Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Turn Of River School 5

Posted June 07, 2013
- a parent
I have never been so happy with a school as I have been with this one. The administration and teachers are phenominal! The After-School Activities are incredible, especially Rachel's Challenge and The Soul Writers. My child learned so much and had fun in the process! If you're in this district, count your blessings!

Turn Of River School 2

Posted December 09, 2010
- a community member
I spent 15 days in 2 different classrooms at this school last yr. There may be some good teachers there, but the 2 veteran teachers whose classes I saw were mediocre.They were doing the absolute minimum, and their students were not challenged and were learning very little. All of Stamford's schools are diverse. Students are a cross-section of all the different kinds of people who live in Stamford.But when the number of "problem kids" in a class gets too high, no real learning can take place.The teacher's focus becomes keeping order, not teaching. The student body at TOR is very unruly.There are some good and average kids, but what was shocking was the # of kids whose aim was to disrupt class.The % of unruly and disobedient kids was so high that teachers worry about just keeping order in the classroom, rather than challenging the students who are there to learn.The principal was unsupportive, even refusing to allow teachers to remove disruptive students from class. Before your child starts at TOR, you should arrange to visit, as a school aide or (preferably) as a substitute teacher for a few days, so that you can get a realistic view of just how bad the tone is in the classrooms.


Turn Of River School 5

Posted April 27, 2010
- a student
hmm. Well first of all I am an 8th grader student at Turn of River Middle School. I enjoy school very much. It has it's days when things are just a bore and nothing is really going on, but then it has other days where everything is fun. The teachers are nice, I actually learns things and keep them with me. The principal is great. If you don't get in trouble he can and will be extremely nice to you. But when you're in trouble be aware. In conclusion, this school is great. If you actually try the teachers will acknowledge you. It's fair. this school is 5 starss !!

Turn Of River School 5

Posted February 25, 2010
- a parent
I love this school for my child she enjoys every day of school at turn of river middle school

Turn Of River School 5

Posted May 24, 2009
- a parent
This school is should be rated a 10. Dr. Fernandes, the principal runs this school with a strong hand. He expects a lot from the teachers there and will take nothing less. They are on top of any students that are distracting and they are sure to praise the students who are deserving and everyone in between. As a city, test scores will never come in high like in the surrounding towns, it all depends on what you are looking for with your child.


Turn Of River School 5

Posted December 14, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Turn Of River School 3

Posted January 24, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Turn Of River School 4

Posted January 11, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Turn Of River School 1

Posted May 11, 2007
- a administrator
This review submitted without content.

Turn Of River School 5

Posted February 12, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Turn Of River School
117 Vine Rd, Stamford, CT  06905
(203) 977-4284
Last modified Turn Of River School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Turn Of River School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top