Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Toquam Magnet School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2014

Of the 5 Stamford elementary schools I've worked in, Toquam is the best by far ... hands down. The staff is totally committed to the students and the kids are happy. It's a family atmosphere.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 23, 2013

My school has a very nice discipline among the students teachers are very hardworking and nice to the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2013

Toquam is excellent because the School staff is always aware, attentive and safe. Parents who watch there children come home with such joy because they had a great learning experience and fun at school is what all parents dream of . This is why i pick such an amazing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2010

I heard many positive reviews before we sent our son to Toquam but the actually experience is even better! Teachers are wonderful, programs are challenging (even in kindergarten) and the parent turnout at events very impressive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

I am now graduating to high school and to this day i remember every thing that happened in Toquam. My 6 years there has been the best years of my life. Send your baby here, it is the best school ever.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2010

A wonderful school, the kids are mature, engaged and bright. If you have a chance to participate in the lottery, do it - it's my #1 choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

I have two kids going to this school and I find it amazing. Teachers are very hard working and if parents try as well at home, the results will be even better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2009

My child moved to this school from another very good public school. I was suprised by the quality of work he was expected to do. With the professional teacher he has kept up with the others in his class but it is so unfortunate that he did not attend this school since kindergarten. I don't understand who a school district can have such differt standards for the district vs magnet schools. I am happy for my child but sad for all the children not being educated to the high standards in our magnet schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2008

Love it. High parent/family turnout at all the gatherings, the teachers are wonderful, my son loves his kindergarten class. Though the kids borrow books of their own choosing from the school library (with some expected supervision regarding age- and topic-appropriateness), there is also a 'teacher's pick' for each child to take home and return at week's end; these books are chosen with regard to the child's reading ability. The ones selected for my son included subjects like space, the human skeletal system, sharks--not necessarily topics he would have chosen on his own, but ones he was fascinated by nonetheless. So the teachers are not just covering the fundamentals but challenging and broadening them beyond their current interests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

Although my child is receiving a good education from this school, it lacks more special needs programs for children with special needs and learning disabilities, that is a big disappointment with me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2006

I am currently in this school and I really like it.The only thing they could do better is to have more parent based meetings. Not conferences...meetings so the staff could get to know the parents better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2005

This magnet school is an excellent choice for parents who want their children to learn respect and work hard. The teaching staff is excellent and my children have gotten a superior education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2004

Both of my daughters attended toquam magnet elementary school, and let me be the one to tell you that this school is one of the best! it's simply great! Their principal and vice-principal are very involved, and so are parents. Their education is by far one of the best that i have ever seen-in my life. if you want to send your child to a stamford elementary school, i personally think that toquam should be the one.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 88% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female76%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic68%
White97%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%

Reading

All Students64%
Female67%
Male60%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic46%
White94%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English70%

Writing

All Students85%
Female90%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic75%
White100%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female71%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%

Reading

All Students75%
Female70%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%

Writing

All Students89%
Female90%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female85%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic80%
White94%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%

Reading

All Students74%
Female80%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic63%
White84%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities76%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%

Science

All Students79%
Female83%
Male74%
Black40%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%

Writing

All Students87%
Female95%
Male80%
Black80%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 40% 20%
White 27% 61%
Black 21% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

123 Ridgewood Ave
Stamford, CT 06907
Phone: (203) 977-4556

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Springdale School
Stamford, CT


Newfield School
Stamford, CT




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT