Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lyman Hall High School

Public | 9-12 | 1144 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 11, 2013

As a senior, I'd have to say the school's alright. It was better years ago and honestly it's just gotten worse over time. There are some really great teachers who have made a huge impact on my life but then there are the majority, who did not better my education whatsoever. Most complain about the "higher ups" constantly and don't being their 100% effort. It's hard to learn when you know your teacher doesn't even want to be there... It's pretty sad actually. I don't regret the friends I've made, but I wish I got a better education. Even taking AP classes and honors all these years, I still feel like they did not prepare me for life or college. Everyone I've talked to about this feels the same way too. As a student who's gone through this himself, I suggest looking into sending your child to a different school. It might seem great at first, but once the months go on you'll realize your student will learn more elsewhere...


Posted November 10, 2013

The school isn't accepting of Hispanics or blacks. Daughter was miserable so I took her out and put her in platt.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2012

I am about to be a sophomore in LHHS, and so far it's pretty ok. I didn't really like how last year went not because of the classes, but because of the students there. I am pretty shy and bad at making friends, and some of the students there are really mean and foolish while others can be really friendly. I've made a few friends and acquaintances, and I hope to make more. I do alright academically. I did a bit better than I did while I was in middle school, and I really liked the teachers I had last year. One thing that I am happy about is that the school has a Latin course that I'm taking right now and I feel proud of myself for it. I had to give this 3 stars because of the mean students and my isolation and the ok classes the school has.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 29, 2011

I went to this School for my freshman year. And I loved it! I wish I could go back, but we moved:( It's a very diverse group of people at this school, very open and friendly. Students receive a lot of freedom, (which can be a good or bad thing depending on the student) Overall I liked almost all of my teachers, except one. Overall, it's a very unusual high school, on Halloween EVERYONE dressed up and The Vo-ag department had a 'vo-ag' week, there were animals everywhere! which made school a lot more interesting. lol My only complaint is that receiving help for special needs students is a bit of a process and takes way too long (If you weren't using services at your last school). But, when I was finally recorded as needing Special Ed services, I found it to be very helpful. My assisted study hall teacher was very friendly and non-judgmental.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 2, 2011

As a former student who graduated from Lyman Hall last year and must say it is a very good place to receive a high school education. Of course some of the teachers weren't necessarily the best or brought their best effort everyday but nearly 95% of the faculty and staff at Lyman Hall are very knowledgeable and enjoy working with students for them to achieve their academic and personal best. Thanks to LH I am now at a great University, where I am doing very well and I am very happy none of that would have been possible with out LH, so I will always be thankful for what LH taught in the classroom and about Life through a multitude of extracurricular activities... I would recommend this school!


Posted February 16, 2010

I am a Freshman at LHHS and I am in the Vo-Ag program. I love it! It is a terrific school and now we have a new Vo-Ag building to use, it is simply wonderful! :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 2, 2010

The school has an excellent History, English,and language department. The elective courses are amazing but the science department is beyond horrible and the math department is lacking. Discipline is also lacking mostly because the teachers don't report trouble makers in the class. To avoid a distracting class honors and A.P classes are the way to go. The higher level classes are filled with the kids who want to learn and are likely to motivate those round them to learn. Lyman Hall is the kind of school that doesn't build you future for you. The student is given the tools and he or she must find out for themselves how to use them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2008

i go to lyman hall, the teachers are very talented at what they do but the school could use a fix
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2008

My daughter is a Junior at Lyman Hall and loves it. She is on the High Honor Roll year after year and had the privilege of being selected to attend a five week summer program at Choate on a scholarship. If I have any issue's with a teacher, I email or call and get a response right away. They same is with the guidance councilors. They have put much money into the school by adding a whole new wing and I hear in the up coming year, will be doing more. When I went to the VoAg Fair, I was very impressed to see the involvement of all the students. My daughter was out of District and had to apply for it. She was so happy with it, she convinced her sister to apply, and she will be starting next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2007

My daughter is a senior at LHHS in the Vo-Ag program. Vo-Ag has given her countless opportunities to prepare herself well for college. She went to LHHS with a learning disability and is now making high honors. I have to give her credit for being conscientious enough to follow through on her work, but I can't discount the involvement of the staff who have aided her efforts to compensate for her problems and even rise above them! I can't say enough good things about LHHS, from the caring staff to the extra-cirricular activities that have been available for fun and learning. I just want to be sure that LHHS gets a fair shake. Let's face it - many kids are only at school because they have to go. It's too bad that some kids don't even end up learning that you don't deserve to get back more than you put in!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2006

Guidance is unhelpful and the extracurriculars were not good. There was barely any parental involvement and the safety and discipline was obviosly out of control. I wouldnt recommend this school to anybody. I am sorry I sent my child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2006

I graduated this year from Lyman Hall. I came to LHHS in the beginning of my junior year. This was the biggest mistake of my life. The teachers are cocky and assume that since the 'discussed' a subject that you should have an in-depth knowledge of the matter. They hardly ever are available to stay after and tutor and they bully just as bad as the students. The students only care about standing around gossiping. The only positvie thing i have to say about this school is the food service program. Without it, I would have transfered out as soon as I could. And I truly believe I gave this school a chance. I was active in many activities but was still unhappy.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 18, 2006

I am currently a junior at LHHS and I'd liek to say its a wonderful school. People are fueled more by disgust than happiness; therefore, it is only reasonable to have more negative reviews than positive. Just because a few kids have have bad experiences (probably due to their own issues) does NOT make the school bad. I certaintly don't enjoy waking up early and trudging into school, but in all honesty, Lyman Hall is not a bad place to be. Of course there is going to be some sub-par teachers, but for the most part, the school is overflowing with both excelling programs and intelligent, dedicated teachers. The cosmetics and glory of Lyman Hall are anything but desirable, but the purpose of school is to educate, and one will receive a fine education with a welcoming student body and professional staff at Lyman Hall.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 20, 2006

I loved Lyman Hall. Maybe if you guys had stuck it out for a few more years instead of throwing in the towel, you would of seen what a great school it is. I have graduated from there, and am currently a freshman at a great college. I felt prepared coming out of their. Their AP program is great, and the English department is amazing. They taught me how to write! There is no drug problem that I could see, and the school has so much spirit. It definitely cares about academics!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 27, 2006

I graduated from Lyman Hall 2 years ago, and as a person who enrolled in the school for all four years, i can honestly say that it is a good school. On the contrary to what most have said, the vo-ag program is incredibly in-depth, and in fact, you learn more there than in any other class. All the teachers are there for many hours after school and are always available for extra help. The administrators are also very helpful. For thoes of you who complain about the incompetancy of a school or program should really attend for more than 1/2 a semester before writing a poor review.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2005

Lyman Hall is a horrible school. My daughter went there for freshman year and begged to be transferred over the Winter Break. I told her to 'stick it out' because she might learn to like it. This was a big mistake. She came home miserable from school because she was so unhappy. The school overall was a big diappointment, especially the VoAg program. There is nothing that she learned in the VoAg program that she couldnt learn by reading a book. The teachers were never willing to stay after and help her and the guidance councelors were unhelpful. The students have no respect for the teachers and the principal and assistant principals never take things seriously. Lyman Hall had countless bomb scares last year and my daughter was scared to go to school. If you care about the well being of your child, Lyman Hall is not the place for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2005

I am currently a Sophmore, but not at Lyman Hall. I transferred after Freshman year. Lyman Hall was very disappointing. The VoAg program was very disappointing as well as the clubs/extracurriculars. The classes were all very weak at best. The students have absolutely no priveleges. I believe that when a school gives their students priveleges the students are much happier, making grades and the school overall improve. The school needs to be a little more careful with the budget also. Last year they had a budget cut 2 months after school started. Lyman Hall has a serious drug problem and I didnt want to become caught up in that so I left. Lyman Hall Has horrible teachers that spend no extra time with the students if they have a problem. I would highly recommend a different school if you want the best school for you or your child.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 6, 2005

I am currently a freshman at Lyman Hall and I must say that I am extremely disappointed with the school. The Science, Math, VoAg, & English Depts. are all very weak at best. The school has a strong Social Studies dept. as well as the World Language Dept. The Principal, Asst. Principal, and The Guidance Dept. are very disappointing. They have a good music dept. and good sports teams but I feel that academics are the most important part of school and any parent that wants their child to have the best education possible I would highly reccommend a different high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2003

I have 3 teens at Lyman Hall. I would like to see the town of Wallingford offer more options for children with social issues. Not every child can fit into the public school system and be successful. I do think that the teachers and administrators do what they can to improve the system but we need something better for the children who are not able to cope with the larger school environment. I don't mean that we should just ship them out of town. For too long, Wallingford's answer to children with special needs is to ship them automatically to out-of-town schools or facilities. This was a good idea and came from the best intentions, I'm sure. In the long run, I believe this has almost backfired with these children. Yes, some may need to be in an out-of-town facility, but wouldn't it be cheaper to have a place for these children, right in Wallingford? Some children and even some adults cannot handle a bigger school environment. Some need a smaller class setting with few distractions. If we truly want all of the children to be successful then we must consider this option. After all, it would be cheaper to provide this environment now to give these children a fighting chance in the workplace, than to give them half a chance and hope they do okay. Any child that is given the best possible environment to learn in will be a much more productive adult.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2012.

248 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
50%

2009

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2012.

249 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
45%

2009

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2012.

251 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
49%

2009

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 63% in 2012.

254 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
59%

2009

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CAPT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students56%
Female55%
Male57%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities15%
Students without disabilities60%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English57%

Reading

All Students63%
Female72%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities27%
Students without disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English64%

Science

All Students55%
Female51%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities10%
Students without disabilities60%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English56%

Writing

All Students71%
Female76%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities26%
Students without disabilities78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CAPT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 62%
Hispanic 12% 19%
Asian 3% 4%
Black 3% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

70 Pond Hill Rd
Wallingford, CT 06492
Phone: (203) 294-5350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Heritage Baptist Academy
Wallingford, CT


Choate Rosemary Hall
Wallingford, CT


A.R.T.S. Academy
Wallingford, CT


Village School
North Haven, CT


Benhaven School
Wallingford, CT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT