Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Scofield Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 27, 2014

Been here 3 years I live the teachers and I think this is one if the best school and I love it here.


Posted January 30, 2014

I am a sixth grader at Scofield and I'm currently having the best year of my life! All my teachers are great and really supportive of our learning. Although they can be tough on us, it's for our own good. I have really learned a lot this year at scofield and I am really glad I moved from private school to Scofield.


Posted October 18, 2013

Great school, dedicated teachers. I would suggest to those who are unhappy with the school, take your child to your district school. No one is making you send your children there. As for the test scores, I would do more research. Scofield has the highest scores in Stamford (year after year). The teachers are educated and push students to work to their potential so that they may succeed throughout their academic years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2013

My school is pretty good I just had my first year there and it was pretty cool. The teachers challenge you but then there are teachers that favor. I like that the teachers can be fun but are serious during our education. My school can improve on an auditorium and not running for 10 minutes in gym, because some people have asthma and some people will pass out one day.


Posted March 8, 2012

Excellent school with dedicated administration and teachers. These students have opportunities not available to other students in other schools. Was at another school last year, but luckily got in this year - no comparison to our district school. The teachers here actually teach and, more importantly, inspire the students to learn through challenging curriculum and encouragement. The district school wasn't the least bit challenging. Numerous students here that also had gone to private school for elementary years, but once they were accepted at Scofield, the parents preferred Scofield over some of the private schools. Make no mistake, if your child attends, they should be prepared to work. But, they will be very well prepared for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2011

Was really happy that my son got in the lottery, and heard great things about the school. 2 years on - our experience has been very mixed. The majority of teachers are lazy and should have retired years ago, the teaching is geared to the lowest common denominator students. Some of the teachers are downright rude and would have been disciplined in the other non-magnet schools. Bottom line - either leave your kid in the other middle schools or pay for a true private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2011

Scofield is the best school in Stamford, CT. Teachers are very devoted to students. All equipments are up to date Very encourage environment to engage learning. From homework assignment you can know there is wisdom behind the design.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2011

This is an excellent school equal to any of the private schools in the area. The facilities are beautiful and amazing compared to other public schools in Stamford. Students will be well-prepared for high school challenges after 3 years here. Teachers are above average. They could improve their homework policy which can be challenging to students who work at a slower pace. Science and technology curriculum is superior. This year they offered Chinese language for the first time. This is a magnet school, so admission is via lottery process only, but it is worth trying for. You will not be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

All three of my daughters were challenged in Math, Science and Technology at this school. They are all either in college or graduating now. While we opted for private high school, their intererst in the Sciences were developed here. In addition, the skills they learned during the 8th grade Exhibition process proved very valuable. Their presentation skills exceeded that of their peers often earning them high grades when they had to present in high school and college classes. We have been out of the school for a number of years now. However, we highly recommend it to anyone who would like to see their children's interest in Math, Science and Technology grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

Scofield Magnet Middle is a Excellent school i can never miss a day there
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 16, 2010

My first two years in Scofield were okay but as the last year comes they give you exhibition to work on and it is just over working. Trust me don't send your child here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2010

I love Scofiled!! I have been there for two years now and now I'm a 7th grader. I feel vary safe in and out school grounds. The teachers are vary great and friendly. They would never leave you behind, and they make sure you put your 100% effort. The activities are great and i learn something new every day! My grades definitely improved once i entered that school. After school activities are great and fun. I really recommend Scofiled as the number one school! Go Scofield!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 5, 2009

My son is a 7th grader and we both love the school. He has done very well here and has made honor roll every marking period . He really likes his teachers. The only thing that needs alot of improvement are the sports teams. For some reason the school does not attract to many athletic kids that like to play on the school teams.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

great school...nice teachers different from all other stamford middle schools..great oppurtunities...Awesome!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 16, 2008

warm, involved teachers. Good discipline and lots of written reports, science is at a good level, math is low for 6th grade but reading and language skills good. Social studies excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2008

take my advice. they baby you and dont let you do anything. Everything is supervised, and nobody trusts you! Do not send your kids there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2007

I love this school! At first I didn't want to go here but then I started to make great friends, and the teachers are awesome. If you like math, science, or technology enroll for a chance to get in. Explorers Rule!!!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

196 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

196 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 86% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female93%
Male87%
Black81%
Asian American100%
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%

Reading

All Students92%
Female93%
Male90%
Black89%
Asian American95%
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%

Writing

All Students94%
Female98%
Male90%
Black90%
Asian American100%
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female88%
Male93%
Black81%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%

Reading

All Students93%
Female95%
Male92%
Black81%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%

Writing

All Students91%
Female94%
Male87%
Black89%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female92%
Male95%
Black85%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%

Reading

All Students90%
Female89%
Male90%
Black74%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%

Science

All Students88%
Female89%
Male87%
Black74%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%

Writing

All Students95%
Female98%
Male92%
Black89%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 61%
Hispanic 33% 20%
Black 15% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 4%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

641 Scofieldtown Rd
Stamford, CT 06903
Phone: (203) 977-4350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




The Mead School
Stamford, CT




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT