Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cloonan School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 16, 2013

Frst of all Cloonan is an amzing school to be in. Its great! what i think others should know about my school is that its fantastic! in cloonan you dont get judged, and there isnt many bullying, you get to be who you really are. your free to speak you mind. At Coonan we have parties, assemblies, and this year we had a fitness challenge, and it was really fun. We had to go through several obstacles; we got to do Zumba with a professional trainer, which was a student at Cloonan years ago. what i like about cloonan is that i can just be myself, and people wont judge me, i like the tachers because theyre all really freiendly and magnificent. All they want is for us to do out best, and be successful in life.The teachers are always there for us when we need them. i also like cloonan because i can make new friends, and join sports, and do after school activities and many other things. I personally think that my school is perfect just the way it is. it doesnt need to improve its all. at cloonan we always have everything we need at our fingertips. i wouldnt change anything about my school.


Posted March 30, 2011

I am a seventh grade student at Cloonan and let me tell you I LOVE this place. At first I was mad that I didn't get into scholfield. but when I meet teh students there and learned about how much the teachers care abotu us I regretted even wanting to go scholfield. All of the teachers look for ways that helps everyone learn best. The honors classes gives us piles of homework, but it is now challenging us. The atmoshpere at the school makes you feel welcomed. I do wish that our principal was more involved with the students but he is working on it and has been more interactive. The vice principal for gold house can be a little annoying and demanding, but she won't bother you if you don't cause too much trouble. I love the school from the people to the teachers. I can't imagine goign to a different school.


Posted March 5, 2010

I'm a student at Cloonan and I love this place. The teachers are great, especially the eight grade teachers, whom some have over thirty years of teaching at Cloonan. If I ever have trouble with a class, the teachers are always there to lend a hand. Some kids stereotype schools as a boring place to be, but at Cloonan they make learning fun, which may sound corny to some but it's true. The Cloonan staff are really friendly and helpful. I think of this school as a great big family. I'll be very sad once I graduate from Cloonan, but I'm glad Ill be able to say I went to Cloonan.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 22, 2009

Cloonan Middle School is a wonderful school. I have found the teachers and administration to be caring, knowledgable, and adept at meeting the needs of individual students. Cloonan was the first school to switch from homogenious to heterogenious grouping. A brave move considering public concern about the change. However I can tell you that as a parent of a high achiever, my daughter has blossomed even further under this new structure. In addition, the clear expectations for appropriate student behavior allows optimum learning to take place. I have found the principal and A.P.s to be approachable, flexable, and truly interested in what's best for students. Although I was anxious about my daughter entering middle school, my fears were totally unfounded. Again, great staff. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

I've taught at Cloonan for the last 10 years and every year I learn something new about my students. I love Cloonan because of the diversity of students that come to this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 4, 2009

Principal MIA, school run by asst. principals. Teachers run gamut from excellent to get him out of here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2008

Cloonan Middle School has prepared my son very well for high school. The middle school years are particularly turbulent and Cloonan staff and teachers were well equipped to handle these ups and downs. Being a more urban middle school, discipline and safety are important and the school and principal earn top marks. While the principal has not always received the right support from the downtown administration, he has always managed to protect the needs and rights of all the students at Cloonan. Cloonan's staff is demanding and inventive in their teaching styles - keeping Cloonan's students challenged and interested in learning. In addition, with its two house system creating a smaller, friendlier dual school-within-a-school system, students are comfortable and assimilate well into the middle school teaching rigors. Well done Cloonan! All
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

209 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 86% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female86%
Male83%
Black69%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%

Reading

All Students80%
Female80%
Male79%
Black65%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%

Writing

All Students76%
Female84%
Male69%
Black64%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female75%
Male78%
Black57%
Asian American95%
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
English language learners50%
Proficient in English80%

Reading

All Students77%
Female79%
Male74%
Black72%
Asian American90%
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities79%
English language learners22%
Proficient in English84%

Writing

All Students75%
Female83%
Male65%
Black66%
Asian American86%
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities26%
Students without disabilities82%
English language learners40%
Proficient in English79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female80%
Male76%
Black59%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%

Reading

All Students76%
Female78%
Male73%
Black56%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%

Science

All Students59%
Female57%
Male61%
Black29%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities65%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English61%

Writing

All Students79%
Female86%
Male71%
Black65%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 37% 61%
Hispanic 30% 20%
Black 24% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11 West North St
Stamford, CT 06902
Phone: (203) 977-4544

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Sacred Heart School
Stamford, CT


Beacon
Stamford, CT





Dolan School
Stamford, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT