Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bunker Hill School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 13, 2013

The education your children will receive here is outstanding, my son attends here and is excelling! He is reading at a 6th grade level in the 4th grade. Waterbury public schools do have the best teachers and I have been really happy with my decision to send my son here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2012

I am giving the school five stars because two of my children attend there and the staff seems well trained and very educated. Just becase it is an innercity school does not mean it is "terrible" I have found the teachers really get to know your child and are intune toi what areas your child needs help with. The only issue I do have a problem with is there is no playground, i understand there is not much room but I am hopeful there will be a renovation done soo.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2012

i also would not recommend this school to anyone! i have had my kid in this school for 5 years and its been a fight to get things done! a teacher tells me one thing and then i find out its something eals! there is to many kids to a class room! every year ther has been over 20 kids to one teacher! thats just to many and then at the end of year it seems like hafe the kids are haveing to be held back for summer school! and then they have to do summer school or they cant go on to the nixt gread! i also have two other kids in this school and do to all the problems i am moveing so my kids can get a better schooling!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2011

I give this school a negative 5. my son attended kindergarten there and 6 kids in his class alone were left behind. I even had to contact the board of ed about his teacher whom the school praised as their best! I would not recommend this school to anyone, thank god I can transfer him out this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

When I was in third grade we moved to Waterbury from the Midwest. What a horrible experience. The school was run down even then, I can't imagine what it is like now. The teachers were mean-spirited and within my first month there a kid was stabbed with a broken off coat hanger on the playground during recess. Thankfully I only had to go through 4th grade at this school. I understand that most of the folks who live in the area may not have any other choices for education, but if you can....LEAVE QUICKLY!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Very interesting. I totally agree about the school yard - its horrible. I sent my application to join the PTA at the beginning of the 2008/2009 school year but it was returned with a note saying that there was no PTA now. I would definitely help out if there was one. I am mystified as to what the meetings are that are mentioned in the reviews.... Oh and I also would like to commend the teachers, my son is making good progress in Kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2009

I am so happy with this school. I came up from a different school last year when my son was in first grade and was very unhappy with the way the teachers and the principal was with the children and the parents. I moved to Waterbury in July 2008 and the difference in my son is unbelievable. He's working harder and is doing so much better in school. I give a lot of credit to his teacher Mr. Rochon as well as each teacher that works with my son. He was names student of the month for February and that is a high honor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2008

Sadly, I, too, agree with the two reviews posted. My son is now in second grade and has been attending since K. This year PTA board has changed and unfortunately it seems that meeting are worst. I haven't gotten any notices except for October's meeting. I am a parent that does attend and the lack of parents participating in what should be a partnership is scary. Open school night is really just a meet and greet. No time to speak with your child's teacher to discuss progress. And only those needing some attention or help are then called for a meeting. Personally, I don't think it's right as I am lucky to not have had one of those meetings scheduled but would like to know my son's progress and how to further him in his education. I just wish more individuals would get involved to better the school's sense of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2006

Adding to the previous comment I have to say I am in total agreement. The school yard is horrible and there is nothing for the children to do when they are outside. PTA meetings consist of maybe 3 or 4 people and there are no kind of programs there. One thing i do have to say is the teachers seem great and most are in agreement with the school yard issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2006

My son has attended Bunker hill for the last 2 years. He had come from a school that had a 'gifted program' to this school that has nothing! My son has become bored and disinterested in school altogether since coming here. Bunker Hill has no playground for the children before school or during the lunch period. I have been told that the lunch aides are not the nicest of people often telling the children to sit up straight at the lunch table, stop talking and to hurry up with their lunch(after only eating for five minutes). I have also attended P.T.A. meeting and find that the parent involvement is non-existant!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
48%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 88% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female62%
Male73%
Black72%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic54%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%

Reading

All Students51%
Female47%
Male55%
Black50%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic39%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities54%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English58%

Writing

All Students56%
Female61%
Male51%
Black56%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic46%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities66%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female75%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%

Reading

All Students63%
Female63%
Male63%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities65%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English69%

Writing

All Students62%
Female73%
Male54%
Black65%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female72%
Male61%
Black65%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic64%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%

Reading

All Students49%
Female50%
Male49%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic45%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities52%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English53%

Science

All Students41%
Female34%
Male46%
Black42%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities9%
Students without disabilities56%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English45%

Writing

All Students75%
Female86%
Male67%
Black75%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities44%
Students without disabilities88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 46% 20%
Black 30% 13%
White 20% 61%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

170 Bunker Hill Ave
Waterbury, CT 06708
Phone: (203) 574-8183

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Carrington School
Waterbury, CT


Driggs School
Waterbury, CT


State Street School
Waterbury, CT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT