Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Waterbury, CT
Students enrolled: 1,377
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Crosby High School 1

Posted June 01, 2015
- a student
The school is a terrible place. The students run wild and the teachers do nothing about it. The office cant get any of their own stuff together. If you have the opportunity to not go here take it cause you'll only leave more stressed and know nothing because half the teachers don't teach or they just don't care.

Crosby High School 1

Posted May 05, 2015
- a student
The school Crosby is a joke. For many who don't know the view of a student heres one: Imagine going to school where for the most part are flooded with kids who threaten one another. They harass each other and act as if they are older than the staff. The staff do nothing to help eliminate bullies and nothing of the sort to teach as well. How they obtained their degrees is out of my understanding. Try hearing your kid constantly getting harassed and bullied everyday and the staff do jack squat about it. Makes you want rebel against the school doesn't it? This school not only ruins lives but as well prepares the students for no life at all. If there is a way where a REAL authority can come in with no notice and see it for themselves, im sure in 1 hour they will running to board education demanding the school fixed or broken down. Some kids have tough lives and from my understanding many agree that half of their stress comes from this school. Students need to realize that these 4 years CRITICALLY depict your future from being behind a cash register or behind an office with the title "CEO"


Crosby High School 2

Posted February 07, 2015
- a student
Crosby High School is at the top 10 of worst schools in Connecticut. The reason? It's simple! The school struggles with technology and care. I am actually a good student but the dress code in here is too much for most students. Collared shirts and solid color pants are impossible to even obtain because not everybody is rich. There is no gang or crime activity whatsoever in here. However, we got really old teachers who can't even write some notes on the board. If a teacher thinks they reminded us to study for a test tomorrow and all the students like me denies getting the reminder, they don't care. Half of the teachers come here to get their paychecks and do the basic things. Pretty soon only this school will get longer hours, more advisory days, and possibly another period. I don't know about you but some of us are actually working to get our collage funds set up for our future and I go to work at 2:30. Crosby is going to turn us around to becoming failures. Just remember that the teachers in here are poor and disrespectful to us. I get As and Bs in here. Why do ALL of us deserve to suffer?
1 person found this helpful

Crosby High School 1

Posted June 18, 2011
- a student
Send your kid to this school if you would like your child to: be harassed by teachers and faculty for breathing, not learn anything relevant to life with the exception of what an ineffective school looks like, not go to college, or not succeed in an facet of life. Crosby High School is an embarrassment not only to students but also the taxpayers in Waterbury. Crosby still teaches students as if they are going to work in a factory someday, the lack of higher education prep is unbelievable. Teachers just give up on students and you will see students just walk out of class because of weak teachers. I would go further on to describe the faults of Crosby but I have better things to do than get depressed about how I wasted four important years of my life.
1 person found this helpful

Crosby High School 5

Posted October 10, 2008
- a parent
this scooh is a great school to send you children to.


Crosby High School 4

Posted October 03, 2008
- a parent
The school does care about your children and the principal is very involved. The sports are great the the coaches are wonderful.

Crosby High School 1

Posted September 26, 2008
- a student
Crosby is not a good school I'm only a freshman there but from what i know and what I'm 'learning' is that Crosby got more strict. It's true what that student wrote the principal doesn't care about anything other than dress code. the teachers do not kno how to communicate with students. when it comes to open house the teachers are hipocrats and talk about how much they love their students and they only want wwhats best for them. teachers dont care about their students and parents dont understand that. they complain about students missing school but they are suspending them for any little thing that crosses their way wether its dresscode or talkinng in class.

Crosby High School 3

Posted July 10, 2008
- a student
Crosby High School is an 'okay' school. I wouldnt recommend it to any outsider coming into Waterbury though. Yes, the school did have cracks in the walls and missing ceiling tiles but Crosby is now being renovated and should be completed by the next school year which is August of 2008. As for the teachers, there are some who care about the students and others who unfortunatly, dont. The school really needs a new principal though, because all she does is yell and complain and try to intimidate the students over the loudspeaker. Ive even noticed this as she talks to other staff around the school. The only time she seems to want to care about the students and the school is whenever the superintendant comes around, which is sad. She needs to leave. Once shes been replaced, Crosby will have a better future.


Crosby High School 4

Posted February 04, 2008
- a student
It is great and thay keep all the students safe.

Crosby High School 1

Posted November 18, 2007
- a student
I am a student in this school, the only times the principle cleans up the school and makes sure the heat or air conditioners are working is when the superintendant comes for a visit. The teachers in Crosby are more worried about what the students are wearing to get them kicked out of class rather than what they are learning. This school should have cameras inside to show parents whats really going on.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Crosby High School
300 Pierpont Rd, Waterbury, CT  06705
(203) 574-8061
Last modified Crosby High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Crosby High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. Top