Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Trumbull, CT
Students enrolled: 2,185

3 stars
Based on 31 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


32 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Trumbull High School 3

Posted December 04, 2014
- a parent
Trumbull HIgh is a very large school that offers an amazing number of activities; drama, athletics, marching band and clubs. It's a perfect school for those who are confident and assertive. It will be a LONELY 4 years if you go in with few friends and are shy and don't make yourself participate in after school activities. Participating is the only way of making close friends since the school is so large. Academically i have no complaints. My daughter is in honors and AP classes and has great teachers. She had an issues in a couple of classes and my emails were answered immediately. Her guidance counselor was also very responsive. A rating of 5 would be in order if you are basing it only on test scores.. I rate it a 3 since this school is definitely not for everyone and there is a certain lack of that community feel due to its size.
1 person found this helpful

Trumbull High School 1

Posted October 27, 2014
- a community member
honestly id give this school 0 stars..i was there for 4 years and hated every minute from the second i walked in to the day of graduation. horrible school and teachers dont care and favortism and racisum is a big problem in this school i cant say I liked anything because i jus didnt...i wouldent rcommend anyone to go to this school. WORST SCHOOL EVER, IT RUINED MY HIGH SCHOOL EXPERIENCE!


Trumbull High School 5

Posted April 22, 2014
- a parent
My son graduated from Trumbull High, Trumbull High had him well prepared for college and becuase of that he has done well

Trumbull High School 5

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
Trumbull High is a 5 star school. I had three kids graduate from there - each went on to a successful collegiate experience and, the two that have already graduated have succeeded in acquiring exceptional employment. All three of my children said the same thing to me, "My senior year at Trumbull High was the best year of my life." Of course, since then, they've had many wonderful years and I'm delighted that they started in Trumbull.

Trumbull High School 1

Posted August 31, 2013
- a parent
This school is terrible. My son was in Algebra I math class last year. He was told by his teacher, if he got an A average in the class and nothing less than an A- on each of the tests, then he would be in the honors Algebra II class. He did his part, he worked very hard, studied and got the A's. He had checked back in with the head of the math department half way through the year, and they confirmed he would be in the honors Algebra II class if he kept up his grades through year end. The school broke their promise. They told him the honors class was full after he got his final grade of an A (and all A- or above on tests throughout the year). My son worked hard, getting A's all through the year. Trumbull High School math department has an obligation to put him in the Honors Algebra II, but they made excuses. instead they then told him he would have to take yet ANOTHER test, and if he got an A on that..... This also effected his honors chemistry class he was registered in, his science teacher put him in honors chemistry, but the Trumbull school pulled him saying he had to be registered in honors Algebra II. THIS SCHOOL IS TERRIBLE.


Trumbull High School 5

Posted June 28, 2013
- a student
I can't tell you how much i love trumbull high. Every single school is going to have it's flaws, and we're blessed that the flaws we do have are so minor.

Trumbull High School 3

Posted April 08, 2012
- a teacher
The school is rated "Great" according to its CAPT scores! That explains why the administration of the High School as well as the Board of Education do their best to ignore the myriad of serious issues the school faces. Anyone who has not sipped the Kool Aid knows that THS is mediocre at best for anyone other than the top 30 or so students per grade. The curriculum is not available to the public--why?, the faculty is inconsistent (except for those teaching the AP courses) in their overall quality and their professionalism, the facilities are poor given the amount of taxes the town collects, the sports programs are pay-to-play and the funds are so unevenly distributed as to discourage a critical-thinking student's participation, and the town politics regarding education are embarrassing to any of those people who are "life-long learners" or "critical thinkers", which THS purports to create. Recommendation: All new THS administration (and BOE for that matter) replace about 1/2 of the teachers, and write a curriculum that reaches beyond the meager goals of high CAPT scores and a handful of highly-ranked college/university acceptances per year. THS earns, at best, a C-.

Trumbull High School 0
no rating

Posted March 07, 2010
- a parent
I am the parent of two boys at trumbull high. I am thrilled with the education, courses available and the sports program.


Trumbull High School 3

Posted February 20, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Trumbull High School 5

Posted November 29, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Trumbull High School
72 Strobel Rd, Trumbull, CT  06611
(203) 452-4555
Last modified Trumbull High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Trumbull High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top