Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Margaret M. Generali Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 533 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 15, 2013

Excellent, This school always resolve issues or concerns I have with my child. Sincerely, E.G.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2013

Generali is the best school my son Alquan has goin to. This is his third yr there he started as a first grader. I came from New Haven and by him being autitics he didnt get much progress in New Haven or maybe @ that time he wasnt in a ABA program. So when he started Generali as a 1st grader his ABA program and speech therapist apporved his social skills alot much better sometimes i still cant understand certian words that is only 5-10% of the time. He received a readin award in 1st grade and a Math award in 2nd grade so i must say as an autism parent and he recieved a math and reading award meaning they are doin ther jobs. The teachers and staff are nice and sincere and as far as the building its probably not the vest but its decent enough for my son education cause they are doin a wonderful job.keep up the good work! Generali u are the best
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2012

This school is one of the worst schools I have ever had to endure as a concerned parent. The first grade teachers are mostly rude and unapproachable as well as the principle and staff in the office. Very snood attitudes and disorganized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2012

This school is beyond dirty, don't expect to find soap in the bathrooms. The education is mediocre at best! The principle is unapproachable, if you are able to have a conversation with her she is arrogant . If your child is a walker, expect them to let your child leave with anyone that knows their name.... I am selling my house just to get my kids out of here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2009

This is one of the few schools in the state of CT who have made improvements under the No Child Left Behind Act. They made AYP (Adequate Yearly Progress) are one of only five elementary schools in the state to be removed from the 'Needs Improvement' list. That says a lot about the teachers and parents who worked together to help this happen. I am looking forward to my child attending school there this fall!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2008

The only downfall to Generali is mainly the building and facility. Take the teachers and the students out of that shell and give thrm a new home and i will say they are one of our cities finest now besides our magnet schools. I am proud to have my son be a part of this school. Thanks Mrs. Stamp and all our great staff. Sincerely, Laura Somma
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2005

One of the better schools in Waterbury. Wonderful teachers! Ashame that they do not have better facilities. Fortunately a new building is coming in the near future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2005

This is my sons first and last year. He transferred from driggs 5th grade. At first I wasnt sure. My son had problems on the bus. however, I went to the school talked to someone and it was all taken care of the next day. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2004

This is my son's 2nd year at Generali and I must admit that thus far he is having a wonderful learning experience. His teachers are great and very caring. He has learned a great amount and is always enthusiastic when it comes to reading. I say keep up the good work. I look forward to my daughter attending Generali next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2004

This is my son's first year at the school and I just want to say it is a wonderful start for him. He has accomplished so much from the first day of school. He was student of the month. Keep up the good work and thanks to the teacher, she was a big help sending home extra work for him to practice with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2004

This is my son's first year at this school and I am quite impressed with his teacher's involvment and her committment to me as a parent to insure that he does well in school. I'm was also suprised that he has exit criteria in Kindergarten. Wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2004

This is my daughters first year at this school and I just want to say that when I went to the school for the first time I loved it. And I hope my daughter gets alot out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 88% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female76%
Male72%
Black64%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic74%
White85%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%

Reading

All Students59%
Female66%
Male52%
Black57%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic55%
White65%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities61%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English65%

Writing

All Students89%
Female94%
Male84%
Black86%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic85%
White96%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female87%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%

Reading

All Students81%
Female76%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%

Writing

All Students90%
Female95%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female72%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic69%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%

Reading

All Students64%
Female55%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic57%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English68%

Science

All Students61%
Female53%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities69%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%

Writing

All Students84%
Female84%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 44% 20%
White 32% 61%
Black 21% 13%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3196 East Main St
Waterbury, CT 06705
Phone: (203) 574-8174

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


H. S. Chase School
Waterbury, CT




Woodrow Wilson School
Waterbury, CT


Frisbie School
Wolcott, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT