Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Stratford, CT
Students enrolled: 537

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Eli Whitney School 5

Posted August 03, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school. Teachers are always friendly and welcoming. Teachers always kept me in the loop with all social and academic progress.

Eli Whitney School 5

Posted August 02, 2014
- a parent
LOVE Eli Whitney!!!! Incredible teachers and staff who are committed to engaging students at all levels!!!


Eli Whitney School 5

Posted October 28, 2010
- a parent
Terrific school and the educational level is excellent. I love that they have started introducing the kindergarter's into an early second language. This is one of the best schools in Stratford. They are moving toward tomorrow by introducing the electronic meal system too..way to go Whitney!

Eli Whitney School 0
no rating

Posted May 12, 2010
- a community member
Great teachers who really care about the kids!

Eli Whitney School 0
no rating

Posted April 15, 2010
- a community member
Whitney is a great school that is a positive learning environment and holds high expectations of its students.


Eli Whitney School 0
no rating

Posted April 13, 2010
- a teacher
Whitney is a great community of students, staff, teachers, and parents! The school is always bursting with excitement!

Eli Whitney School 0
no rating

Posted March 12, 2009
- a parent
5 stars. Fantastic adminstrators and staff. My kids love it. Great teamwork between parents, staff and children.

Eli Whitney School 4

Posted October 20, 2008
- a parent
My son attends. He love going and the teachers are very professional


Eli Whitney School 5

Posted December 06, 2006
- a parent
I have 3 children at this school and can say without hesitation that the staff has been caring and dedicated. Two of my children have learning disabilities; this school has the most Special Ed staff and resources of any school in town, and they have done so much for both of my 'unique' children. To be fair, 'bussed in' children should not be blamed as the source of misbehavior; there are plenty of local kids are in need of extra discipline. Yes, bussing occurs, but many of the behavioral problems are actually diagnosed disorders that occur regardless of where the child lives, and the children attend this school because the resouces there are more readily available. Inclusive classrooms teach students about diversity, tolerance, and compassion. Special events, PTA involvement, Scouting sponsorship, cultural arts programs, and loyal, dedicated staff and parents are the reasons we stay at Eli Whitney

Eli Whitney School 4

Posted November 20, 2006
- a parent
This is one of the better elementary schools in Stratford. I currently have two children in this school. The school seems slightly overwhelmed with children having behavioral issues, many due to the practice of 'bussing' kids in from other Stratford district areas in order to racially balance the schools. The teachers seem to spend more time disciplining than teaching in some instances. It's a great, friendly environment, clean, bright, lots of opportunities in music, arts, etc.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eli Whitney School
1130 Huntington Rd, Stratford, CT  06615
(203) 385-4198
Last modified Eli Whitney School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Eli Whitney School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top