Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Trumbull High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2014

My son graduated from Trumbull High, Trumbull High had him well prepared for college and becuase of that he has done well
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2014

Trumbull High is a 5 star school. I had three kids graduate from there - each went on to a successful collegiate experience and, the two that have already graduated have succeeded in acquiring exceptional employment. All three of my children said the same thing to me, "My senior year at Trumbull High was the best year of my life." Of course, since then, they've had many wonderful years and I'm delighted that they started in Trumbull.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2013

This school is terrible. My son was in Algebra I math class last year. He was told by his teacher, if he got an A average in the class and nothing less than an A- on each of the tests, then he would be in the honors Algebra II class. He did his part, he worked very hard, studied and got the A's. He had checked back in with the head of the math department half way through the year, and they confirmed he would be in the honors Algebra II class if he kept up his grades through year end. The school broke their promise. They told him the honors class was full after he got his final grade of an A (and all A- or above on tests throughout the year). My son worked hard, getting A's all through the year. Trumbull High School math department has an obligation to put him in the Honors Algebra II, but they made excuses. instead they then told him he would have to take yet ANOTHER test, and if he got an A on that..... This also effected his honors chemistry class he was registered in, his science teacher put him in honors chemistry, but the Trumbull school pulled him saying he had to be registered in honors Algebra II. THIS SCHOOL IS TERRIBLE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2013

I can't tell you how much i love trumbull high. Every single school is going to have it's flaws, and we're blessed that the flaws we do have are so minor.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 8, 2012

The school is rated "Great" according to its CAPT scores! That explains why the administration of the High School as well as the Board of Education do their best to ignore the myriad of serious issues the school faces. Anyone who has not sipped the Kool Aid knows that THS is mediocre at best for anyone other than the top 30 or so students per grade. The curriculum is not available to the public--why?, the faculty is inconsistent (except for those teaching the AP courses) in their overall quality and their professionalism, the facilities are poor given the amount of taxes the town collects, the sports programs are pay-to-play and the funds are so unevenly distributed as to discourage a critical-thinking student's participation, and the town politics regarding education are embarrassing to any of those people who are "life-long learners" or "critical thinkers", which THS purports to create. Recommendation: All new THS administration (and BOE for that matter) replace about 1/2 of the teachers, and write a curriculum that reaches beyond the meager goals of high CAPT scores and a handful of highly-ranked college/university acceptances per year. THS earns, at best, a C-.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 7, 2010

I am the parent of two boys at trumbull high. I am thrilled with the education, courses available and the sports program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2009

I am currently a senior at the school and although the school has many flaws, i wouldn't be the person i am without haveing atteneded this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2009

I graduated last year and honestly it's a great school for academics. like ANY OTHER high school it's not perfect and teachers in any high school will play favoritism, if you pay attention and go to class you will learn a lot and there are some fantastic teachers at THS as well. And to the freshman student, you still have three years left things will change A LOT..trust me on that.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2008

While the physicality of the school might not be up to date like Staples or other public schools, Trumbull High School has great teachers. I feel as if I was challenged more in high school than I am in college. Yes I'm being challenged more in college in terms of knowledge but my teachers in high school gave me the knowledge I needed plus real life advice and in particular cases, added wisdom to life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 17, 2008

This school is a horrible school and I encourage all of those wanting to go to this school to reconsider. I am a Freshman student at THS and scored a 1200 on my SATs this year. This school has done nothing to encourage me academically and discouraged me from succeeding. I am in all honors classes and I can personally say that the teachers are horrible. The play favorites too often and the tests are designed for one not to succeed. They also do not caare about the individual only how high the group can score on the CAPT test.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2007

Trumbull High is a good school academically, however, as a student from THS, that is the only thing that is good about the school. The students don't even have school spirit. We had to cancel our homecoming dance because we couldn't get enough people to go. Most of the students smoke, in or out of school. When it rains the ceilings often leak, and janitors have to wheel trashcans into the middle of the hallway to catch the raindrops. Once I saw a piece of the ceiling that actually came apart and fell down.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2007

Trumbull High School is a good school. The music program is one of the best in the country. My daughter was in the band for her first two years. Violence is at a minimum, but culture acceptance as you can see first hand, from one of the previous parents is not. Trumbull needs to move forward and start accepting diversity. This is indeed a huge problem that needs to be recognized. And again, it comes from parents like that. Jersey should have done their research before they invested in a measley $11,000 a year. They should move to Darien, where I moved from. The taxes will be a heck of a lot more, but you won't have issues with lower level students being bussed from other towns. (as they stated) I'm sure that they received a better education from Joysee. Perhaps Trenton??
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2006

THS, like any school has strong and weak points; however, for students who seek academic excellence, it is available. Trumbull HS has an excellent selection of AP and Honors classes for those who are willing to put in the work. Like all schools, there are many excellent teachers and some who are less than excellent. Extracurricular activities include numerous sports, clubs, music, etc. Students, however, must take initiative in order to take advantage of the opportunities. Some of the outstanding opportunities at THS include working on the THS nationally-recognized yearbook, participation in the nationally-recognized 'We the People' team, participation in the excellent choir (two years in a row at Carnegie Hall) and marching band (award winning), a wonderful selection of sports teams, and other activities, too numerous to mention. Students who don't take advantage of at least some of these opportunities have truly missed out in maximizing their high school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2005

I hate to say but Im also very disappointed. Having moved to CT from NJ I expected alot more.Im considering pulling my children out and sending them to private schools.They are miserable there.Its too crowded due to children being bussed in from towns of lower means,which I find very disturbing since I pay over 11,000.00 a year in property taxes one would think the town would have a better high school. It cant compare by far to the school they went to in NJ where EVERY student had their own laptop.(yes a public school ,and I paid lower taxes)Here they cant even keep mouses on the computers without them getting stolen.Im very dissapointed and wished I had moved elsewhere in Fairfield county. I have to agree with the other parent about the teachers.Ive had 2 similar experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2004

i feel this school is much of a disappointment to me, my child puts much effort into her work and these teachers (not saying all of them) are using much favoritism on most of the work, i check my childs work each and ever day and if this is how it is id rather pay good money for teachers to help my child not humor them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2004

This is a great school. There are a lot of activities for kids to do. They also have a very good education program.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

524 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

518 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

525 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 89% in 2013.

523 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female94%
Male92%
Black83%
Asian American97%
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%

Reading

All Students94%
Female96%
Male91%
Black93%
Asian American95%
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities57%
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%

Science

All Students97%
Female99%
Male96%
Black97%
Asian American100%
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities70%
Students without disabilities99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%

Writing

All Students98%
Female100%
Male96%
Black93%
Asian American100%
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities70%
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 61%
Hispanic 7% 20%
Black 6% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

72 Strobel Rd
Trumbull, CT 06611
Phone: (203) 452-4555

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT