Advertisement
Advertisement

High Road Student Learning Center

Private | K-8 | 51 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Wallingford

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $214,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,160.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 17, 2010

My daughter is now in her third year at High Road. She is thriving here. I can't imagine her going anywhere else. The school is in constant comunication with us. I consider them part of our family. I believe everyone on staf there loves the students as if they were there own. My daughter has achieved more than I could have ever imagined, I now believe her potential is unlimited. I highly reccomend this program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

Our experience so far with High Road has been awful. Communication is almost nonexistent, and when there is any, it's written in chicken scratch. The academic side of the school is a joke. Homework packets sent home for the month have no connection with what is being taught in class. The packets are also well below grade level. Punishment is a bit extreme for my tastes, and we were lied to about how the program is run. As soon as we can remove our child from the school, we will.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

I found this school helpful to me in all ways. I couldn't say enough about how many friends I made there and how much I enjoyed coming to school everyday there. The staff cared about all students and could give each student the amount of time that each student needed per day. I would recommend this school to any student that is eligable to go there because it made a difference in my life. thank you High Road student learning Center
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2009

Highroad student learning center is a wonderful school. My daughter has thrived at this school. They have made more progress with her than any place else. My husband and i are so happy she goes here and we recomend it to all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2006

I cannot say enough good things about this school. The staff is exceptional. They are helpful, understanding, compassionate, and appreciative of all parental input. As a parent, you can be as involved as your comfort level allows, and when you give insights and suggestions, they are taken seriously and not brushed off. Difficult behavior problems are dealt with in a therapeutic manner, & teaching continues as soon as it's over without lingering animosity from the staff. My son has been there 5 months & has made more academic progress than in 2 years of public school, and at the same time he is learning how to deal with his intense frustrations appropriately. Multi-level incentives for progressing & maintaining appropriate behavior are plentiful & highly motivating for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2005

High Road Learning Center is a therapeutic day school. There is both a lower and an upper (gr. 7-12) school. Our daughter has been there only 6 months, but it has been a great relief to have a school that did not take her struggles as an inconvenience, but rather just part of the landscape of providing her with an education. As a 16 year old, she seems to be one of the few children who is 'on level'--doing school work on target for high school graduation after 12 years of public school. Many of her classmates have much greater difficulty doing the schoolwork, but the teachers also understand when her emotional struggles limit what she is able to learn. Extracurricular activities are limited, but arrangements can be made so that the student participates in his/her own district's sports teams. The school encourages parent involvement, but distance can discourage it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Two or more races 57% N/A
Black 24% 15%
White 20% 62%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 18%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • CEC

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

29 Village Lane
Wallingford, CT 06492
Phone: (203) 284-0441

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Cook Hill School
Wallingford, CT


Parker Farms School
Wallingford, CT


Heritage Baptist Academy
Wallingford, CT


Moses Y. Beach School
Wallingford, CT


Norton School
Cheshire, CT


Holy Trinity School
Wallingford, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT