issues arise between young children, teachers skillfully guide the children in an age-appropriate way, and help students learn to use language in a productive way. Students develop greater social/emotional awareness through discussion. Older students have the opportunity to participate in a well-thought-out service opportunity reading and singing to the elderly.

The Children's School 5

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
The finest early childhood education around. The teachers are thoughtfully selected and continuously developed- a true team approach is used. Children are truly known and met where they are. I sent two very different children through the school, and they each received exactly what they needed in the same nurturing, caring environment. The school builds on its deep experience with children by always reflecting and improving. It is a true educational community, we felt it not only gave the children what they needed, but helped us grow as a family. We are not alone in our fondness for the school-the alumni network is strong and devoted, even after moving on to many other fine educational institutions, many reflect on the uniqueness and wonder of The Children's School. The Head of school and her team wholeheartedly believe in nurturing the joy of childhood and a love of learning. Your children will leave the school with strong skills and a positive view of school. A truly special place.


The Children's School 5

Posted March 05, 2016
- a community member
The Children's School is truly dedicated to early child education. The means through which they introduce children to the foundations of education (language, math, life skills, music, arts) by routinely engaging multiple senses is unique and effective. The day allows for unstructured play along with individualized lessons. The teachers are dedicated to the montessori style of education, and also gracefully limit set, redirect any conflict that arises between children, and creatively innovate when the occasion arises. The director has been there for a long time which is amazing and wonderful. The school itself is in a LEED certified building and incorporates nature and the outdoors often. A truly special place.

The Children's School 5

Posted February 25, 2015
- a parent
The Children s School has been an absolutely great experience for our entire family. Our kids are thriving and loving their school. They are excelling and keep getting that extra "push" to go even further. All the teachers are loving and thoughtful and have outstanding academic backgrounds from colleges such as Brown and Vassar. Love the philosophy, which really creates a love for learning! The outdoor space is right on giant rocks, tree stumps, wooded and sand areas, overhangs and pathways create diverse outdoor groves for imaginative play that are wonderful for exploring nature. There's a really strong parent involvement, which creates a beautiful community. And the after school enrichment programs offer something for everyone. We love this school!

The Children's School 5

Posted January 06, 2015
- a parent
Wonderful! Wonderful early childhood school! We are so happy our daughter goes to The Children s School. She is a little over 4 years old and this is her second year. All the teachers and staff are very loving and kind! They know her so well and are always available to talk about her growth and accomplishments. Whether we have a question about friends or how to support her learning at home, it is easy to schedule a time to talk with a teacher who clearly has spent a great deal of one-on-one time with our daughter and has her best interests in mind. We are very grateful to be a part of The Children s School family.


The Children's School 5

Posted December 09, 2014
- a parent
The Children s School truly is the "happy place" for our family. While my son receives an excellent education (my 5 year old is doing 2nd grade math and reading), I have made friendships that will last my lifetime.

The Children's School 5

Posted November 17, 2014
- a parent
I have been a parent at The Children s School for over 8 years. I now have three children who have attended (one is still at the school) and have considered having more kids just to prolong my time as a member of this fabulous community. This is more than a school, it is a community and a family. I drive over 30 minutes each way so that my children can experience this wonderful school!

Nearby schools

The Children's School
118 Scofieldtown Road, Stamford, CT  06903
(203) 329-8815
Last modified The Children's School is a Private school that serves grades PK-2
Top