Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sacred Heart High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Waterbury

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $85,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,060.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 13, 2009

I graduated in 08', and it's not amazing, but not a bad school either.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2009

As a sophomore at SHHS, I could not love this school more than I do. The teachers are extremely kind, helpful, and in several courses, challenging. I have learned a lot from the diverse faculty and I am confident my SHHS education composed of honors classes will carry me through college successfully. The sports range from exceedingly talented to horrible -- but it is known that every student that is part of a sports team has a great time regardless of the team's record. Our boys' basketball and swim teams won state championships this year which was pretty awesome if I do say so myself. I am part of the girls' soccer and basketball teams & I am very happy with the quality of coaching and I thoroughly enjoy the players on both teams. The academics, athletics, extracurriculars & family environment make SHHS an amazing school that I would highly recommend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2007

My son is a freshman at SHHS. He came from Wallace, which is a pretty ruff public school and has found the enviroment at SHHS to be exactly what he needed. He had done well in Wallace, attaining a couple of high school credits during 8th grade and is now a freshman in Sophmore Honors Geomotry. I have read some of the othercomments and hear that the acadmics are mediocre but I do not see it that way. My son had straight A's during his public school career and is finding several of his classes quite challenging. I guess it depends on your teacher. I would recommend Sacred Heart to anyone looking for a school that fosters a family type atmosphere that prepares their child for colloge. And no, noone in my family has ever attended Sacred Heart other than my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

Many of these reviews have some aspects of this school in which are correct. For example, I am a sacred heart student and I will be graduating this year, and when I just read the reviews I was shocked to see what people think about Sacred Heart. I have had two teachers that were horrible as teachers, but fun nevertheless. The sports programs are somewhat terrible and even some of my honors classes have been pathetically easy. But where Sacred Heart counts is the simple connectivity of all of its members. It is like any other school, you get from it what you put into it. I have put a lot of my energy into sacred heart and i have been rewarded greatly. Sure, other schools are better, but i doubt any will make me feel like a family. Dan
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2006

Finally a chance to be heard! If you really want your child to learn and be successful in college then this in not the school for you. From the president to the guidence counselor I rank this school fair. My daughter loved her friends and some teachers at SHHS, but she realized in her second year that she was learning little. Her good grades were as a result of easy work and easy teachers. If it wasn't for her honesty, she would have remained at the school and learned little. She would have truly been at a disadvantage once she made it to college. There are a fee good teachers, but most have no class control and little to offer. My daughter would tell you that she had alot of fun at SHHS, if thats what you want for your child, then this is the school for you. good luck
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2006

A few words to discribe SHHS--legacy, medicore education, and sports. I am a product of this education, and can say, I had a tough time matriculating to a college/university level. My science and math skills were lacking compared to others, and so were my practical skills. The school sets example to students by letting them 'slip by' solely on a last name or a sports scholarship. The teachers and parents are involved in a cliquish mentality as well. SHHS is an expensive public school--there are lots of fights and unruliness.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 23, 2005

I like it at Sacred Heart. I get along well with the teachers and most of my fellow students. I'm not a sports star at all, and my family isn't exactly well-known at the school. The teachers are a mixture of some mediocre and others who are brilliant and have really taught me alot already. I also would like to add that they offer more challenging courses than previously mentioned. There is AP US history, AP English, UConn Physics, UConn Calculus, and if it is truly desired, arrangements can be made for students to take an independent study course in kanguage or other subjects. Sacred Heart is a good choice if you like a small school where the atmosphere is equivalent to that a a large family.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 10, 2005

I Love Sacred heart...My family has had no other association with the school when i started but i was still welcomed and liked. Yes i do have to say that all the teachers know the basketball stars and sports stars, but also many of the teachers are involved with the sports and are willing to help everyone! I have taken honors corses and i myself are challenged. I am happy i choose sacred heart! GO HEARTS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2005

I attended Sacred Heart from 1997-2001. I was an active member of the school, including honors society, football team, baseball team, etc. The fact of the matter is, Sacred Heart is little more than a public school that requires a tuition. While the quality of education was mediocre when I was there, I have family who still attend the school, and it seems as if things are falling apart quickly. There are a very limited number of AP courses offered. Now graduating after 4years of college, I realize how much of an advantage I would have had if I was able to enter my university with 3 or more college credits like many other students. I regret going to SHHS and would have much rather attended Crosby High. SH is political when it comes to parent involvement. Besides basketball, their sports programs leave much to be desired.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 22, 2004

I am the parent of a SHHS student whose father, uncles and numerous family members are SHHS alumni. I agree with the previous comments regarding the SHHS enviroment - it's a warm, welcoming and nuturing atmosphere with involved parents. We are not your 'typical' SHHS family (Catholic) but we still feel welcome. My child participates in athletics - not because his cousins are 'basketball allstars with the right last name', or because his father was a SHHS basketball 'allstar', but because he realizes that participation in sports helps to make you a more well rounded individual! Overall, I think that SHHS is a good school, the only area lacking may be in academic support services. We also need to expand our facility so that we do not have to travel to other schools to use their track or swimming pool. Overall,I think that we made the clear choice - SHHS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2004

I am currently a senior at SHHS and I would not recommend it at all. The school is terrible. The administration is a joke, the teachers are ridiculous, and all the school does is ask for more money. The 'honors' programs are a joke- the school only offers 2 AP courses. The school really is based on your last name or if you play football or basketball. The first review on this page is absolutely correct. By the time you pay the tuition and all the other things the school asks for, you'd be better off to go to any other public school. Do yourself a favor, save yourself the money, and stay far away from Sacred Heart.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 11, 2004

I am acutally a student at SHHS in little Waterbury, CT, and I can tell you, I just love it! It's nice, small, has a good sports program, and acheviements in education. It was a clear choice for me!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2004

My child attended SHHS, and my recomendation to parents is to think carefully while considering this school. Both the good and the bad that you will read about this school is entirely true. It is a family atmosphere in that it is small and inviting but also that those who are not previously associated with SHHS might not feel as comfortable. It is also easier for these children to fall in between the cracks. My daughter enjoyed her time at the school, but recognizes that she also could have recieved a better education elsewhere. She also notes that those who are introverted have no place there. It is a nice environment to transition from catholic grammar school but not so much from a larger school. Choose wisely and good luck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2004

Sacred Heart is a great high school. The caring attitude, small class size, and high standards have helped to have my child reach his highest potential. I would highly reccommend this school to anyonewho wants a good headstart in their life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2004

I am writing to inform readers that whoever wrote the last comment about SHHS was obviously wrong. Sacred Heart is not a biased school at all. All types of students get into the school. What matters, unlike other public schools, is the fact that the student must be qualified enough to get into the school. SHHS is not any ordinary school that is easy to get into. Classes are the same as they would be at any other school, and you do not get into the school because you may be good at basketball. Many different types of students get into the school, and very few people have a last name starting with J. Many students are exceptionally smart in this school, and the honors programs are outstanding. Therefore, all that was previously said about SHHS is entirely false and I advise you ignore the comments stated previously.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 5, 2004

I would never reccomend this school. The teachers are mostly SHHS graduates who are not Connecticut State Certified. The quality of education and programming is greatly lacking. The school is based on what your last name is and what you can offer the school (versus what the school can offer your student). This means if your child is excellent at basketball or happens to have a last name like J----- then by all means this is the school for your child. Otherwise look elsewhere. The academics, extra-curricular, special needs, and specialty coursework is strongly inferior to the neighboring public schools. If you plan to invest in a private school in this area, check out Taft, or Westover. These are much more expensive but the quality greatly surpasses the small underqualified, rundown and sadly biased SHHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 61%
Black 14% 13%
Hispanic 14% 20%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Hartford
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

142 South Elm Street
Waterbury, CT 06706
Phone: (203) 753-1605

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Enlightenment School
Waterbury, CT



State Street School
Waterbury, CT




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT