Advertisement
Advertisement

St. James School

Private | PK-8 | 366 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Stratford

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $215,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,410.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 17, 2014

Our family moved to the Stratford area when my son was 2. We took the next couple of years to look at schools and talk to people about the pros and cons of the schools in the area. We settled in Stratford because the public schools were rated pretty high and it was affordable relative to the other areas. Once we started talking to other parents in the area we were told to visit St James and St. Marks. We visited both schools, and both were very nice. The one thing that stuck me the most at St. James, was that each time I went to go through a doorway and there was a student in front of me, that student (male or female) held the door for me. I was very impressed with the fact that the student are taught as a whole person and not just facts and procedures. They emphasis knowledge, respect, caring, family, and faith just to mention some of the high points. We have been at St. James for 3 years now and everyday my son always looks forward to going to school. How shocking is that! That alone says more than I could every say about the school. Do not pass up the opportunity to stop in at an open house, or just make a casual visit to meet some of the people at St James.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2014

Without a doubt sending my children to St .James was the best decision we made. They offer a comforting & secure environment for which our children can blossom and be whatever they want to be. Is it perfect ..no.... but what is?? And that's just find with us ! They have an involved community of parents that after our kids leave the school we will still be friends for years afterwards!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2013

i used to be a student at this school, and I can actually say, without pause that this school has emotionally scarred me for life. The teachers can usually be trusted to not actually teach you a single thing, the school is dirty all the time, and it did not prepare me at all for the strains of high school. I will not name names, but many teachers verbally abused the students, and if you try to ask a higher authority to tell them to stop, they take the teachers side. If you care at all about how your child develops and want them to have a healthy state of mind, do not send them to st james.


Posted September 7, 2013

Ilove the school but wish some teachers got Master's degree.please how can you be a teacher these days without one. Too much discipline. Too many old teachers "who" should retire.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

Both of my children go to this school. I am very happy with it. They show they care for each and every student. The teachers are great and the principal listens to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2013

This school has taught my children unity and love and caring attitudes towards the children . I am very happy with this school and so are my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2010

St. James is the best place my son could ever be...we feel it is an extension of our family. Great, loving people who care about the children's academic, physical, and spiritual growth!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2010

I cannot say enough about St. James School! My children are in a safe, loving environment where they are learning at a pace beyond my expectations. The individual attention provided by the teachers and staff is something that we did not experience in the public schools, and we could not be happier at St. James. The school community is truly one of gracious caring and enthusiasm. This was absolutely the right decision for our family - come take a look - you won't be sorry!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Great teachers , staff .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2006

My son had an amazing academnic/social/spiritual experience at St. James. He was fully prepared to succeeed in High School. He remains close friends with most of his classmates and all of them are succeeding and excelling. Year after year, the names on the High School honor rolls are chock full of graduates. St. James is not a 'drop-off' school. Parents are required to be involved and though tuition goes up each year, there are programs in place so that parents may 'buy down' or reduce their tuition. Paying for St. James was the greatest investment and sacrifice I made for my child. The teachers, parents and students are, with few exceptions, are excellent, caring and committed. You will get what you put into this school and everyone gives 110 percent!
—Submitted by a staff


Posted February 14, 2005

St.James is such a wonderful school for a kid to go to. There are so many great teachers and students. There is a warm glow when you walk into anyone of the classes. I am a seventh grade student and I would know. The teachers are so understanding with you and help you after school. They always tell us how important we are and that we hold some of the secrets to the future Earth life. It makes us feel really loved. When I have a son or daughter, I am definetly sending them to St.James. -Julianne Hefferon
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2004

Well I am a student at St.James and I enjoy it very much. Everyone is so nice and comforting. There are plenty of afterschool activities to go to. Parents really get involved and is a good way for them to socialize. The teachers are fantastic and help you whenever you dont get something or are in trouble. They are always there. I feel so safe in it and happy to be there. Every morning when I come into school, people are greeting me and always smiling. Everyone and everything has such positive enrgy. It makes you feel good and warm inside. I am so happy to at St.James. I would never go to a different school,
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 27, 2004

Wanting to join a 'catholic' school I am disgusted by the phoniness, clicks, and so on. Will greatly be considering public school for next year. Curriculum o.k. but way too much pressure put on the parents both academically and financially. It is simply absurd.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 62%
Black 8% 15%
Hispanic 5% 18%
Asian 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Bridgeport
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Monument Pl
Stratford, CT 06614
Phone: (203) 375-5994

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Phoenix School
Stratford, CT



Franklin School
Stratford, CT



Nichols School
Stratford, CT


Wilcoxson School
Stratford, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT