Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bunnell High School

Public | 9-12 | 1236 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2010

LOVED IT!! GREAT SCHOOL AWESOME TEACHERS GREAT STAFF AND DR ORR AND ADMIN ROCK!! SERIOUSLY THEY DO.. THEY HAVE STRONG DISCIPLINE AND TEACH RIGHT M ORALS
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 1, 2010

The school is not a good working enviorment. Some teachers have low expectation for students. Teachers allow student to slack causing them to not be able to comprehend in the next learning subject.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

I got a great high school experience at Bunnell. It was a positive environment and I felt a lot of support form all the faculty and staff. It's a close knit community that feels like home to all its students.


Posted August 10, 2009

Excellent school. Principal is a great guy who really cares about kids. My son played soccer and the athletic director helped us out with a problem...he went out of his way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

Right now I am a senior at Bunnell I love it here. This school has prepared me to take the next step in my life. I must agree that Bunnell is overcrowded but I learned that if I just go from class to class I have no problem. I have learned that there are so many teachers that really care about you? If I ever had a problem, the administrators are right there to help you, as are the guidance counselors. Bunnell is a safe school, where there are 2 security guards always on duty making sure that things are safe. Bunnell honestly had everything that I would ever want in my high school. I played sports was in clubs, and got to take amazing electives.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2007

Bunnell High School is so overcrowded that the teachers don't remember who they tell what to... My child needs extra help and attention in his studies. Teachers constantly tell my child that they'll give him extra time or help on homework or projects, but, becase they have so many students, they don't remember they've said it and of course, my child suffers the negative repercussions. This school is WAY too overcrowded and if you have a child that needs extra attention, you will not find it at Bunnell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

My oldest son graduated from Bunnell High School in 2003. He is currently attending college working towards a degree in Clinical Research. He was able to take a number of 'Advanced Placement' classes at Bunnell. My second son is a sophomore and my third will attend next year. I see this school as a safe and nurturing environment for my children. A large portion of the teaching staff is 30 years old or younger. I believe this to be a tremendous asset. The kids are able to relate better and the teachers are young and full of ideas and the energy to fulfill them. The staff is caring and the curriculum is one of the best in the state. There are many extra curricular activities to choose from with more being created every year. I am very pleased with the experience and education my children receive at Bunnell High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2006

love the forced integrating of bunnell high. great job, the school is now overcrowded. Now lets try to screw up stratford high. If we cant get an equal amount of races lets import them from neighboring towns and cities. Also when are the teachers going to start teaching, instead of using class time to go over the work that is being sent home for the parents to teach the kids. It seems to me people should be offered tax vouchers so we as parents have the option to home school since that is basicly what we are doing anyway. You educators need to start educating! I will continue doing my job so I can pay taxes so you teachers will be getting your paychecks and benes. Please so your job in school so I dont have to come home and do it for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2004

I think that this school is a good school. it would be better if there wasnt so many students and i could get to class on time. It would be better if the bathrooms didnt smell like smoke all the time. It would be better if we had longer time to get to class with so many students there. I am late a lot to class b/c its hard to travel to and from classroom and lockers. the books are heavy. its a good school b/c we have good teachers who teach well most of them. I think we should get bigger lunches for the money we pay. But i do love that everyone is friendly
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2004

I was supposed to go to another high school, but now that I have gone to Bunnell High School, I believe it is the best high school one can go to.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 89% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female80%
Male85%
Black73%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%

Reading

All Students81%
Female89%
Male73%
Black71%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%

Science

All Students82%
Female81%
Male82%
Black78%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%

Writing

All Students94%
Female98%
Male89%
Black92%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 61%
Hispanic 22% 20%
Black 21% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

One Bulldog Blvd
Stratford, CT 06614
Website: Click here
Phone: (203) 385-4250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Stratford High School
Stratford, CT


Strive
Stratford, CT


Center School
Stratford, CT




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT