Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-4|Private
60 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Canaan Ridge School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted March 25, 2016
- a community member
School leadership is dishonest and I would be concerned that this is reflected in their teaching.

The Canaan Ridge School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
Thanks, Virginia, for creating such a wonderful environment for children to thrive. You instill a lifetime love of learning in children.


The Canaan Ridge School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
We have only completed preschool so I couldn't advise on the amount of homework yet.

The Canaan Ridge School 5

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
My son completed the 2’s program at Canaan Ridge last year, and we are back for the 3’s program this year. We have found it to be an incredibly nurturing, wonderful place—just the right mix of a relaxed Montessori program with art and music that has provided him with a great introduction to school. My son loved doing daily well-planned art projects and enjoyed music lessons and story time. He loved his teachers and the principal and staff. Canaan Ridge has two beautiful playgrounds for sunny days and a large indoor play space when the weather is bad. Because of their small class sizes, they could tailor the teaching to each child and allow each child to progress according to his own abilities. For example, if a three-year-old showed interest in reading, a teacher worked individually with the child each day to foster their development. We also found the administration to be extremely flexible and accommodating.

The Canaan Ridge School 5

Posted October 06, 2015
- a community member
This school is perfect for elementary level and prepares well for middle school. The unique happy environment with excellent academics distinguishes this school from many. It is a Montessori school from nursery to the 1st Grade then the classroom environment is introduced. My children grew up loving going to school and loving to learn - what can be better?Close Quote


The Canaan Ridge School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 03, 2015
- a parent
It is an international school that values each child. Canaan Ridge lovingly instills the highest values of integrity and kindness creating a safe and nurturing environment for all children.

The Canaan Ridge School 5

Posted October 03, 2015
- a parent
A warm, nurturing environment in an idyllic setting. We couldn't be more pleased with the level of individual attention, academic focus and high standards of this school. Miss Virginia has cultivated a relaxed Montessori approach with a truly international philosophy. We are so grateful to be apart of Canaan Ridge, our son is thriving and happy. We are thrilled!

The Canaan Ridge School 5

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
Canaan Ridge has been the most wonderful experience for my son. It is such a nurturing environment with incredible facilities and people. He is excelling in math and reading at such a young age - we've really been impressed.


The Canaan Ridge School 5

Posted April 15, 2015
- a parent
What a great school--wonderful, loving teachers who really pay attention to the uniqueness of each child. My 4 year old son, who hated going to his previous school/daycare because of rough teachers (quoted from him), loves going to this school. This school is more academic and structured, and instills more discipline than his other school. The only downside is the lack of sense of community--parents don't know each other. Previous schools organized more parent social activities, which helped in this regard.

The Canaan Ridge School 5

Posted October 19, 2011
- a parent
This is a magical school where children develop a life long love of learning, a passion for understanding the environment and cultures around them. I am amazed by what my children have learned in just Pre-K (math (addition & subtraction), language (French, Mandarin), musical instruments and musical style recognition, basic science and nature, knowledge about other countries and cultures, - I could go on as it is amazing what they cover. Both my children love the school! The teachers create a nurturing non-pressurized classroom that allows each one to thrive. What a wonderful foundation! I would not send them anywhere else and it is worth the drive (we commute 25 minutes)! Wish is went beyond 3rd grade!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Canaan Ridge School
2810 Long Ridge Road, Stamford, CT  06903
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (203) 322-7191
Last modified The Canaan Ridge School is a Private school that serves grades PK-4
Top