Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Rumsey Hall School

Private | K-9 | 304 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Washington Depot

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $874,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,063.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 27, 2014

Este Colegio es excelente!) Provee a los estudiantes con ambiente de amor, disciplina y alegria. Un sentido de familia y de excelencia academica. El programa deportivo es exigente y de alto nivel. Los profesores son amigables pero disciplinados.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 3, 2012

Amazing school! I have a child with ADD, and school has always been tough for him. But, this year we decided to send him here. Such an improvement! They offer great structure for him and help him shape who he wants to be. Also, the athletic and arts programs are amazing. He has become very confident in himself, making varsity sports and doing much better in school. Thank you Rumsey Hall!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2011

Rumsey Hall School is an absolutely amazing place. The students, teachers, and faculty all support each other and help them to be their best. Teachers will go completely out of their way to help a student and expect nothing in return. My confidence has grown tremendously from my experience at Rumsey. Coming here was the best thing I could have ever done. As my acceptance letter stated, Rumsey really is a family- a family I know I will always be a part of. Now going on to a boarding school for grade 10-12 I know I will be fully prepared. Anyone looking for a great junior boarding school be sure to consider Rumsey first!! Recent Alumni


Posted June 18, 2010

My family used to love this school. But after my children graduated, we found that they were unprepared for highschool. My kids lost so much of their ill-founded confidence. In retrospect, the school seems insular in that the leaders and teachers don't explore the skills kids need to succeed in high school. What a disappointment. Buyer beware.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2010

Pardon me! I will rate this school a TEN STAR SCHOOL out of a possible FIVE!! Am I breaking the law here? Some smartie will ask, as if to put me on the defensive,.........'wherein lies your Proof?' Excuse me, do you really want to know? Then I call on my star witness and special exhibit, Mr. Uzodinma Ndukwe!!! Some critic will ask: is he not just an embodiment of your genes? Folks, this is where I come in. Gene expression is one thing, but nurturing the mind so that those genes can be expressed is an invaluable attribute that only a School like Rumsey Hall can provide. The quiet environment, the high level of dicipline and drive to achieve inculcated in its students, its challenging curricula, its formidable staff, its excellent extracuricular activities and a host of other good things make Rumsey Hall School the best choice. Congratulation Rumsey Hall!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

This school is amazing, the students, the faculty and it's community are all there to support one another. The effort list every tuesday mornings gives students the confidence and assurance that they are doing well. My son had a terrific experience at Rumsey Hall and became a responsible, organized successful student. Rumsey gave him the tools he needed to adjust to a boarding school environment for 10-12 grade. Rumsey will always hold a place in the hearts of our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2004

As an alumni of the school I expected it to be in many ways the same for my children as it was for me. It was not only as good but in many ways so much better than I had imagined. My children (ages 12 and 7 )have blossemed in ways I could never have hoped for. Their growth is due to the support and encouragement of the faculty. The treasure of the school is the headmaster Mr. Farmen whose influence creates a spirit of trust and curiousity that is as unique in any learning environment.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 27, 2004

A great, warm environment where the children are taught honesty, kindness and respect along with their subjects. The faculty and staff are amazing, high energy, interesting individuals. The student body is made up of different races, nationalities and religions (especially in the upper school), it's a great exposure! Our oldest is in 7th grade and has been there since K. Middle child is in 5th and little one in 2nd. They love, we love. When there have been problems or controvery, I've been listened to by the head master or appropriate teacher. I wish the dining service would nix the fried dough pizza option (every month or so, it's served). But that would be our only complaint!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 62%
Asian 21% N/A
Two or more races 4% N/A
Black 2% 15%
Hispanic 1% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

201 Romford Rd
Washington Depot, CT 06794
Phone: (860) 868-0535

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Glenholme School
Washington, CT


Washington Primary School
Washington Depot, CT






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT