Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

K. T. Murphy School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 9, 2014

I like KT murphy school. This school is one of the best schools in stamford. It is breath of fresh air! All the teachers and staff genuinely love children and believe all children can learn and do well. The curriculum was designed to develop the child as a whole. There is a huge focus on academics as well as character development. The teachers are more than well qualified. If you reach out to a teacher, they always get back to you within 24 hrs. They implement differentiated learning ; no matter what academic level your child is at, your child will continue to learn and move northbound. Miss Oken is one of the best teacher..Thank you all
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2014

K T Murphy is a great school. School staffs are very friendly. My daughter 2nd grader loves to go school every day. Especially principal - he is an amazing supper support for our kids...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2014

Our family has had a great experience at KT Murphy throughout my son's kindergarten year. His teachers are great and he gets the differentiated instruction that is appropriate from him. He started this year with no word recognition skills and unable to read, I can not begin to explain the progress he has made, rattling off site words, reading basic books on his and loving it all the while. On top of that he references science experiments, cultural traditions and is doing addition and subtraction. He is very happy going to school each day and has also shown tremendous growth socially & emotionally. There are things he is taking away from his KT Murphy experience that are not quantifiable, he is beginning to build an understanding of what a diverse world is and what that means for him. We made a choice as a family to choose Stamford Public schools and KT Murphy, we had other options and the means to pursue them. There was debate in our family around what we should do, and we could not be more happy with our decision. As you choose a place to live and a public school system be very thoughtful about your decision, remember to value a variety of things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2014

My daughter studies is in 4th Grade ,Teachers are really good , they are not just teaching , they are trying to make sure if student understand concept behind every topic and how it is used in our day to day life ,whether it is science/maths or English. Management is great they introduced cultural and educational events which helps students to develop scientifically and social awareness
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

My school is KT Murphy. My son is in kindergarten and is doing great! He's reading and writing at a first grade level. He's doing math problems that amaze me for his age! The school provides so much support. The events and activities for families are GREAT! So many opportunities to be involved in the school and know the teachers, principal and other parents! We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2014

Great school! My second grader reads at 4 grade level, gets all the support she needs, good teachers and administrators. They focus on behavior and discipline which I support. The only problem are kids that should be in special schools due to learning issues... But yet parents insist on having them in regularly schools and then complain about teachers not doing their job! *read previous post.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

I feel the staff lacks moral and ethical standards. I have been on a journey for 2.5 years and only now receiving an IEP with minimal services. Still not addressing his learning issues in depth, focusing more on his behaviors which have evolved due to the staffs lack of response. I have stated time and time again that my son has issues that were not being addressed and over and over again my concerns have been dismissed. Now, finally, the KT Murphy the staff is responding. But between endless "misstatements", and "misunderstandings" and constantly moving so slowly as to seem hardly to make any progress at all, it seems as though they are working against me. Srbi policies are recommendations and don't mean that they are obligated to follow through with the services. At what point is an educator held responsible for not doing their job? I am a mom, wife and banker. What I shouldn't be is an unpaid babysitter for the staff to make sure that they do their jobs competently. My son's well being and scholastic future is my number one priority. To be involved in this process with administrators and teaching professionals who seem not to share that focus is utterly disgusting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

KTM exceeded our expectations. Regarding the scores, understand that this is an urban school; we're not in a homogeneous suburb full of professionals. The fact that some children have disadvantages does not mean that your child will not thrive. There is a rich diversity here; both students and parents benefit -- many strands in a wonderful tapestry, evident at our PTO meetings and numerous family events (Movie Nights, Museum Night, etc). It is truly what American public education should be -- kids from diverse backgrounds learning together. Excellent curriculum and teaching. The school emphasizes community and social-emotional learning through the Responsive Classroom approach. Administration and staff are dedicated. They're responsive to parents and kind to the children. They are committed to enriching the learning environment. (The negative 2009 review was a different principal.). Enrichment opportunities exist. KTM excelled in the Odyssey of the Mind competition (3rd in CT), has a Lego team and chess club, etc. Test scores are improving, and children thrive. http://www.ktmurphy.org/Data/Sites/23/documents/data-2013.pdf
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2013

This is indeed a good school. The school uses a lof of online teaching aids by way of games that helps the kids to enjoy and learn. This do create eagerness in kids to learn and play. I have not been to other schools in the area to be able to see where KTM lacks but overall I can see a lot of activities for kids to remain engaged with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2011

KTM is a great school that shown remarkable improvements over the last 3-4 years! I checked the CMTs and they have out gained the pace of growth for other schools. Is there room for improvement? --Ofcourse, no one would deny that, even the hard working teachers and staff. As a parent who is involved and knows a bit about the system, they are doing great things at the school! This stuff about not following the curriculum appears to be misguided, given that the entire district does not have a set spelling test, yet they all embed this in the instruction. (I asked parents at other schools I know.) The drive, heart, and a spirit that is kid focused --permeates this historic building. I take pride in what we have begun to build here as a parent, and it's a shame there always someone that has some other motive. I contacted one of the reading volunteers from the JFF....they confirmed their feelings about the excitement and the great things they are seeing at KT. I know that the five teachers my two kids have had go over and beyond their call of duty. I Absolutely recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

This school puts the S in shameful. They do not follow the city curriculum from the BofE. I contacted my child's teacher because it seemed that the work load was a little lax, I asked for test scores, specifically spelling and vocabulary and the response was "we don't do that". What?!?!?!?!?!?!? I know this isn't true, so can only assume the teachers and or faculty are too lazy to follow curriculum. My child will not be attending KTM next year and is now behind, so because the school has failed he is forced to learn at home this summer. He's not assigned to summer school, but is not up to par for a 4th grader. Like a said, shameful! I see the teachers and other parents rah-rah over KTM, but after the experiecing the actual failings of this school, I honestly believe the stats are correct and this is one of the WORST schools in Stamford. A neighbor of mine also volunteers as a reading coach at KTM and does not want to go back because of quality, failure and disgrace of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2010

My son moved to KT murphy this year, I see lot of extra currucular activities here, my son enjoy go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

Don't let the ratings game fool you. The ratings don't even come close to measuring the intrinsic value of this school. The ratings are more a reflection of the number of children who come into the school speaking languages other than English as their first language. These are bright, well behaved kids who are being forced to take standardized tests to satisfy NCLB requirements and don't always do well on the exams. But this is not a true reflection on their talents or that of the administrative staff and teachers who are all very dedicated to this school. The bottom line message is - don't be afraid to give this school a chance. You'll be pleasantly surprised.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

My children are the third generation attending KT Murphy School. It is what a neighborhood school should be. KTM is like a second family. The staff is amazing! My child had some learing challenges and they were addressed immediately. Wouldn't want my children in any other school to start of the foundation of their building block of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

A fair warning to parents... this is a very 'tough' school. My daughter, who never had social problems of any kind before or since, spent one very long year at KT Murphy where she had problems with the other children on an almost daily basis. Virtually nothing effective was done to address the problems despite repeated attempts. Unprofessionalism abounds, from leadership to teachers, and most of all in the after care program. The problems were so extreme that I requested, and was granted, a transfer for her to another Stamford school where she has thrived. We recently had to move out of state and into another school where she also has no social problems whatsoever, nor did she at her school previous to KT Murphy. Yet, she came home in tears almost daily from KT Murphy. Enough said.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2008

The numbers don't give justice to this school. My gifted child enjoys the diversity and community feel of his school. The teachers and administration really care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

In a word Brilliant, this school is everything I had hoped for for my first child, and am pleased to have my second son attend. I think the programs are outstanding, the Teachers are what make this school tick, they are the heart and soul of this school. The Teachers offer support to parents and students alike. The music program offers children a chance to learn and grow and has the greatest program teacher. (again I can not say enough about the teachers). It is my pleasure to say the parent involvement is the highest I have ever seen in all my years of attending teacher/parent meetings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2003

My children have been going to this school for 3 years and the teachers they have had so far are great. They are friendly and supportive of me and my children. We all communicate and work togeteher including the principal, the assistant principal, the guidance counselor and specialists who are all wonderful and supportive. There are after school electives once a week that run for about 6 weeks each 3 or 4 times a year. There are lots of cultural events throughout the school year that are both fun and educational. The school staff, children and parents are like a big family.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 88% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female79%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic82%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%

Reading

All Students63%
Female71%
Male56%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic54%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%

Writing

All Students69%
Female82%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic71%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities75%
English language learners50%
Proficient in English75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female84%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%

Reading

All Students68%
Female76%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities68%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%

Writing

All Students84%
Female95%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female88%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic77%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%

Reading

All Students73%
Female77%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic70%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%

Science

All Students72%
Female73%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%

Writing

All Students84%
Female81%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 20%
White 21% 61%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 17% 4%
Black 15% 13%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19 Horton St
Stamford, CT 06902
Phone: (203) 977-4516

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Waterside School
Stamford, CT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT