Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Theresa School

Private | PK-8 | 279 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Trumbull

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $350,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,470.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 7, 2012

My twins attend the preschool full time and LOVE it! They have been in daycare since infants and the dramatic change in their verbal skills, coloring skills, even interaction and pretend play with each other, etc is amazing since they started with Miss Ronnie in Sept!! Best decision we made moving them there! We also moved our 3rd grader to St. Theresa this year and again are thrilled with the changes in her. She is more confident, more challenged and overall happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2012

My 3 kids attended preschool there. The school has changed a lot, not for the best. My first 2 had classes with 7 to 15 students. My 3third child had 40 kids in the class. It's now a day care, not a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2011

My daughter is in the Pre K 4 program at St. Theresa School and she absolutely loves it. I was a bit apprehensive in transitioning her from a smaller private pre k program but from her first day on she has continued to grow in her phonics and ability to grasp new concepts. I am very pleased with her teachers and she is excited to go to school everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2010

I have to tell you that the Pre-K program (Miss Maggie and Miss Ronnie) are fabulous. My daughter comes home with something new and exciting EVERYDAY! Her phonics skills are wonderful. Love it!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2009

My 4 year old son attends St.Theresa and he loves it!! The pre-k program is great and he has learn so much!! I feel we made an excelent choice!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2008

St Theresa was a great back in 2004 but things have changed not for the better. No male teachers in the upper grades. Sorely missed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

The school has gone through three principals in four years. It has constant security problems. There is serious infighting among parents currently going on over the direction of the school. Many children have left for other schools in the past year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2007

My 6 year old talks about love, the Holy Eucharist, the Holy Spirit. Her moral and academic progress is wonderful. When she is with her friends from public school, they are talking about Sponge Bob Squarepants. That says it all. Also, the diverse environment is terrific!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2007

St Theresa is a small school that has much to offer. Not only is Spanish offered from K on, there is advanced math for the 6-8 graders and plentiful academic opportunities. The children participate in science and social studies fairs, spelling bees and various projects throughout the year that stimulate their minds and give them the knowledge and self confidence they will need later on in life. In addition, they are taught the Catholic principles and are exposed to monthly masses where they participate as readers, cantors, alter servers or in other ways. The school class sizes are small and the teachers are able to provide individual attention. Many of the teachers have been at the school for many years and their commitment to the students is unparalleled. There are many extracurricular activities which allow the children to further enhance their individual talents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2007

Have just had my first child graduate from St. Theresa School, after attending there for 11 years. This is a community of families who choose to make the sacrifice to send their child(ren) to a catholic school. Many of these parents are dedicated to volunteering their time and resources to create an optimal learning environment - both academically and spiritually. Our students leave our school with both a strong academic base upon which to build in high school and an extremely well formed moral base upon which to base their life's decisions. I wouldn't send my children anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2007

St. Theresa's is an excellent school. Small class size allows teachers to take an interest in each and every student. Good discipline, good reinforcement of Catholic morals and principles. Advanced math classes for gifted students in 6th, 7th and 8th grades. My sons have all scored very high on standardized testing and have attended this school since pre-school. Warm, friendly community of parents. Lots of opportunities for parents to volunteer and participate in the school. Strong extracurricular basketball program for both boys and girls. Oldest son was well-prepared for Catholic high school entrance exams and received scholarships based on his performance on these tests. I wouldn't send my children anywhere else. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2006

Poorly run, terribly disorganized. Classes are too large, particularly in the younger grades, so children get lost early. Information on school activities is disseminated late, if at all, making parent involvement difficult, except for a small clique of mothers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2004

Wonderful learning enviorment. Supportive, caring and nurturing. Innovative teaching using technology.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 61%
Black 2% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 20%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Bridgeport
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

55 Rosemond Terrace
Trumbull, CT 06611
Phone: (203) 268-3236

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Middlebrook School
Trumbull, CT


Jane Ryan School
Trumbull, CT




Winthrop School
Bridgeport, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT