Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Chase Collegiate School

Private | PK-12 | 440 students

Chase Collegiate School is a co-ed day school.
 
 

 

Living in Waterbury

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $101,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,070.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 11, 2013

I LOVE THIS SCHOOL!!!!!! I came to visit this school four years ago and as soon as I met the kids and the faculty, I immediately knew that I wanted to come to Chase. The teachers are absolutely amazing! Whenever I have a problem, ( inside or outside of school) Every single one of the teachers will take time out of their day to talk to me and help me through the day. If you did really bad on a test, the teacher for that class will take at least an hour to go over the whole section with you. The students are all very nice and there is never any huge arguments. Everybody is friends with everybody. This school is the best. The school's saying is "Confidence, Courage and Compassion" and I think that they have all three. I hope to graduate from this school. Chase isn't my school though, it's my family.


Posted November 17, 2013

I LOVE CHASE!!!!!!! This is my second year at chase middle school and honestly couldn't be happier! The staff is beyond caring and dedicated and it really shows! The sports and academics are top notch and you will love each and every second. I've made so many new friends and have so many best friends! The culture and background of the school is amazing!!!! It's not just a school were like one big family thats very close knit! Plz come and see for yourself!


Posted July 22, 2013

I graduated from Chase Collegiate School in 2012 and couldn't be happier with my experience here. I began attending Chase in middle school and was not prepared for the level of involvement and dedication that was expected of me from everyone, teachers, classmates, and coaches. I continued on to the upper school and slowly but surely, came into my own and began to excel and even surpassed what I thought I was initially capable of. This is the wonderful thing about Chase though, I found what I loved and watched so many of my classmates do that same! I now attend a top university and feel completely prepared for (nearly) everything that is thrown at me. I attribute my success to the guidance and challenge that Chase provided me.


Posted January 28, 2012

I am a student at Chase, and at first, it took a bit of getting used to,(but what time is easy to be a new kid?) Luckily, there are always a lot of new kids coming in each year, so making friends is easier. Me and all the other new girls are all one clan of close firends :D It's a very nice campus, with teachers that you can meet with whenever if you don't understand something. Plus they are all super nice and quirky. There are a variety of humanities. . .I took a class on knitting and learned to knit!!! We also had some foreign exchange students, and they're my best friends in the world. In short, Chase is a pretty awesome school that challenges students like me everyday. Seriously! Consider this place!


Posted January 24, 2012

I have mixed views about Chase. I attend the school for 9 YEARS. The lower school is one of the best elementary schools I have seen. The academics are amazing and the teachers give the students a very warm and joyful feel. I moved onto the middle school which was a mixed experience. 6th grade was phenomenal and was what 6th grade should be. 7th and 8th grade were two of the worst years of my life. Most of the teachers did NOT have advanced degrees and simply were not good at presenting the material. They expected the students to work like high schoolers. Middle school is about preparing for high school, not mimicking it on a lower scale. I could not bare another year at the school and did not attend the high school. The higest authority figures of the school are not the right fit for a potentially great school. The high school as drug problems that are not addressed and the athlectics are, to put it nice, not good. I would strongly recommend lower school and the first years of middle school. This was a very recent experience.


Posted October 4, 2011

What a great school! You can feel the energy of the staff and students as you walk around this beautiful campus. A highly academic and challenging school in all areas for a well rounded student. This is a welcoming community environment that any student will fit in and be comfortable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2011

A community that encourages personal growth and character, academic challenge, access and importance of the arts, and building strong relationships. Students are genuinely happy to be at school to learn and be challenged. Teachers foster a sense of commeradery and encouragement., which students want torespect and live up to in their daily activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

Worth every penny! Beyond amazing! The teachers deserve ultimate credit for their job well done. Lots of homework, something to get used to in middle and upper school. Fantastic college placement. Do not walk, run to this school. You will not regret it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2011

I love this school. I have been here for my entire life and I would recommend it to anyone. The teachers are beyond amazing. They are helpful and totally willing to spend any amount of time with a student if they are having trouble, even if it's not a class material trouble. They are friends. This school is a community.


Posted January 7, 2011

We've been at the school for six years and have had a wonderful experience. If you are looking for a safe and comfortable environment where the faculty truly know your child, then Chase is the place. Great campus, talented faculty, and welcoming community. Best thing we ever did for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2010

Chase Collegiate School is without a doubt the best private K-12 school in CT. The lower school offers an extremely personal, caring and educationally sound base for the difficult middle and upper school curriculum. Honor Students as well as learning disabled students can thrive here because of the strong faculty and the support services. Behavioral problems are generally not tolerated, and students let go for honor code issues involving serious drug/alcohol related issues and cheating or harassment in the upper school, as well as bullying or aggression in the lower school. In response to the previous comments about asking a student to leave for learning issues, I have not seen this happen ever, but behavioral matters are dealt with swiftly. If you want your child, preteen or adolescent learner to experience an unmatched learning environment with strong, caring faculty as well as superior arts faculty, Chase will deliver. Learning at Chase comes with a hefty tuition price tag, but many families qualify for financial aid, which is substantial in many cases.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

Chase collegiate is excellent i enjoy it much and I would recommend it to many people including small children.


Posted October 29, 2010

We were very hopeful that this school is going to be the right place for our son, unfortunately it did not turn out to be true. As a result we now have to switch schools in the middle of academic year and go through a horrible experience. Our son has a very minor dvelopmental disorder and we were assured by the school that he is going to be fine there and they will support him. However after spending almost 2 months there, without any prior warning we were told at the meeting that he is not going to do well there. There was no effort from the teacher's part to try to involve the child and get him accomodated in school. Horrible, horrible experience. Would not recoment the school to anybody.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2010

THis is the second year for my daughter and I have nothing but great things to say about this school. Faculty is top notch, caring and willing to take the extra time to make sure the child knows the work 100%. It's a fun place where the 9th graders started out the year at Shelter Island doing team building and leadership training. They had a blast, made new friends, .... Love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I came to Chase Collegiate as an incoming freshman and am now a senior. I couldn't have had asked for a better high school experience in every aspect. The academics are extremely rigorous, with a variety of AP's to choose from as one gets older. Also, the faculty is so supportive and encouraging, while still being stern. I have formed such good bonds with my teachers, which did not happen in my middle school years. Beyond the books, Chase has given me so much. Through its superb theater program and no-cut policy with athletics, I have happily been at school until 7:30 for a majority of my nights! I have made the best friendships and gained such self confidence; all that couldn't have been achieved without Chase Collegiate and its tight-knit community.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2010

I came to the high school as a new sophomore and have honors courses, AP courses and tons of homework. I hope to go to an Ivy League college and am doing Model UN, lacrosse, soccer, and jazz band. It's a great school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2010

Wow, this is a hidden gem! Chase Collegiate has top academics, college placement, resources, parent involvement, and resources for students. The faculty is caring and helpful, top notch. Selection of AP courses was amazing. College counseling was extremely personal and Dr. Carew-Miller a fantastic college advisor. Our daughter absolutely wouldn't go anywhere else, and she could have her pick of any school, including elite boarding schools. Five stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2008

Our student was new to the high school this year. The new building is amazing! The school year started with a camping trip for all the tenth graders before classes started the second week. Where else is the class size manageable enough to do this? With a no cut policy for sports, honors and AP classes available in most subjects, wonderful and caring teachers and a full range of college support services, there is no wonder that this school has such a great reputation. We feel so fortunate to have discovered Chase! Five stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2008

This is a great school. They have great teachers. But after they built the new high school, some things lack improvement. The Middle school is quite old, and is falling apart. In the french room, the ceiling and wall are falling apart. The lunch is becoming more like public school lunches. They often have hot-dogs, chicken patties, hamburgers, and friend chicken. I remember we use to have in 4th grade grilled cheese, tomato soup, chicken teriyaki. We now have nothing like that with our new lunch director. Still, i believe that the Middle School at Chase is falling apart. The teachers are really nice, and show attention to you, but they seem to lack a relationship that they care for you. The sports teams are great. The new high-school looks amazing. The lunch are now mediocre. Elementary School was fun, and that was a great system.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2005

This is a wonderful school, with friendly faculty and a wonderfully suporting staff. FIVE STARS
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 62%
Asian 5% N/A
Black 4% 15%
Hispanic 2% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2012)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Woodshop
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Dutch
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Latin
  • Russian
  • Tagalog
  • Vietnamese
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Gardening
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • SADD

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
  • Forensics club
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • John Fixx
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (203) 236-9503

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Montessori
  • Project-based
  • Reggio Emilia
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Engineering
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Dutch
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Latin
  • Russian
  • Tagalog
  • Vietnamese
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Mentoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Forensics club
  • Game club
  • Gardening
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Literary magazine
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Math club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Model UN
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • SADD
  • Science club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student council/government
  • Technology club
  • Woodshop
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
158
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
220

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$6000 - $30000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

565 Chase Pkwy
Waterbury, CT 06708
Website: Click here
Phone: (203) 236-9560

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Barnard School
Waterbury, CT



St. Joseph School
Waterbury, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT