Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Washington Montessori School

Private | PK-8 | 241 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Washington

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $470,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,063.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

They are greatly understaffed and not qualified to deal with anything that veers away from the Montessori "method." They rent the library to homeschool kids during the day to make money. They tend to play favorites with families that make large donations. We pulled our children after 1 year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2013

The most meaningful education I've ever seen in action. Students of all ages are taught to be responsible, independent, and respectful. And how to think deeply and problem solve and create. Brilliantly well done and rigorous. Many secondary school teachers and administrators say they love WMS alums.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2012

Great education, some good teachers, but they need to make a point of addressing issues. If a child is having a problem with a teacher or another classmate, do not just sweep it under the rug. Over all, it's a good school.


Posted January 23, 2012

As the parent of two current students, I feel compelled to provide a balancing review to those already included. The school's strengths are a committed group of parents who are active and involved making the community a vibrant one, teachers who generally are dedicated and have the children's best interests at heart and the Montessori orientation of the education. Unfortunately, those strengths are offset by an entrenched administration whose primary motivation in making decisions, either academic or otherwise, appears to be placating large donors. Rather sad considering the small size of the school. The school would benefit tremendously if the current head of school would retire and be replaced with fresh blood more committed to the child-centric model of education that it espouses so publicly. The school could become the rarified place described in other reviews, but it is not at present.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2008

Washington Montessori School [WMS] has been our children's educational guiding light since they were pre-2 years old, and we hope will continue to be so through 8th grade graduation. Thanks to the WMS influence, our kids understand respect for everyone and exercise their independence in a constructive manner. They're developing their whole brains (not just the left side, as we were forced to do as children stuck behind desks). We have met a number of wonderful WMS graduates (as adults) and they all reflect fondly on their WMS education as the foundation that helped launch their lives as productive, compassionate, and yes, intelligent individuals. I just know I am doing my children the biggest favor of their lives by enrolling them in Washington Montessori School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2007

WMS is a very special school and a wonderful community in which the children are valued as individuals. The academics are superb. Though the Montessori method isn't for children who need someone standing over them to be sure they do their work. Wonderful music programs. Tremendous parent involvement. Brand new building.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2005

WMS is a wonderful school. My only regret is that this is my final year. I have attended this school since before kindergarten and I still love it as much as I used to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2004

Both my children have been attending WMS since they were two; I wouldn't think of sending them anywhere else. The teachers stimulate their minds, and teach them to think `out of the box'. When my oldest son was 4 they recognized that there was a learning disability, and their early intervention has given him the opportunity to bring his reading levels up to grade. I fear that if he had been in the public school they would not have intervened until he failed, which is to late.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2003

There's no where else I want my child to be. I only wish my first two could have attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 61%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Black 3% 13%
Hispanic 2% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

240 Litchfield Turnpike
Washington, CT 06777
Phone: (860) 868-0551

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Washington Primary School
Washington Depot, CT




Rumsey Hall School
Washington, CT




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT