Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-12|Private
380 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Saint Bernard High School 1

Posted March 02, 2016
- a community member
The Girl's Basketball team visited a school outside their conference for a playoff game. They were swearing on the court, faking being fouled, and most refused to hi-5 the other team at the end. One girl then went to the opposing coach to complain his team didn't hi-5! Then the St Bernard team posted insults on line about the school they had just defeated. This rude behavior is uncalled for from any high school team, but ESPECIALLY unacceptable from a Catholic school. All that tuition paid could have been put to better use somewhere else in the community.

Saint Bernard High School 5

Posted October 24, 2015
- a parent
Saint Bernard has done a great job of preparing my three children for college. The two older children received multiple scholarships for college. Both graduated from college last year and found great jobs upon graduation. My youngest is a senior at Saint Bernard and is very involved in every facet of the school. The math dept has been revamped and now offers college level math thru differential equations.


Saint Bernard High School 5

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
Why choose St. Bernard? To put it simply - St. Bernard educates the whole of the person - mind, body and soul. Small class sizes. Rigorous academic standards at every level (core, honors and AP). Caring, knowledgeable teachers. A warm, welcoming, family atmosphere rooted in core values. Updated technology. The newly-formed partnership with Marist College that affords both students and teachers opportunities to grow and learn. Standardized test scores (SAT, ACT, and AP exams) that are consistently better than the Connecticut and National averages. An unmatched record of college acceptances and scholarships given to graduates (the 56 member class of 2014 earned over $4 million in scholarship money). But most important of all is that my daughter is happy and thriving as a student, an athlete, an artist and a young adult.

Saint Bernard High School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
From the moment Mr. Macrino stepped onto the SBS campus, he has changed the entire culture of the school for the better. School pride is back from the students to the parents to the staff. He has set the goal of SBS being the premier secondary school in the area and is leading a committed family (students, staff, parents, alumni and supporters) that is well on the way to achieving that.

Saint Bernard High School 5

Posted September 05, 2015
- a parent
My kids attended a good public school in CT, but after starting at St. Bernard they noticed that the academics are more rigorous. They have quizes and frequent test that provide them with good feedback on their learning. They can take advanced classes if they want and are able to learn at a faster pace. They have books yet they can use computers too. This year they have updated their technology department and they are starting computer lessons as a separate subject. They foster a friendly atmosphere and discourage bullying. And most importantly they do listen to the parents and address their requests appropriately. It is an excellent program for kids that are not challenged enough in the public system.


Saint Bernard High School 5

Posted March 15, 2015
- a parent
I am a parent of two children currently at St. Bernard's High School. It has without a doubt been preparing them extreme;y well academically for the competitive environment of college. I could not be more pleased with what this school has to offer and how it continually preforms. St. Bernard's consistently has had not only high graduation rates rates (97%), but extraordinary scholarship dollars offered to their graduates from various universities. That amount can be staggering. Over $5,000,000 for the senior class in 2012 which is astounding for its size. Well worth the amount of tuition we pay. We look at it as a very good investment in our children's future which will surely be paid back many fold.

Saint Bernard High School 1

Posted August 20, 2014
- a community member
SBS is by far the worst school in the area. It has teachers there that are not even trained educators or certified and don't even care since they walk out the door often times within minutes of the students. The teachers are inferior in the academic standards required for excellence. Having been a student there that attended for 7 years through the horrible Academy (6-8) and then High School I can speak from direct experience. Poor course selections that limited my academic experience overall. I made High Honors at SBS and sometimes just honors (twice) but I dropped out of college since I feel that I was constantly not prepared for the challenge of college level courses. I was always disappointed my first year of college and would constantly tell my parents that I wasn't prepared for college and St. Bernard did not properly prepare me both socially, academically. I attended St. Bernard with kids that were "kicked out" of other schools or struggled in other area high schools and their parents or grandparents decided to send them to St. Bernard since they take anyone with drug issues or other. 52 kids in a class is not a great experience for anyone preparing for a college.

Saint Bernard High School 1

Posted August 08, 2014
- a community member
I am a graduate of Saint Bernard. Unlike other reviewers, I contend that the academics at Saint Bernard were at best subpar, and at worst simply terrible. The lack of advanced classes is very worrisome - the school when I attended lacked many AP classes, including (some highlights, many more than the following list): AP Physics, AP Computer Science, AP Calculus BC , AP Statistics, AP Economics, and AP Music Theory. The teaching in existing classes wildly varies. There are some excellent teachers (though more and more are retiring each year), however there are at least as many, if not more, awful teachers who honestly cannot teach and leave students with inadequate knowledge. Furthermore, all classes generally teach to the bottom group of students; advanced students will, even in the most advanced classes, find themselves hopelessly bored. Honestly, I would not have been prepared for college had it not been for my own reading and preparation. At best, perhaps I could have been a mediocre student; but, one should never aim for mediocrity, especially at the cost of $10,000 a year. If you want an academically fulfilling experience, find a good private school that can provide that.


Saint Bernard High School 5

Posted October 28, 2010
- a community member
From a 2010 graduate. SBS provides unequaled academics and nurtures core values which promote lives of leadership and service to others . With small classes and committed and caring teachers, students are part of a "family" environment which encourages each of us to reach our individual potential. Not only do Saint Bernard graduates continue their educations at some of the nation's finest colleges, we leave prepared for success as students and leaders in our communities.

Saint Bernard High School 5

Posted June 18, 2007
- a student
I graduated from SBHS in 2004. I am now a student a History Major, Business Studies Minor and in the Pre-Law Program at Providence College in RI. Truly, the caring teachers and excellent educational experience I receivced from SBHS is why I am where I am today.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Saint Bernard High School
1593 Norwich New London Turnpike, Uncasville, CT  06382
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (860) 848-1271
Last modified Saint Bernard High School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Top