Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Davenport Ridge School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

We made the switch from St Cecilias this year and have been very happy. Davenport has so much to offer that the private schools just do not have. Our daughter loves her teachers and is reading at a grade above her level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2014

We have been very happy at Davenport. I have a 1st grader now and another who will start there in September in Kindergarten. Everyone at the school has been very welcoming to our whole family and I know my kids will be safe there. Fun community events for the kids every once in a while too, and they offer free after school classes twice a year which is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2013

I have had at least one child at Davenport for the last 4 years...and I have to agree that the school just gets better every year. The school is small and personal and a great place to be if you are a kid or a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

Kids are in Kindergarten right now and are really enjoying themselves. So happy we sent them to Davenport over private school--- love the diverse backgrounds of all the children! The 2 teachers we're familiar with are accessible and responsive. We're thinking about moving within Stamford, but now we're unsure since Davenport's been so great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

This school is fantastic. My daughter loves it here. The teachers are very kind and helpful. Lots of homework - even in Kindergarten. So happy we chose this school over our private school options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

Fabulous devoted staff and administration. The school has completely turned around over the last 3 years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

I have one child in third grade and one in 1st grade and have been thrilled with the quality of teachers and the level of commitment to the students by both the instructors as well as the administrators. Every phone call, email or other inquiry I have made is promptly responded to. The Principal and Assistant Principal are well respected and the kids love them! They are a great team who are going above and beyond to bringing new innovative programs to our school. In the past year, we not only have gotten laptop carts, but also I-pad carts for our students to learn all they need to know to become our future bright innovators!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

Great school! Administrators and teachers are nurturing and committed to all of their students! Love how our school has become a wireless tech power house with i-pad carts, laptop carts and all grade-levels learning to use them. Their music department is also outerspace, each year they have 2 spectacular (professional) concerts directed by their music teachers, worth taking the day off for!! We love this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

We love this school & it's community as parents of a child that attends the school. The teachers are fabulous & the curriculum has allowed my daughter to continue expanding her mind. My daughter enjoys everyday there and has made some great friendships that I think will last her a lifetime. Please consider our school to win this prize. The school community deserves it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

Completely wireless environment with technology in every classroom and ipad and laptop carts roaming the halls. A diverse population that introduces your children to the academic and interpersonal skills they need to thrive in the real world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

This is our third year at Davenport and we love it! I cannot say enough about the amazing administration at this school. They are supportive, receptive and approachable. The three teachers we've had have all been excellent. I've had true partnerships with them all. I am very happy with my son's progress over the last few years. It's a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

What a surprise! Davenport Ridge is a fantastic school. The administrators are great leaders and run a tight ship. The kids are respectful and want to learn. Teachers are creative and engaging. We couldn't be happier with our daughter's progress over the last few years. Don't believe everything you read or hear around town. Come and see for yourself. You will be amazed at what is going on inside the building.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2013

This is a pretty good school. I thank Mrs Woodside for all of her patience and hard work in helping my daughter complete the 5th grade. She's an excellent teacher, an asset to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2012

This is a wonderful school! It really starts at the top with the administrators, there is obviously a clear and shared focus. The office staff is extremely helpful and very patient. The teachers are excellent! There is a high level of collaboration and communication. I feel as if I am a part of a team, and that is an awesome feeling! My children are challenged and nurtured. Kudos to Davenport Ridge Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2009

Fantastic experience with this school. The principal is excellent; the teachers are great. My daughter had really struggled at another Stamford school and Davenport Ridge really worked to turn everything around for her. Students are a nice group of kids, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2006

Th best school your child could ever possibly go to!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

Nice school, nice community. Lots of extra curricular activitues & sports, racially balanced.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 88% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female87%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic72%
White100%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%

Reading

All Students60%
Female73%
Male41%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic43%
White79%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%

Writing

All Students72%
Female84%
Male55%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic43%
White100%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female90%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%

Reading

All Students73%
Female77%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%

Writing

All Students74%
Female90%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female84%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic74%
White95%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%

Reading

All Students68%
Female70%
Male63%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic57%
White85%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities68%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%

Science

All Students72%
Female69%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%

Writing

All Students82%
Female83%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 39% 61%
Hispanic 29% 20%
Black 23% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 4%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1300 Newfield Ave
Stamford, CT 06905
Phone: (203) 977-4291

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Springdale School
Stamford, CT


Newfield School
Stamford, CT




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT