Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Stamford High School 4

Posted November 08, 2013
- a community member
Shs is a really good school if you take advantage of what it has to offer. The problem is, several people don't and that's why the school gets a "bad" reputation in some ways. This school has it's issues just like any other school but some of the negative publicity it gets is really blown way out of proportion. And it's funny because in my experience, a lot of the people who criticize shs and whs the most never went to either school. A lot of the teachers and very good and so are the facilities and extra curriculars. It's also not a cliquey environment because there are a lot of different kinds of people and if you choose your friends wisely you won't run into trouble. I'm in college now and I feel like this school really helped me prepare.

Stamford High School 2

Posted December 02, 2011
- a community member
Very unstable school, vice principals tried to overthrow he first permanent principal that had been hired in 8 years due to the inability of her to do her job properly. Teachers are overall very good, some very good, others not so much, all depends on the teacher. Guidance department is a negative for the most part with some bright spots but majority of the department, including the department head, are unsatisfactory. Large variety of student activities due to great diversity. School is very unstable and constantly changing with teachers leaving often because they do not like the environment that was created.


Stamford High School 0
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
Creative, innovative teachers, guidance counselors that care, great extra-cirricular activities

Stamford High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers, guidance counselors, and coaches.

Stamford High School 4

Posted November 28, 2007
- a parent
I am very happy with Stamford High. Guidance Dept. is great and the teachers are excellent. The students here are very accepting of new and transfer students unlike some local private schools where the girls in particular are very, mean and do not include new students.


Stamford High School 4

Posted May 03, 2006
- a student
Why anyone would want to know this much about Stamford High School is beyond me however, as a current student, of four years, I have seen the good the bad and the ugly. Stamford High, unlike most Schools in neighboring towns, is rich in culture and diversity. Stamford high certinly has a rigorous academic program if one is willing to step up to the challenge. if not, it can become a cakewalk for the intellegent yet under motivated children. The staff is definitly wonderful and most will go beyond what is asked. Besides academics, music, art and sports as well as extracurricular activites is to the utmost importance at stamford high and develops a strong, well rounded individual that is necessary for the future. In short, Stamford High is higly critisized for being a 'bad school' but this is nothing but a fabrication, I would send my kids to Stamford high!

Stamford High School 1

Posted February 03, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Stamford High School 4

Posted August 27, 2005
- a student
Stamford High School is a complicated school to describe. As a former student, I feel that SHS has changed over the years as far as the academic level is concerned. The English department is spectacular. Some of the English teachers are very highly qualified, and they're teaching style is by far the best I've seen. Music and the arts are very much appreciated at SHS. With various choral and instrumental groups, as well as an art society and art shows throughout the year, music and art play a humungous role in the lives of the students. The extracirriculars include student-made clubs, i.e. Anime Club, as well as Chess Club and 4-H Club...not to mention the various community service clubs that are so available. All in all, SHS provides a great learning environment to those students willing to lean.


Stamford High School 5

Posted October 22, 2004
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Stamford High School 4

Posted May 02, 2004
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Stamford High School
55 Strawberry Hill Ave, Stamford, CT  06902
(203) 977-4227
Last modified Stamford High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Stamford High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top