Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


B. W. Tinker School 4

Posted June 26, 2015
- a parent
It's the best Elementary school in WAterbury! My daughter had great experiences at Tinker!!! The teacher are super great!!!

B. W. Tinker School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 26, 2015
- a parent
It's a really good school! It's the best elementary in Waterbury Area!! Wouldn't think about changing to Magnet!


B. W. Tinker School 3

Posted October 11, 2013
- a parent
Ok school.They really need to have an after school program that can help the kids with their homework!

B. W. Tinker School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Tinker is a great school.Teacher's are very caring and open to communication with parent's.Two of my children attended this school and now I have the privldge of my younger daughter going.

B. W. Tinker School 2

Posted May 26, 2011
- a parent
My boys and I moved to Waterbury from another state. I have come to realize that the Waterbury School District is the WORST I have ever encountered. Most teachers are not very caring and give no personal attention to kids that need it until it's too late and so they end up pushing the child through the system becuase of age but all the while the child has not learned anything. B.W.Tinker was the better choice according to this website, but I would just like to say WRONG..! for the past 3years my kids have attended summer school yet they have no failing grades..? and the school has now fallen below average for the 3rd consecutive year in a row, I think Tinker teachers need to attend refresher classes. with the expection of Mrs.Padula,Mrs. Sangendorf, and Mrs. Elias whom seem to be right on track!


B. W. Tinker School
no rating

Posted March 18, 2008
- a parent
My son is in Kindergarten, and he has learned so much already. His teacher is wonderful, the paraprofessional is great. My son has no complaints, he loves going to school. the apperance however is not good. The bathrooms are not updated, the building is falling apart, and there has been several problems with water, and sewage smell. The school is working on these though. I would recommend this school.

B. W. Tinker School 4

Posted January 29, 2008
- a parent
I have a daughter who went to this school, and I am happy to say that the school did a pretty good job in educating our kids.

B. W. Tinker School 4

Posted November 27, 2005
- a parent
My daughter transferred into tinker from barnard this year in kindergarten. She has been doing excellent and is really happy with the school and so are we. Parking is a big issue though, when you are dropping and picking up your child. If your considering sending your child there rest assure it's a great school. Lori capozzi


B. W. Tinker School 4

Posted October 14, 2005
- a parent
So far, in the 3 years my daughter has gone to Tinker, she's had good teachers and pretty good experiences. It would help a lot if they offered a language program - I understand they did at one point - but all in all, it seems to be pretty good. There are no extracurricular activities that I know of except Band/Orchestra, but that is offered during school hours. Nothing is done after school.

B. W. Tinker School 5

Posted October 06, 2003
- a parent
My two daughters went to Tinker and it is a fabulous school. From individual teachers that are wonderful to principal involvment to the concentrated effort of student test scores, Tinker is number 1. I do have a few suggestions. I wish they would add a before and after school program at the school that would greatly benefit the children and their parents and it would resolve the problem of child care when parents must work and it would provide an enviroment of safety and security for both the parents and students alike. Also, because it would be in the school building, where the children are used to a learning enviroment, it would encourage homework completion and group activities with fun learning themes.

Nearby schools

B. W. Tinker School
809 Highland Ave, Waterbury, CT  06708
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (203) 574-8186
Last modified B. W. Tinker School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top