Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of Mount Carmel School

Private | PK-8 | 261 students

 
 

Living in Waterbury

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $101,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,070.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 10, 2013

I attended school here in the 70s. I hope nothing has changed and that this school, the academics, student body and teachings stay exactly as they were and that the politically correct dont ruin this too


Posted June 20, 2013

my daughter has attended OLMC since 1rst grade and it has been up and down but mostly up. Scholastically, I was impressed in 1rst grade, 2nd not so much, and 3rd very pleased! The case load is heavy and vigorous but I am one of those parents that like the challenge. Socially, my daughter had to adapt, all children must but what she was faced with I didn't expect until at least 4th maybe 5th grade with the cattiness of some of the girls there. I do like that they start language early on although the only language taught is Italian being that its an Italian based school. The activities are a great way to get families more involved which I appreciate as well. The school is also diverse which I also appreciate. Look forward to another 4yrs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2012

MY EXPERIENCE WITH THIS SCHOOL IS WONDERFUL WE ARE IN THE PROCESS PUTTING OUR SECOND CHILD THROUGH , I WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2012

I am going to miss this school and all of my friends and teachers. I am graduating this year and will have to leave. I have made many great friends here and had great teachers. I have been here since Kindergarten. I am sorry I have to leave this school.


Posted October 31, 2012

OLMC is a fantastic school. My husband attended there and had such a great experience, we now have 5 children there. The principal is fantastic as is the rest of the staff. My children are all soring and doing so well. They have so much to offer the students and they are always getting the best. Kids begin foreign language in 3rd grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

i hate mount carmel its my last year here and all the teachers except for one seem to hate us. my class is constantly getting detentions and yelled at for things we never did. we dont alot either, most of my teachers barely teach us. overall i woud never tell anybody to send their child here. the school just plain out is a embarrassment
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 9, 2010

We have been a part of this great school for nine years. It consists of excellent teachers, academics and extracurricular activities for the children. It is a wonderful, religious learning environment for all of the children. I wouldn't choose any other school for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

Absolutely Love this School! Catholic Education at its finest. Holy Cross High School gives out 3 full tuition scholarships per year and the principal sent a notice home yesterday that for the 7th year in a row one of our 8th graders got one but this year was the first year that 2 of our 8th graders got one of the three. The academic performance of my children is excellent. I love how they split the Math classes starting in 6th grade so the kids get more one on one attention. The School is part of a wealthy Italian oriented Catholic Parish so class size is capped at 27 unlike some other Catholic Schools that jam the kids into 30++ classes because they need the tuition money. The Children attend Mass every Tuesday and the Priest and Nun visit the classes regularly. The School building is well kept and immaculate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2009

the staff is great and this school is very great for anybody that wants a decent education
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2009

I would highly Recremond this school for any one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2008

My daughter is entering 5th grade at OLMC in the fall. She LOVED her 3rd and 4th grade teachers there and the principal and staff are WONDERFUL! She was challenged academically and still made honor roll on her report card. I'm so happy I took the time to tour several schools, but not one of the others even compared to OLMC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2005

My son has attended Mt. Carmel since kindergarten,The school is wonderful and the education is top of the line.This school has alot to offer in every area.I highly reccomend this school to any parent seeking a high quality private education for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2005

My son attends OLMC and loves it. The classes are smaller leaving more time for the child. They have plays and alot of activites for children. The staff are wonderful, caring people. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 61%
Black 8% 13%
Hispanic 3% 20%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

645 Congress Avenue
Waterbury, CT 06708
Phone: (203) 755-6809

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

B. W. Tinker School
Waterbury, CT


Barnard School
Waterbury, CT



St. Joseph School
Waterbury, CT


Hopeville School
Waterbury, CT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT