Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Waterbury Arts Magnet School (High)

Public | 9-12 | 481 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 11, 2013

I do not recommended this school because they do not help the children that neeeds help they just want have a easy job and good money!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2012

This school is awful, my 5 children went for 4 years and there were constant problems. My kids are good kids, All went to top colleges in the country and had to deal with a hard middle school and high school. Honestly I would not recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2011

The recent changes to administration around the school are killing the love for music and anything that isnt Visual Art. Favoritism has spread throughout the faculty, though the working enviornment is still exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2010

Waterbury Arts Manet School(WAMS) is the best scholl in town. My daughter goes to that school and her grades are good and the teachers treat her with respect. This school will help your child succed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

This school provided me with an incredible base education that has provided me with enough knowledge and experience in my field to keep me at the top of all my college classes. Not only did it help me to find what career path I wanted to follow, but it put me years ahead of my peers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 15, 2009

#1 top school in the country! Great programs, Im a happy parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

This is an amazing school, as a 2008 graduate from WAMS I can say it did alot to prepare me for the college world. Just be warned that the way traumatic situations are handled by administration is not proffessional and needs improvement.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2008

My children are in this school and I'm very proud of them as well I'm happy with the administration system in this school when I call for any reason manners are always present. The staff members give you the attention, concern, or help that parents need about our children. I'm very satisfied having my children in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

Excellent programs, teachers, and people. You can not pick a better school. Interest in the arts is crucial, though, to get the most of this fun school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2012.

111 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
23%

2009

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2012.

112 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
35%

2009

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2012.

114 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
31%

2009

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 63% in 2012.

112 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
63%

2009

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CAPT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students35%
Female32%
Male40%
Black15%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities37%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English36%

Reading

All Students41%
Female41%
Male41%
Black23%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English42%

Science

All Students27%
Female23%
Male33%
Black11%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic14%
Multiracialn/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English28%

Writing

All Students61%
Female64%
Male56%
Black57%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English62%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CAPT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 62%
Black 28% 13%
Hispanic 20% 19%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16 South Elm St
Waterbury, CT 06702
Website: Click here
Phone: (203) 574-8000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Enlightenment School
Waterbury, CT


State Street School
Waterbury, CT




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT