Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Catherine Of Siena School

Private | PK-8 | 240 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Trumbull

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $350,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,470.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 3, 2011

St. Catherine of Siena School is above all a highly academic school. I have had 2 children graduate from there to further their education at a prepatory school. My children were well prepared for the rigorous work of a prepatory school as they were well taught. I currently have one child at St. Catherine's and have thought about transferring to public because of the cost but realized it is worth any sacrifice to give my child this quality education. It is a small school and has that close knit family feel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2010

As a preschool -- don't hate it, but don't love it either. Not the most nurturing preschool environment..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

I transferred my children from another Catholic School in the area over to St. Catherine of Siena in Trumbull, Ct. Best decision my husband and I made. My children couldn't be happier. They wouldn't even consider going back to their other catholic school. St. Catherine of Siena has so much more to offer. Academically it is more challenging. It has a strong Principal leadership and the teachers truly care about their students and go above and beyond. Wonderful extracurricular activities for both boys and girls. WE LOVE St. Catherine of Siena School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2009

St. Catherine of Siena is an excellent school that encourages and supports the academic,spiritual, social and emotional growth of all of it's students. The commitment of the teachers is unparalleled. It is a privilege to belong to such a caring community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2009

My kid did not like this school at all. It is very small .And kids not friendly at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2006

Of all the schools I have ever worked at as a substitute teacher - St. Catherine of Siena is my absolute favorite. The students are bright, kind, respectful, and completely wonderful! The staff goes above and beyond and you can tell that they are genuinely concerned with not only the education of each child, but their overall well-being. I would highly recommend this school to any parent. My fiance and I often discuss our future plans. We definitely want children and we would like to send them to this school. I can't say enough about it!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 23, 2006

St. Catherine of Siena is an excellent school. My kids love it. The discipline is excellent. My kids are so advanced in their learning because of this school. They will have no problem in high school and college because they will be prepared. We now have a beautiful gym, and there are many things the kids can be involved in, whether it is sports or student council, or band. This is a very close-knit school, only one class per grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2004

I went to St. Catherine's until 6th grade and hated it there. There is a=only around 25 kids in each grade and if you're not able to get along with those people it is not fun. I switched to Hillcrest (I am now currently in THS) and i loved it. It really depends on the kid thats going there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 25, 2004

Pleased with the discipline in school and friendliness among the diff. grades...believe too much homework is piled on and teachers don't take into account the games and other things the kids participate in....Wish they had a gym ...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

St.Catherine of Siena is an excellent school. I attended during 1990-1996. I am now 21 years old and attended college I have to say I use more information I learned from Mrs. Schickler than I learned at St.Josephs High School. I plan to send my children there when that time comes.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 61%
Hispanic 6% 20%
Black 3% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Bridgeport
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

190 Shelton Road
Trumbull, CT 06611
Phone: (203) 375-1947

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Booth Hill School
Trumbull, CT



St Mark School
Stratford, CT




Eli Whitney School
Stratford, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT